We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Glenorchy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a Country Hotel located 47kms drive from Queenstown which can be described as one of the most beautiful drives on earth.We are located in the centre of town.We have ensuite accommodation with TVs, Free Wifi,and a BackPackers cottage.We have a large terraced beer garden,bar and bar menu along with separate Gastro Pub restaurant and menu.We also cater for functions,birthdays,pre-wedding nights etc.Our business also incorporates Glenorchy Information Centre&Store,Weather and Track updates and tracktransport bookings. Free carparking and luggage storage.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had dinner at the Glenorchy Hotel restaurant on the Saturday evening before Christmas and it was great. A really friendly waitress served us, and the 3 of us had a lovely meal. We ate a beautiful pulled lamb salad, the seafood chowder, both so flavoursome, and the greenlipped mussels in a perfect smoky tomato sauce. Having seen the potato wedges ordered by another table I had to have some, and I'm so glad I did - possibly the best wedges I have had in my life, and I regard myself as a deep fried potato expert!

For dessert we had the trio of ice creams, sourced from a South Island supplier, and they were also really good - smooth texture but a real sense of flavour with the creaminess as well.

Clearly I need to go back soon! The drive up to Glenorchy from Queenstown is a beautiful journey and this meal was the icing on the cake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hi Thankyou for choosing the hotel and dining in our restaurant. We have two top chefs who are very pleased with your comments. I will pass on to the front of house staff your comments as well.
I hope that the rest of your trip went well too.
Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 122 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

A chef who's passionate about his food and discusses it with you is a bonus in any place. The Seafood Chowder is smoky and superb, with fresh vegetables for a bit of crunchy texture. The local venison was tender and rare, pepper crusted, served with sweet kumera and refreshing salad. Not pretentious, just comfortable and delicious. The drive from Queenstown is worth the trip alone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi Thankyou for visiting the Bonnie Jean Restaurant for dinner. Good to see that you enjoyed the drive as well.Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a pitstop here on the way back to queenstown from paradise. This quaint little eating establishment is as authentic as u can get!

Thank Kento1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Hi Thanks for calling.Hope you also enjoyed the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

In this southern hotel we enjoyed the most awesome seafood chowder an gourmet chicken burger. Hospitalily great

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Manager at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thankyou for visiting our restaurant and bar. Good to see you enjoyed our food and hospitality.Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Dropped in for a snack on the way to the top of the lake. Soup of the day sounded OK as we did not want the usual pub fare of chips with everything. When it arrived the soup was luke warm and had the consistency of something that had been made using the whizzed left over veggies from the night before. Overall not a pleasant experience. Maybe an off day,,,,,or maybe not,,,?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank madogvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBMR, Owner at Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We do not serve recycled vegie soup and never have, let alone own a "kitchen wiz."" We also do not serve the usual ''Pub fare with chips and everything"" Notice you didnt have the balls to approach our staff about any issue. I wonder who you are?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant also viewed

Glenorchy, Otago Region
 
Glenorchy, Otago Region

Been to Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing