We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very, very cool place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinloch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinloch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very, very cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at Kinloch Lodge at the recommendation of a friend - and thank God I went! I loved the location, did two great hikes (though having to drive my rental car through a tiny creek to get to the one trailhead turned out to be rather nerve-wrecking!), met nice people and just generally had a great time. Nothing at all to complain about. :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangosorbet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    71
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
128
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I were fortunate enough to have had a recommendation from our friend, ensuring that we stay at Kinloch Lodge if we ever visited Queenstown. They were absolutely on the nose! It was one of the highlights for us during our west coast holiday. The Lodge itself is extremely charming and whilst the heritage rooms are a little on the cosy side, they are well appointed and very comfortable. The 2 bathrooms, whilst shared between the heritage rooms, are very spacious and inviting.

The owner, John, is a wonderful host - very friendly and always smiling. He will help you out with information and ensure your stay is special. We opted for the dinner/bed and breakfast package which was delicious. The 3 course meal we had was wonderful, especially their home made ciabatta bread!!

We were also lucky to have been able to participate in their "fire cracker" night, where a huge bonfire was built and the small community was able to enjoy the great outdoors around the fire. The kitchen hand had even gone to the trouble of making toffee apples and toffees for the guests to share! It just added to our special time at Kinloch.

We felt that Kinloch Lodge was a quaint and special home away from home with all the creature comforts we needed and loved sitting around a crackling fire in the lounge area of the heritage Lodge.

We definitely would recommend it to anyone who enjoys this spectacular area and a little peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_W280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

i hadn't actually stayed in the lodge but I was outside on a campervan site. the camp is managed by them though. we had some food and drinks at the cafe and it was great. The owners were very helpful and accommodating by offering use of the lodge's laundry, showers and water supply. They also exhibited professional and genuine attitude. I had caught a trout that night and gave it to one of the lady in the kitchen. They were all very nice including the spanish man who was woofing there. The location is superb, though access is a little narrow at one point on unsealed road but manageable with care. nearby humboldt range is great scenery and the lake itself looks like good fishing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and could have stayed here longer. We chose the backpacker option and it was like staying at a backpackers, but more luxurious i.e. a hot water bottle and fresh towel on each bunk.
The location is tranquil and many of NZ's best walks including Routeburn are very close. After a tramp, this place is an excellent place to relax with a comfortable lounge and very warm hot tub looking out over stunning scenery.
I can't rate this place enough and the owner is a very friendly chap.

Room Tip: most of the dorm rooms have a small amount of beds in so you really cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liamandjanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed with 13 other Queenstown locals. Great restoration of an 1868 Historic Building.
Excellent mine host, comfortable rooms but a bit quaint tip toeing on squeaky floor boards to go to the loo in the night. Excellent set menu three course dinner. Wine & Beverage prices very reasonable for excellent wine. Great location and view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake away from the two bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19mallard51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a lovely stay. The host "john" gave us a welcome arrival and although we had a family room booked he offered us two rooms so we weren't so cramped at no extra charge. The kitchen and Tv room facitlities were excellent and was a lovely quiet break away from the farm. We will be recommending Kinloch lodge to family and friends and will be back hopefully this time to catch some fish.

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely with big super king beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinjaInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Loved our time here - John was the best host, we were well looked after the whole weekend.

Our room was small but probably because of the enormous super comfy bed :) and we didn't spend much time in there anyway. Had a great nights sleep, dead quiet and the perfect base for Caples/Greenstone tracks. Beautiful beautiful running if you're into it.

We had shared bathrooms which were clean and tidy as well as a rec room - also looked after, books, board games, dvd's & fireplace for rainy days, fully equipped kitchen if you want to cater for yourselves.

We ate breakfast and dinner here - yum, delicious dishes OH and the best coffee!!!

The hot tub was the perfect temperature and we didn't have to faf around when we arrived - just climbed in and soaked up the scenery. It's just above the rooms so slightly elevated and very rewarding after a hard day out.

Can't wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Rooms are in a line with toilets on 1 end - we were there alone and it's blissfully quiet, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
18.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#29 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
19.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
18.9 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
20.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
4.1 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch Lodge

Property: Kinloch Lodge
Address: 862 Kinloch Rd, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinloch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Lodge is a highlight of any holiday. One of just three places in the Southern Lakes to become an authors pick in the Lonely Planet guidebook. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to feel close to their natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinloch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch Hotel Glenorchy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing