We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top dollar - limited offering”
Review of Kinloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinloch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I seem to have had a different experience to others here.

My wife and I stayed at Easter. The room we had booked was a double. We took evening meals and breakfasts in the restaurant.

We arrived before the 3pm check in and was firmly but politely told that the room wasn't yet available. We went for a short walk and returned for a spot of lunch.

During lunch the room was made available early so we went to settle in. Oh dear - what a disappointment. At best it was adequate and it smelled damp. It was next to the gents toilet in the shared amenities and - without further elaboration - there wasn't much sound insulation. We asked for a different room and were moved at an extra $20 a night to a room further away. We were now paying just short of $100/day which is absolute top dollar (in fact for what was delivered this was the most expensive room we have ever taken in NZ in 30 years of traveling).

We booked our evening meal in advance. The portions were small (top dollar once again) and the menu was limited. The beer selection was woeful - an opportunity to showcase NZ's beer craftsmanship lost.

The Breakfast menu had been dumbed down because it was Easter to continental only. NZ's stupid regulations around Easter mean that employing staff cripples anyone in the hospitality industry. So there was no staff as such. Instead the proprietors had to muck in. But I am not really sure why this is such an issue on the menu front when there were only a few people taking breakfast (in fact we were the only ones in the restaurant when we were eating). In addition in my experience Continental breakfasts on 'the continent' include a selection of breads, cheeses and meats (sausage and the like) along with cereal, yoghurt and fruit. Here there is no meat or cheese.

Anyway, after a very boring breakfast (at a massive charge just short of $20 each for what amounted to cereal and coffee - come on guys!!) we went for a walk.

The evening meal had the identical limited menu but had an additional 'Easter charge' to cover the aforesaid staff costs that Easter inflicts. So the price of mains went from top dollar to off the scale. We had to eat so had the soup with bread. Unfortunately the soup was dreadful and from what we saw on the menu there was no real alternative on offer to us without spend an additional $30+ each

The following day all staff were on hand and breakfast was fine.

Altogether we were very disappointed with our stay. The staff and proprietors were very friendly but there was no doubt in our minds that despite NZ's daft Easter regulations we were being royally overcharged for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinloch_Lodge, owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2010

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay at Kinloch.

Kinloch lodge is a 4 star plus Qualmark backpackers and a 3 star plus guest and hosted bed and breakfast and has just been reassessed as such by Qualmark this week.

The guests commented on what we offer at Kinloch lodge. This is what we have:-

We have 10 different NZ beers on offer. Our pricing is cheaper than Queenstown though we do need to take into account freight costs to first Glenorchy and then collection of freight (52 km return).

Our breakfast menu has items from $7.50 for bacon, egg and swiss cheese in a bun, to our continental breakfast at $17.50 that consists of unlimited fruit salad, yoghurt, choice of muesli and other cereals, freshly baked croissants, muffins, home baked bread and a choice of jams, juices and bottomless tea or coffee. Over the Easter holiday period, we chose to serve this ourselves and not surcharge guests the usual 20% holiday surcharge that goes towards the extra cost of staffing a holiday period.

The first night the guests dined they shared a soup, a main and a dessert between the 2 of them. Perhaps that’s why the portions seemed small. Our mains are priced between $23 and $31 and are designed to be a good size for one diner.

At Easter the menu included a choice of 6 appetizers, 6 mains & 6 desserts.

Over winter we have a warming set menu, open fires, a warm welcome, a hot tub overlooking the lake and mountains and one of the most beautiful locations in the world with a bed from $30. If this is enough, we look forward to welcoming you to Kinloch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 294 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2010

Our fifth visit although the first in three years, as always in the backpacker section. Kinloch was heavily refurbished a couple of years back and a lot of money was spent. We felt it is looking a little tired in some of the common areas, and one of the bedrooms we stayed in needed a new insect screen and guttering repair. 'Kiwi' the second room, was wonderful - good bed, great sheets and towels and a wonderful view.

Showers are clean, powerful and hot, and the DVD/Video room has months of entertainment with comfy sofas and beanbags. The other common room has a dining area and games, although the book swap has been robbed which is a shame.

