We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with outstanding attention to detail”
Review of House in the Wild

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House in the Wild
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Narok
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place with outstanding attention to detail”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here recently with friends and family. What a fantastic place with great staff and outstanding attention to detail.

I'd recommend it highly: the chef was great and the service fantastic with our four year old son also looked after very well by everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Set in on the edge of the beautiful Olerai Farm at the north end of the Mara game reserves and conservancies lies the house in the wild, which it surely is- perched ontop of the banks of the famous Mara River on a sharp bend are a number of sleeper cottages and charming communal areas all set around a well kept, grass lawn. The rooms are cleverly situated with the view of the river in mind and one is able to look far in both directions of its flow, not to mention relaxing while watching the local hippos enjoy there daily milling around in the current below your rooms- Worth noting is the cast concrete baths, filled with solar hot water to the brim make the perfect end to the day, especially with a cold glass of champagne in hand. One of the baths looks out of a great open window onto the river, I can assure you the sunsets from this vantage point are particularly enjoyable. With a dedicated team of friendly staff including a great chef all you need to do is relax- Nature walks around the farm and into the neighboring conservancies are available with the knowledgeable local Maasai guide and are a great way to see the local wildlife and get the blood flowing. Fishing for cat fish on the river banks was also great fun and is a great way to spend the morning if youre into that sort of thing- The Mara is without doubt a very special place, and to have this place all to yourself, in the Mara region is pleasure and a privilege. A great place for kids and families or just a quite get away, definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: The one with the bath overlooking the river is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narok, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently I had my parents out from UK. Being old 'Kenya folk' they wanted to relive some of their memories of the Mara, from the days of camping safaris in beautiful locations along the river, when seeing another vehicle was unlucky.

What better place to take them - House in the Wild. We spent two nights with my parents and brother and sister in law. We took the self catering option but had the 'brilliant' Purity in the kitchen praparing all the meals - so with very little guidance she produced the most fantastic food. She even produced us a deliscious, suprise chocolate mousse for our final dinner - fantastic.
The rooms were excellent with amazing views over the river and huge, romantic baths for two with piping hot water. Lovely, big, comfortable beds. All with a simple, rustic feel.

Such a peaceful location, surrounded by beautiful Mara bush and forest, you really feel like you are 'away from it all'. Sundowners round a camp fire looking over the river with amazing views of the hills behind - what more could you ask for. We didn't feel like we needed to rush out every day for game drives, in fact only went on two, but managed to see everything apart from Leopard, right on the door step. Having the luxury of being able to drive around in three different conservancies gives you ample chance to see all the game you need.

This is undoubtedly 'paradise' with the privacy and exclusivity of a real Mara camping experience, and the luxuries of a lodge thrown in. Tarquin and Lippa are the perfect hosts, very much in the background, but quietly organising all your wants and needs.

We all loved a very special two days there and the 'Old Folks' have insisted on a return visit next year.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deddington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

When I visited Tarquin and Lippa hosted us wonderfully. We saw all the animals we could have wished for, and got a tour around Tarquin's new conservancy work. The House on the Wild is great value and is still very personal. If you want to experience the Mara without the masses of tourists, this is the place for you.

Tarquin took us on a wonderful sundowner trip and the views from the bedrooms stright onto the river are jsut wonderful. Real Africa....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A big house with 2 bedrooms and 2 tented cottages, beautifully and tastefully furnished with much love to details. Very friendly and helpful staff. A beautiful setting right on the river. A great host family. We spent 2 beautiful nights there with 8 adults and 3 kids. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4asmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We wanted to stay away from all the safari crowds, enjoy the privacy of only hanging out with our group but still see lots of animals - House in the Wild was a complete dream and did this and far far more. The staff were delightful and helpful, we had complete control over when and where we did what, although given all the best advice. The rooms overlook the Mara river and nothing can describe the beautiful bath in one of the rooms looking down the river.
On our first two drives we saw all the big 5! Not only that but the pride of lion were playing around so close to us that we were the first to get bored and leave! And a herd of elephant from babies through to teens - we saw a fleeting Leopard.... I could go on but we were right up close and were completely spoilt for sightings and again the privacy of only being with the other van (of our friends) most of the time.
We decided to get full board and ate like kings and queens around the campfire or in the cosy living area depending on what we felt like.
If you're a group of friends, a family, a couple of families - and you want to experience the incredible Masai Mara, away from lots of others and for a far more affordable price - this is perfect.
The owners are a couple called Tarquin and Lippa - they welcomed us like it was their home and bent over backwards to make our stay a wonderful one. I couldn't recommend it more highly and busy trying to think of my next excuse to go out!

Paradise.....

Room Tip: Ask for either of the rooms overlooking the river - and if you like baths, the one with the bath! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

11 of us spent 3 very chilled out days at House in the Wild. After a week of partying by the beach followed by Nairobi, we needed it! We had 3 fantastic guides - Big Moses, Little Moses and David, 3 Massai's, who looked after us all really well. We also had a cook, Joseph, who continued feeding us non-stop from the moment we woke up to the moment we went to bed. All the meals were amazing, and there were even a few home comforts like Bacon n Eggs for breakfast. The Safari itself was perfect. We saw everything we wanted to, but the stay at the house was actually the most memorable part of this trip. Lippa and Tarquin, the owners, were incredibly accommodating and great fun to hang out with. They've decorated all of the rooms themselves, and as such the whole place has a real rustic charm about it. I enjoyed every minute of my stay there, and will be shouting about it to anyone that will listen!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narok
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
534 reviews
19.0 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#20 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
432 reviews
10.2 mi away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#26 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
#50 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
403 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#34 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
300 reviews
19.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House in the Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House in the Wild

Property: House in the Wild
Address: Naretoi | Maasai Mara, Narok 20500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Narok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Narok
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For total privacy with the Masai Mara as your backyard, House in the Wild welcomes you to the Mara. Set on the banks of the Mara River, House in the Wild sleeps 12 and comes with a guide. Full board as well as exclusive hire. Private airstrip for charter flights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House In The Wild Kenya/Narok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing