We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to Queenstown”
Review of Kinloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinloch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We wanted to be in the Queenstown area, but not stay in the bustling city itself. The lodge, around the lake from Glenorchy is 40 minutes around the lake from Queenstown and not really near anything except for the lake, mountains, and great hikes. It's a perfect place to get away from it all for a few days. We were given good and detailed advice about some local day hikes. We stayed in one of the Heritage Rooms, which was tiny and simple but was one of two with a lake view. Several other guests staying up late chatting on the porch immediately in from of our room which kept us up, so the view did come with that disadvantage. There are two shared bathrooms for only about 6-8 rooms, so there was never a wait. The shared bathrooms are well equipped and quite large. Meals were served at specific times, so be aware. Dinner was a simple affair and was decent, but nothing special. We had labeled our food in the shared fridge, but unfortunately some of our food (including a nice bottle of wine!) were taken which was disappointing but says more about other people than the lodge itself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 290 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

As you wind your way across the top of lake Wakatipu. You will come across the lodge. Built in 1865 it is a comfortable place to stay. Rooms range from private to backpackers. The restaurant serves a good selection. The stunning views of the lake are amazing..there is a hot tub on the IDE of the hill. Go there for an awe inspiring view of wood pigeons.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxtail48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star lodging with big spacious rooms, daily clean linen and fancy hot tubs, this is not the place for you.But, if you have an adventerous streak and want to be in a spectacular location, with great food and neat people this is the place. We knew what we were getting into, small rooms with share bath facilities, but the proximately to great trails,the neat people we met from all over the world,the terrific food and the comittment of the owners Toni and John to make our stay enjoyable made it all well worth it.After 3 nights[rarely in our rooms] at the Kinloch Lodge, we [ 4 65yr old couples] spent 2 nights at the Herimatage at Mt Cook. While the Hermitage certainly was nice, much preferred my time at Kinloch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the slightly more upmarket lodge next to the backpackers and it was really comfortable with a room overlooking the lake. John and the team couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful to our large group. Real coffees were good before we went tramping and he even put an individual glass of pinot in the fridge for me while I went fishing in the evening (weather was very hot). Septic tank was a bit smelly but I think that was being sorted out. Kitchen was well appointed and organised for our self catered meals and we enjoyed the 60th birthday dinner that Kinloch Lodge cooked for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatharineFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I decided I wanted my memorable birthday in the beautiful Southern Lakes region on New Zealand with old friends, hiking, and relaxing in the paradise of outdoors. Luckily they all came and we booked 21 people into Kinloch lodge for 3 nights using a mixture of the Wilderness and Heritage accomodation. We had a ball, options for self catering and using the restaurant. John did us a fabulous meal on the Saturday and Sunday night in the restaurant. Everything exceeded expectations. Great hosts and a truly memorable weekend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waimarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Before we booked a room, we called and asked several questions. Because we chooses this location carefully to save time for our hike on the Greenstone / Routeburn track.
So we asked beforehand, to make sure we got it right.

Can you do a transfer early (!) morning for the day we asked for - no problem
Breakfast early morning before the transfer - no problem
Can you do a transfer late evening on the day we asked for - no problem
We've been told, 'just come here and we sort it out at your convenience'.

When we arrived, we've been told, breakfast is from 8.30 onwards, not earlier!
Transport earlier can be arranged, but he would charge the full load of the vehicle - because it's a separate transfer.
The late transfer the other day isn't possible, because he is fully booked. Here is a phone number help yourself.
Luckily we got a transport (Glenorchy based), but they charged understandably the full rate from Glenorchy to the track - which was still cheaper as the offer from Kinloch Lodge!

We had a booked 3 course dinner that evening, which was all right, but really nothing special and a little bit pricy!

The room was ok, but very noisy because of the nearby kitchen, common room and toilets (which are nearby of most of the rooms!). Unfortunately you can't avoid the sandflies - it's their home in the countryside.

As a conclusion - we could have stayed in much better Glenorchy that night, without any hassle! Saves a about 40k (return) drive 18k over gravel and a lot of money as well! Its better to spend the money elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Openw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a fabulous place. We stayed in a family room with king bed and bunks. The room was simple and compact, however it was clean and bed was very comfy. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was awesome and well priced. Dinner in the restaurant was expensive if you have kids and are on a budget, however you can use the bbqs or shared kitchen and cook yourself. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. Good fishing off the jetty. The sandflies are vicious however if you have repellent and cover up you will be fine. The surroundings are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
19.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,459 reviews
19.6 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,623 reviews
20.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#36 of 59 in Queenstown
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
28 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
64 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range: $60 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing