We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pretty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinloch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Kinloch in January 2013. Very warm and welcoming with friendly helpful staff. Varied menu with both veggies and meat eaters being well catered for. Accommodation itself is really pretty and in a lovely setting right on the lakeside. Every budget is well catered for. Great place to stay if you plan to do the Routeburn or Greenstone tracks. Thank you Toni, John and the team we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    70
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
127
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waipa New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed at Kinloch Lodge 3 times ,I have always experienced excellent meals, comfortable clean rooms,friendly helpful host and staff,and have no hesitation in recomending this lodge to anyone.I have stayed at the lodge on my own while my wife has walked the Routeburn,and also stayed there as a married couple.Wonderful place and surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sodbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wow! what a fantastic place, boutique style rooms to suit all budgets. We found this wonderful place in the dark, long drive up the other side of the lake from Glenorchy we thought we had gone wrong as we ended up on a minor road, but waking up in the morning to the fabulous surroundings well worth the drive!!!

Room Tip: Rooms excellent all round to suit all budgets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We chose a heritage room at the Kinloch Lodge.

Before going further please note that to get there by car from Glenorchy will take you another 30 mn on a good quality dust road. You don't need a 4 wheel drive, and it's better to drive about 50-60 km an hour to avoid the bumpiness. The location is absolutely magnificent.

There are several kinds of rooms in the Lodge. The simple ones are more "backpackers" style but seem relatively spacious. The "heritage" rooms that we chose were very nice but also very small, so we eventually decided to rent two rooms for two of us so that we could have enough space. If you need space and like comfort it is best to rent one room per person. The heritage rooms give access to a nice sitting room where you can light a fire and do your emails or read a book. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable.
There is also a kitchen where you can do your own cooking which is shared with all the guests. It only gets busy around 7 pm at night or when it rains a lot outside. The restaurant is excellent so don't miss it.

The owners are very nice and welcoming and efficient. I left some things in my room and they wrote to me the day after.

It is definitely a place where I would make the effort to come back because it really has an interesting vibe and the location is spectacular.

Room Tip: All the heritage rooms are nice but small. Please note it is shared bathrooms, but the bathrooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_from_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in one of the main building rooms. Price for the room was 150 dollars per night, breakfast excluded - while highly recommended in our view.

The hospitality of the lodge is amazing: true it is far from almost everything but the lake, but the distance helps in keeping the crowds away - the lodge and the hosts do the rest.

Great food at night too for a reasonable price.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shandytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is in an amazing location but we stayed here for 3 nights without a car which not only made it tricky to get to but we felt a bit trapped and like we couldn't make the most of the location. We did use all the facilities such as bike hire, kayaking, local walking which was great. The food in the restaurant was lovely and good value for money. Incredible views but sand flies can be frustrating at certain times of the year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Kinloch Lodge has the most amazing setting, it would be hard to find a place to stay with more beautiful views, even in NZ! It was nice that we could eat outside and the quality of breakfast and dinner was very good; staff was very friendly. Nevertheless, we found the place a bit overpriced - the rooms were relatively simple and very small. For a place where many trampers stay, a breakfast time of 8am is a bit late and preparation of breakfast took a very long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
18.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
19.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
18.9 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
22.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
19.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Property: Kinloch Lodge
Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing