We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”

Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Glenorchy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a Country Hotel located 47kms drive from Queenstown which can be described as one of the most beautiful drives on earth.We are located in the centre of town.We have ensuite accommodation with TVs, Free Wifi,and a BackPackers cottage.We have a large terraced beer garden,bar and bar menu along with separate Gastro Pub restaurant and menu.We also cater for functions,birthdays,pre-wedding nights etc.Our business also incorporates Glenorchy Information Centre&Store,Weather and Track updates and tracktransport bookings. Free carparking and luggage storage.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.
Reviewed January 23, 2018

Glenorchy has character and we stopped here for lunch on our day trip from Queenstown. We sat out in the yard which had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The menu had good variety and we were all happy with our meals.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacinta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thank you for visiting our hotel and enjoying the garden area and great views.I will pass on the comments to the Chefs about the menu.
Thank you please call again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 195 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

The rooms out the back share the facilities in the hotel there was an endless stream of guests slamming the door all night you will get no sleep in this overpriced pub.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 598russellp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Owner at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Our apologies if there was some noise on what was a busy night over Christmas/Newyear.
The door does not slam so we are not sure what you mean.

I have checked with the hotel staff and you did not mention anything to them the next day.
If in future you are to approach our staff at the time they can look at anything that is not right.
Thank you for staying at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Great pub food and excellent cold beers, they also provide information services for the area. Burgers and ribs were fabulous.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 528franka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you for visiting our hotel and choosing to dine with us.We appreciate that you enjoyed the meals and the cold beers.
Please call again.

Cheers & Beers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

After driving the stunningly beautiful Queenstown-Glenorchy Road we stopped for lunch at The Glenorchy Hotel - the best seafood chowder and great beer on tap.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 516Lorelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Hi,
Thankyou for joining us for lunch! Yes the chowder sells well so we are pleased that you liked it too.
Please call again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

Sign outside stated "homemade pies" and before I had parked the car, my tastebuds were buzzing. Only one flavour to choose from (mince and gravy) which was a surprise, but got over it as the establishment was more a restaurant/bar as opposed to a bakery. Most expensive pie I have ever purchased at $8.50 was needing to call ASB to up my visa limit. Pie took longer to arrive at the table than the flight from Auckland, but had me fizzing and excited as I believed it would have been made to order. Given the price and wait time, expectations were higher than the nearby Remarkables peak. The pie looked very appetising and had a real homemade vibe about it, although as we all know appearances can be deceiving. The pastry was sweaty and had me thinking had it just finished a 10k'er given the 'perspiration', my guess being it had just come out of the microwave oven. Centre of the pie was equally disappointing. Meat:gravy ratio amongst some of the worst I've experienced. Gravy? What gravy? Filling also bland yet inoffensive. The inclusion of mixed misc vege was a welcoming feature and added to the homeliness of the pie. Overall had an amateur feel to it and was daylight robbery at $8.50. Like the amateur flavour of the pie, I think it's aimed at amateur and inexperienced pie eaters, but failed to pull the merino over this kiwi connoisseurs eyes.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank m16matty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Owner at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Thankyou for calling at out hotel and restaurant.We are pleased that your map reading skills are better than your appreciation of Pies!

Firstly to put the record straight we dont advertise the Pies as ""Mince and gravy"" Too much gravy makes you let off all day.Our Pies are Prime Beef and Veg.
The hotel is indeed a Restaurant and bar so you are not paying walk away bakery prices for a pie full of pastry which ours are not.
The pies do take slightly longer than 12 minutes to cook as they have to be heated to 70 c by regulations .It took no longer than that, a bit like the Highlanders running past the Blues most games.
The pies are not cooked in a microwave and the meat is most of the pie and not the gravy for obvious reasons.
So maybe you should stick with the pies that sit in a pie warmer all day breeding in gravy as your taste buds obviously prefer this kind of pastry and gravy mix.
However next time you call please let us know in advance so we can produce a pie freshly couried from Auckland that has been in traffic jams for most of the day and full of the things that you like.Oh and it will cost 9.00 next time as there is a fart tax included. LOL
So thankyou for calling at our Hotel and I will pass your comments on to our New York Sous Chef who will probably have to pick herself up off the floor as she drowns in the tears of laughter.
Take care and remember that some one is always watching!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.