The restaurant is classy but pricey and is out of our budget, but self-catering facilities are ok, with the exception of no glasses at all! We were told somewhat patronisingly that this is because they break or get stolen, but i don't think this is an excuse! The fridges need replacing too. (I gave all this feedback to the owners) Otherwise everything fine.

Outside areas are beautiful and well-maintained and it is right on the lake, although take insect repellent! At night you get lots of stars and just the sound of the waves. The road outside has been coated in oil to keep the dust down which I don't think is a good idea as it smells a bit. The road is sealed from Queenstown until 9km before Kinloch.

We took 6 days of food and drink as there is no shop within half an hours drive, and used the place as a base for day walks on the Routeburn and Dart. Owners Toni and John are very helpful and friendly, and their two now rather elderly, smelly but friendly golden retrievers are always up for a stomach scratching session.

Kinloch is pricey for a hostel due to its location but I felt it was still value for money, and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fr0mtheb0rders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinloch_Lodge, owner at Kinloch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2010

Its always good to get feedback and it is our passion to get things right. 2 replacement insect screens have been on order for the last month. There are glasses in the backpacker. Our restaurant has mains between $23 and $31 with everything you can expect from vegetarian options to Steak, duck and salmon. We have a small shop on site that sells basic food items and we happily order from Queenstown for guests if they need more groceries, though freight is expensive.... Each winter we update and paint and as an old building in always needs it. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I spent one day at Kinloch and wished it were more. The setting is unbelievably beautiful. The couple who appear to own and run the place are so friendly and helpful! Kinloch made a large series of arrangements for me - from transfers to kayaking. We stayed in the backpackers portion of the lodge. The room was quite nice. The kitchen and communal living facilities are really nice, clean, and inviting. There is even a grill for the guests. There is also a very nice hot tub (best for use after you swim in the lake!). It is a unique and beautiful setting, and was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_and_Waldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

A warm welcome, comfortable room and stunning setting. Loads of great walks in the area - and I was doubly lucky as I had several days of stunning weather. Fantastic sunrise photos over the lake if you're up early enough!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodge_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I had to turn back after injuring myself along the Greenstone track, I stayed 2 nights at Kinloch whilst waiting for the rest of my party to finish the track. The staff were fantastic and very friendly, the rooms (backpackers - kakapo) were great with lovely extra touches like a hot water bottle, excellent reading light and book shelf. The only downside was some birds which were nesting in the walls but thats part of life. The hot tub was AMAZING and I was stoked with the DVD room with complementary popcorn and a wide range to choose from. The lodge facilities were very clean and the communal kitchen was well stocked. Restraunt was delish.
Set in great surroundings it was easy to keep myself occupied for 2 days.
DEFINITELY recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moroNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed for just 1 night in a 4 bed dorm room, which luckily we had to ourselves for the night. When calling on the afternoon of our arrival to make a reservation the owner was incredibly helpful, not even asking for credit card details to 'secure my booking' like the majority of hostels would.
As we were arriving late the light was left on in our room and the key in the door so we could let ourselves in, the heater was on inside and we found ourselves in one of the most comfortable dorms rooms we have ever stayed in.
The kitchen facilities were amazing, it was just like being at home - No stainless steel in sight! The lounge and dining area was brilliant... A real wood fire, a proper dining table to eat supper and comfortable sofas to watch some of the gigantic DVD and video collection provided (no deposit required on each DVD like most hostels).
All this in a simply beautiful location, approximately 1 hour from Queenstown! We would have spent a week realaxing there if we had the time! I will be visiting again in the future, Kinloch has everything from dorms to luxury rooms so I recommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyFlemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed in the budget rooms and were very pleassntly surprised, the bed was super comfy and although it was very cold outside the heater provided kept us snug and warm. The communal lounge and kitchen were large and well equipped, and the outdoor spa was an added bonus. There is a separate dvd movies room where you can lounge on a couch and watch your choice of dvd movies. We wish we could hav stayed longer

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaitawaFarmHokianga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
19.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 59 in Queenstown
1,467 reviews
19 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#29 of 59 in Queenstown
639 reviews
19.6 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
28 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
65 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing