We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Blanket Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blanket Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2006

I've often wondered if there would be a property that could meet or exceed my high expectations. After spending two weeks in New Zealand and being disappointed with other luxury lodges, the perfection of Blanket Bay was a welcome surprise. The staff, accommodations, grounds, amenities, service, food, activites, etc... were all fabulous. Our suite in the main lodge was incredible. The furnishings, stone fireplace, expansive balcony and amazing views (even from the bathtub) created such a relaxing haven that it was often difficult to leave our room. The public spaces were equally as impressive and we enjoyed many of the activities offered on the property.
It is true that Blanket Bay is expensive, but after experiencing what was provided for the nightly rate, it was a great value as compared to other lodges in the area. I can't say enough wonderful things about this property and would recommend it without reservation to anyone who is considering a trip to the Queenstown/Glenorchy area.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 5*fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 211 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2006

we went to blanket bay as part of our honeymoon last year. we have stayed in more than a few high end places in our lives, both for work and leisure, just as a matter of reference. but blanket bay was truly amazing - not luxurious in the way that it's a high end wooden cottage more than a super modern hotel. but it's wonderfully authentic, with amazing views and a very isolated location. we got to know the staff quite well in our 3 days there - they arranged activities for us in queenstown, or if you don't want to go back into the city you can sky dive and land on the blanket bay lawn! i imagine the winter activities would be wonderful too though the snow may make the drive out to blanket bay from queenstown a little hairy.

in the early evening, before dinner, there's a wonderful cocktail hour that allows you to meet and chat with the other guests if you so choose. at night, when it got a bit colder outside, they gave us warm blankets in order to allow to us to dine outside under the setting sun.

incidentally, during our trip, we heard some people saying that they didn't think blanket bay lived up to its reputation. i would have to disagree wholeheartedly. it's expensive, but worth it if you like this kind of atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walkaboutnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

this was our last stop on our honeymoon trip - and what a way to end - superb location and great food and wine- we took a helicopter from here to go over and near the coast and milford sound - right near queenstown as well abouyt anhour away

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandering_Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2006

My husband and I have traveled extensively, and this property ranks as one of our top choices anywhere in the world. The rooms and the common areas are stunning. They are grand, spacious and handsomely decorated. The views from all of the rooms, and from the pool and hot tub are amazing -- unobstructed views accross the lake to the mountains. The hot tub is enclosed, but with sliding glass doors that open to the cool air. We sat in the hot tub every night after our daily activities and before dinner, and were always in it alone. The resort is very exclusive and uncrowded, but mingling with the other guests at cocktails (before dinner) is a treat -- finding out what everyone did that day in the adventure capital of NZ. We also saw some beautiful sunsets from the restaurant. Every night we also spent some time in the game room -- whether alone or with other guests, this room provides plenty of entertainment after dinner. Our last night, we ate alone together in the wine room, which was a lovely ending to our vacation (be sure to book this for your last night).

While the resort itself is reason enought to stay, the service at Blanket Bay takes this property over the top. We arrrived very late the first night, but the doors opened up for us as soon as we pulled up to the entrance. We were immediately greeted by several of the staff and shown to our room where they had graciously left for us a huge plate of various cheeses, shrimp, caviar, etc. in case we were hungry (which we were). The staff found a way to charter us a private plane to Te Anu so we could get to Milford Sound and back in a day despite the area being fogged in for the entirety of our stay (seeing the Sound in the fog is still well worthwile). The owners of the resort were on the property during our stay, and they and their son were happy to help us determine some of the best things to satisfy our particular tastes while in the Queenstown area. They apparently informed the guest services manager of some of our desires, and the very next morning, he provided us with a list of options that he could book for us.

I can't say enough good things about Blanket Bay. The only downside is that it is a bit of a drive from Queenstown (which is a good and bad). We became quite accustomed to the drive, however, and could make it one way in under 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

We stayed 3 nights. It is expensive. But it is fabulous. The accommodation is very high class (even in the standard rooms). The communal rooms are spacious and have great facilities (reading areas, fireplaces, bars, pool table and other bar games; cinema TV and DvDs, wonderful views). The spa and gym are high class and the in-house masseuse is a master of her art. The food is very good. Our experience of the service is that it was consistently superb and the staff are helpful and great fun. We therefore find other reviewers' comments to the contrary difficult to understand.

The lodge is in Glenorchy - the area is remote and stunningly beautiful. A trip up the Dart River is a must. There is good hiking and mountain biking in the area. Sky-diving from Glenorchy (landing on the hotel grounds if you want) is great fun and less busy than in Queenstown. That said, Queenstown is only 45-50 minutes away. As others have said there is also the option of helicopter tours from the property (at considerable expense- we got a heli-tour out of Queenstown airport and saved a fair bit on the Blanket Bay price).

The age range of the guests while we were there was 30-70. There were some Brits and Aussies, and a couple of New Zealanders, but more Americans. There is some socialising over drinks but meals are not communal.

All in all we loved this place, and would happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank First_Wandering_Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2005

Blanket Bay is a stunning lodge in every way. The location is breathtaking, our accommodation in a Lodge Suite was magnificent, with plush, comfortable sofas, fireplace, gorgeous bed and huge bathroom. The staff in particular were exceptional, from the welcome and throughout our 2 night stay they were incredibly professional and very relaxed at the same time, making the whole experience casual and easy. It is a place where you can just unwind (like we did) or do numerous adventurous activities (but be prepared to pay big bucks for any of these) The food at dinner was excellent, if a little fussy. We wanted a bit more simplicity at times to let the flavours shine through. The lodge is, however, quite expensive for what is included, and we couldn't help but feel an "all-inclusive" policy would have been the way to go, considering the remote location. Lunch is extra and they really slug you for the wine. Be prepared to pay considerably more than the base rate. It's a shame to be thinking about money during your stay at a lodge as gorgeous as this, but with rates this high, it's hard not to when it is very expensive to begin with. All in all though, Blanket Bay is an excellent choice for those wanting something very special. It was an experience we will always remember.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bluebotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, New York
15
Reviewed June 11, 2005

thought we were going to stay at almost the best hotel in the world from all the great comments I had heard about. It was rainy, windy and worst of all we were the only ones staying by the looks of it. I guess it was off season, but if its so popular why arnt there other guests all year round? Something is funny there and we couldnt quite get it.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
16.4 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
243 reviews
16.9 mi away
Azur
Azur
#15 of 58 in Queenstown
309 reviews
17.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
18.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
17.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanket Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Address: Rapid 4191 Glenorchy Queenstown Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range: $831 - $2,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning backcountry retreat sits on the lakeshore 45 minutes outside Queenstown in the Southern Alps New Zealand. Lofty beamed ceilings, rock fireplaces and vast picture windows frame the heroic stone and timber lodge housing the Great Room, Den, Game Room, Gym, spa and several indoor/outdoor dining venues.Thirteen rooms offer every conceivable amenity. Activities include an outdoor lap pool, bush walks, fly-fishing, jet boating, horse riding and scenic heli-flights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing