We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glenorchy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$61
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$352
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakauri Lodge(Queenstown)
$1,274
$1,239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coronet View Accommodation(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$150
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reavers Lodge(Queenstown)
$62
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azur(Queenstown)
$1,109
$854
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$112
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$141
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
15
26
15
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
26
15
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubpower cutdart riverparadisedrivequeenstownaccommodationgatewayscenerybeautylakehikinghosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 72 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The rooms are shabby. Seem like they were furnished in the 1960s and untouched since. They are clean, however, and as a frequent tramper of the tracks around Glenorchy, I know there are no better options for a night before the tramp when you want to save the hour or so it will take to get to here from Queenstown.

The bar in the evening (probably any evening) is a true rural New Zealand experience replete with dogs. REally fun and welcoming. The staff in the whole hotel are nice. I'll stay again when I want an early start or to be picked up by the 9.00 am shuttle.

Here's a tip: The breakfast bagel with egg and bacon for $7.50 across the street at Roxy's is a great deal and just right before the tramp!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi thanks for your comments. The Ensuite room rate includes breakfast so at 105.00 per night including breakfast for two we think is reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we wanted to get to the Routeburn track easily the next morning and the location is perfect for this. We checked in and found the staff very friendly which is why I am giving 2 stars and not 1. The room, which was called Paradise was anything but. Although fairly large all the furnishings were quite tired and worn and two of the three lights didn't work. The ensuite bathroom was very dated, quite small and worst of all had not been cleaned - with a hair on the toilet seat and several in the basin. I asked the receptionist if they could clean the room and she was most apologetic and someone came to clean it, which she did most thoroughly. I was also told I would receive a complimentary something to make up for it. We weren't having the complimentary breakfast as we were leaving around 8.30am and breakfast doesn't start until then - which seems a bit late when this location is a prime place to stay for hikers who want to be up and out early.

Before going to bed I had a shower and found that it was stone cold. I don't recall when the bar closed but despite being in the room furthest away we could still hear the music and people outside.

In the morning my partner also had a cold shower so our theory about the hot water being turned off at night was proved wrong. I went to give the key in at 8:40am and found no one in the reception/breakfast area except someone waiting for their breakfast. There was also no sign of anyone in the kitchen either so I'm pretty sure it would have been quite a wait before any food was available. Thank goodness for One Square Meal.

Positives: Close to Routeburn, large room, tea and coffee facilities, friendly staff
Negatives: Dirty, tired, noisy, cold shower, expensive ($105 a night)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyBrown365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Owner at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thankyou for your comments. The rooms are older but clean and tidy. However this is reflected in the room rate which is not mentioned along with the fact the rom rate includes breakfast .Next time you stay the rooms will all be renovated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent one night in this small windswept enclave at the top of Lake Wakatipu. Although reasonable value for money, the rooms were clean and a little cramped. The hotel has great character and the journey to Glenorchy is well worth it. We had a good dinner in house and the breakfast (included in the room rate) was generous. Unfortunately we woke up to huge rain and so walking was out..... I would go back...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatstanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thankyou for your comments .Unfortunately the weather was not so good at the time.Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is tired and worn but the room was comfortable although basic. However in a tiny community there isn't much choice and it is a beautiful spot to stay so perhaps one shouldn't be too fussy about the accommodation. The staff were very friendly and offered a good service and the owner was keen to receive feedback. The pub/restaurant food was good. We paid $220 for 2 nights in a double room which included breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinehil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi Thankyou for staying with us.The room rate is 105.00 per night including cooked breakfast for two people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are small but clean with small but serviceable ensuites. They accommodated our kids in a separate room ( at a reduced rate) down the hall which worked well. Their rooms didn't have an ensuites so they just ame and used ours. This is pub style accom and as long as you are not expecting fancy or big, it will probably suit. Meal in hotel restaurant was a highlight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SampFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Owner at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi Thanks for your comments .Pleased you had a good time. Your kids were very well mannered. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews