We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day walk on the routeburn track”

Glenorchy Journeys - Scenic Tours, Guided Walks & Transport
Ranked #9 of 15 things to do in Glenorchy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a guided walk on the magnificent Routeburn Track or take a scenic 4WD tour and experience breathtaking scenery that inspired Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings Trilogy and The Hobbit. Our privately-guided tours showcase the sheer beauty of an untouched paradise. Journey to the Mt Aspiring World Heritage area and experience diverse landscapes of ancient beech forests, braided rivers and glacier-carved valleys. Our professional local guide will provide an informative commentary about the district and its history throughout the tour.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great day walk on the routeburn track”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a fantastic day waling up to some falls on the Routeburn track. The service was very professional, well planned and comfortable. The day was tailored as per our requests perfectly. We did the return trip of about 18km, with ease and had plenty of time for photos and lunch. The guide 'Ingrid' was knowledgeable, friendly and a pleasure to be around all day. She offered insight into the local flora and fauna and was good company and a very pleasant walk.
The views are very pretty. I would highly recommend visiting this area and also using this tour company.
Thanks for a great day :-D

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camo835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingrid T, Owner at Glenorchy Journeys - Scenic Tours, Guided Walks & Transport, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed the walk. I hope the photos and the video serve as a great reminder of the day, and we look forward to seeing you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Middle Earth”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The drive from Queenstown to Glenorchy is brilliant. It's an easy drive with brilliant views. It's well worth extending the drive beyond Glenorchy up to the Routebourne Pass. There are great views of middle earth for LOTR fans.
The Glenorchy Hotel does great lunches.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“effortless transport for our hike”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were doing a 5 night hike and were able to arrange all our transport between Queenstown, Glenorchy and the start and finish of our walk at our best convenience and "door to door".
Alan was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
We hope to be back, and would definitely book with these guys again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lins V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingrid T, Owner at Glenorchy Journeys - Scenic Tours, Guided Walks & Transport, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We try our best to provide flexible transport options year round and customer care is very important to us. We hope we can be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing tour by an amazing guide!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went on the Half Day Lord of the Rings Tour and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Alan took us in a 4WD to various sites where filming of the Lord of the Rings and Hobbit films took place. It was wonderful being stood in the places where our favourite scenes were filmed and experiencing the feel of the locations. Alan was involved, along with others from the local community, in the recent filming of various scenes for the Hobbit and it was good fun hearing about his experiences. The tour takes you to different sites in Glenorchy and surrounding areas - including the aptly named Paradise. We will look out for the scenes filmed in Glenorchy when the films come out! Apart from learning about where filming took place it was also nice to talk to a knowledgable local and see more of this beautiful part of the world. Thanks Alan for a great tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicolakbarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingrid T, Owner at Glenorchy Journeys - Scenic Tours, Guided Walks & Transport, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to host you. We love to give all our visitors a great Glenorchy experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stunning views of the lake and Glenorchy town...........

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zaid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Journeys - Scenic Tours, Guided Walks & Transport also viewed

Glenorchy, Otago Region
 
Glenorchy, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Journeys - Scenic Tours, Guided Walks & Transport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing