We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awful”

Brewers Fayre Burleydam
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Visited here Sunday 26th May for a friend's birthday celebration. I ordered the carvery (vegetarian option) but at the time of ordering was not told that I needed to specify vegetarian. When I went to get my meal and asked for the vegetable pie, the member of staff was very abrupt and told me that I should have specified vegetarian when placing my order. He huffed and puffed, went into the kitchen then came out to say that the "Chef" would have to do it specially and it would be about 4 minutes - unbelievable! Heaven help us if the microwave had packed up! I eventually got my "specially prepared vegetable pie" and helped myself to the rest of the carvery. The roast potatoes were awful, obviously pre-done (like the frozen ones you buy in the supermarket). When it was pointed out to the waitresses on our table that we weren't told in advance that the vegetarian carvery option had to be specially requested, one said that she wasn't sure and the other hadn't been told about this at all! What sort of training do the staff receive? All in all, awful food, ill-mannered/disinterested/incompetent staff and the place was just a free-for-all for children to run riot because their parents just couldn't be bothered to control them. This place is awful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalek1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    50
    39
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap but not cheat full”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere, soulless and not at all inviting.

Staff; helpful but not very interested in us. Did the minimum but looked under pressure.

Food, just ok. Main course very bland. Had sausage egg and chips. Even the chips were ordinary. Battered sausage was almost inedible. Puddings were good especially the treacle pudding.

Cost, very cheap which made it just acceptable. With main courses ranging from £6-9 them you can't expect much.

Ordering, truly awful. Big busy pub with one till to order from. It took 15 mins to place order, people behind would've waited a lot longer

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talisker1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.wales
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely setting for this restaurant. Food was good. Service was excellent and staff were pleasant and friendly. The only downside, which is not really anyone's fault at the restaurant, is the huge play area inside which was full of screaming kids. Whoever thought that diners want to listen to other people's hysterical offspring when trying to eat a meal must be deluded. By all means if they must allow kids in restaurants then surely a total separate place for them would be more ideal (situated a few miles away even better!!!!)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janinnwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos on Sea, North Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“The best Brewers fayre we've been to”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As we were staying at the Premier Inn for one night we ate at the Brewers Fayre in the evening and for breakfast. We have eaten in many Brewers Fayre restaurant over the years and have a varied experience, from disastrous food and service to good. But this outclassed them all. Everything was brilliant. The staff were all incredibly helpful, friendly, courteous, kind and they all had a smile on their faces - could not be faulted at all and they all seemed to be enjoying their work - something right is being done here - other Brewers fayre take note!!!. There was a great atmosphere in the place even though it was busy. And the food was great, large portions, well presented and, despite being told there was a 30 minute delay, it was nothing like that. we did think about having the fish shop buffet but the food on the buffet did look a little tired and stale so we ate from the main menu and were well pleased.

The all you can eat breakfast was very good as well. The sausages and bacon were fantastic, tasty and perfectly cooked. It was good that the buffet only had a few sausages on it and a few rashers of bacon which seemed to indicate that it was being cooked on an ongoing basis. Again the staff in the morning were just as good as the staff in the evening.

All in all a very good experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our worst dining experience in the last five years.
As we was staying at Premier Inn it seemed easy to dine here and we left it until 8pm to avoid too many noisy children. How wrong we were as the whole place was like a Kintergarten with vey young and seemingly unsupervised children running amok throughout the pub making as much noise and mayhem as possible. If you now add to this mix totally disinterested and unfriendly staff and dreadful quality food you can imagine our total horror. The food looked as if it had been left all afternoon it was so dry with chips barely cooked and cold and no attempt by staff to ask if everything was ok. we left most of it and will never ever return or eat at Brewers Fayre ever again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewers Fayre Burleydam also viewed

Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Burleydam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing