We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!”
Review of Tassia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tassia Lodge
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Narok
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Tassia is an amazing place! The ethos, exemplary service, location, food and styling make this a truly unique experience and one we will certainly never forget. We spent 2 nights at the lodge and were impressed by the hospitality of the entire team. The suites are dispersed amongst the natural environment, beautifully styled with a moroccan twist and allow you to wake to the sounds of the bush at sunrise.
It definitely felt like we were staying as guests rather than clients (only 6 suites in total) and we enjoyed interacting with Antonia, Martin and the team.
The guides were very knowledgeable and happy to discuss their culture. I highly recommend going to see the local community, the morning walks, having a massage and taking home a Tassia cookbook! We would love to go back and recommend Tassia to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SShaw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 38 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited Tassia on the first leg of our stay in Kenya and wish we had saved the best till last!!
We arrived after a very stressful journey, one of our children had been ill the whole way from England to Kenya. We left with him well on the way to recovery and de-stressed as a family. Amazing food, breathtaking setting and superb service. My eldest son didn't want to go on safari for fear of the damage it has on the environment and the intrusion into the animals natural habitat. At Tassia we experienced the complete opposite and really got to see how people can have such a positive impact on their environment. We loved the rooms, the food, the pool, Antonia and Martin, all the staff, the morning bush walks, climbing blood mountain, breakfast in the bush (brought to us by the camels!) Masai Olympics, visiting the nearby village and caves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyholiday5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Loved our stay at this place! Best lodge of our trip, and the only place I will return to if I make it back to Kenya! Real people who care about their impact on the world and their community, real experiences, outstanding food, great activities (loved the Masai Olympics :) ) and a lot of fun! The open air rooms were perfect and relaxing, the views were breathtaking, and the evening dinner under the stars a perfect end to the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RashmiB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Tassia for 3 nights as one leg of a 3 lodge/9 night safari tour. It was, by far, my favorite - and the other camps were wonderful. The setting is nothing short of stunning - the open air lodge/dining area, bar, lounge, and rooms are all perched on a beautiful cliff's edge overlooking a wide valley populated with game. From my shower, I saw elephant, zebra, and even an elusive lesser kudu! The rooms were extraordinarily comfortable and kept us quite pleased.

Martin and Antonia were great hosts and made us feel like family. They were both very knowledgable about the local area. Martin grew up nearby, so his knowledge of the terrain intimate. Michael, another local staff member and guide, helped make our walking safaris very informative and interesting.

The food was exquisite - be sure to pick up a copy of the official Tassia cookbook, the culmination of Antonia's wonderful recipes.

Oh, one more thing - Mole, the German Shorthaired Pointer, was GREAT to have around. We are admittedly a family of dog lovers, so we requested his presence as much as possible because he was such a great dog to have around. If you aren't a dog-friendly traveler, however, don't let that turn you off - we went out of our way to seek him! He was just as happy to be running around the bush by himself as he was hanging out with the visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Tassia is a lovely, solar-powered, eco-lodge in the wilderness owned by the local community. Managers Martin and Antonia did everything to make our visit comfortable. The lodge is nestled in rock cliffs; the rooms are open, and it's nice to enjoy morning tea while watching elephants below. We were there just as the lodge was about to close for renovations and I had the sense that maintenance had been allowed to slide a bit in anticipation of closing. There is a Moorish feel to the reception and dining area that is elegant and comfortable. Meals are delicious; we were offered many unique and unusual dishes, recipes from Antonia's "Tastes of Tassia" cookbook. The pool is lovely to look at but not easy or convenient to use. A visit to the nearby Samburu village was a highlight, as was the morning bush walk with Martin and seeing his sanctuary for injured birds of prey.

Room Tip: Don't know what all the rooms are like, but if there's one that isn't on three levels, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeamomInSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Tassia was one of the absolute highlights of our trip - an incredible place to stay. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Stunning setting and accommodation, with magnificent hosts, amazing food, and above all incredibly relaxed and great fun.

Martin and Antonia really make the place what it is. Genuinely lovely people, who have a real passion and joy for what they do, which really shines through at the lodge. From the moment that Martin met us at the airstrip to the moment we (sadly) left to continue on our trip a few days later, we couldn't have had a better time. Guided walks, private dinners they organised for us (it was our honeymoon), hikes with Martin to the caves etc., sundowners before dinner, coffee in the lookout room over the waterhole.....I could go on. It's the only lodge we went to where it really feels like a 'home'.

The rooms and views are stunning - huge, wonderfully furnished, open views on a breathtaking vista perched on a ridge, and ours had an open air shower! True 'eco-luxury'! They have been designed brilliantly so that they feel very private but still really open. They have to be seen to be believed.

The food is AMAZING. Antonia is a fantastic chef and host (it is genuinely worth visiting just for the food, as I know other reviews have said - it really is true!).

Martin and Antonia's passion for conservation and the local area is also a highlight, and brings something special to the lodge. Everything from Martin's raptor sanctuary (he is one of the few/only people in Kenya to rehabilitate injured birds of prey - definitely get a tour of the place from him!), to just going for pre-breakfast hikes through the area.

Tassia was the first stop on our trip to Kenya, and the lodge was highly recommended to us. We're VERY glad we followed the recommendation! It was the absolutely perfect start to our trip (and ended up easily being our favourite place of the trip - we have already recommended it to anyone we hear of heading out to Kenya!!). Just go - you won't regret it. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: They're all amazing and unique - ours had an amazing outdoor shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimbaDawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my second visit to Tassia and my memories of a magical first stay were only enhanced!
Antonia and Martin made us all so welcome. The staff superb and it is probably unfair to single anyone of them out for a special mention. The lovely Lucy, Beatrice the superb cook and our specialist walking guide whose name I cant spell are great examples of how to welcome guests to their wonderful lodge and world. It has been a huge privilege to see how the partnership between Antonia, Martin and the local people is developing.
The rooms are fairy tale Africa comfortable beds, hot showers and exceptional views. The food is delicious with Antonia leading a fantastic team. Martin has a fascinating knowledge of birds, raptors especially and is happy to share his expertise.
Tassia is a lodge where you have the privilege of seeing behind the scenes
Last but not least all the fantastic game viewing large and small!

Room Tip: The rooms are all amazing but my personal choice would be the one with the upstairs sitting area giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Narok hotels
0 mi away
Aruba Mara Camp
Aruba Mara Camp
#1 of 12 in Narok
87 reviews
0 mi away
Olarro
Olarro
#2 of 22 in Narok
71 reviews
0 mi away
Fisi Camp
Fisi Camp
#1 of 22 in Narok
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Nubian In The Mara
0 mi away
No photo provided
0 mi away
Lexington Hotel
Lexington Hotel
#3 of 4 in Narok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tassia Lodge

Address: Lekurruki Community Conservation Group Ranch, Narok 20500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Narok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Narok
Price Range: $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tassia Hotel Kenya
Tassia Lodge Kenya/Narok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing