We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”
Review of Blanket Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blanket Bay
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent two nights at this wonderful hotel - everything about it was first class from the staff to the location-it was worth the extra cost for somewhere so special.
Pre-dinner drinks gave us time to meet up with other guests and had a lovely atmosphere.
The manager Philip and his staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and were happy to suggest and arrange walks and trips each day.
On the day we departed Philip also booked us a table a great restaurant in Queenstown for our last night in New Zealand .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshbirdmdlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
It is so special for us to look after visitors who travel from far away and find so much pleasure touring New Zealand. We take great pride in showing off this magnificent region which we are lucky to call home. I enjoyed meeting you enormously and I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Thank you for choosing to stay at Blanket Bay. We hope to see you back with us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    15
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
151
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Loved everything about this glorious lodge, except the artificial indoor vegetation. The setting is beautiful and unseen from the road. Peaceful beyond words, food fabulous, breakfast catered for all dietary requirements. Staff were welcoming and eager to help us feel at home and enjoy our stay. We were delighted with our accommodation which was spotless, housekeeping staff attending while we were at breakfast and again while we were at dinner. Our heli flight, an extra, over Milford Sound with a landing by a pristine mountain lake and second landing on a mountain over the lake from the lodge, brilliant, pilot knowledgable and obliging. We took off and landed on front lawn of lodge. Swimming pool great, gym extensive. Spa sublime, Yumi a wonderful masseuse, so relaxing. Blanket Bay topped of our wonderful 3weeks touring the South Island of NZ

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We were so please to read your kind review of your recent stay at Blanket Bay. All of my team and the owners are passionate about providing the best experience possible. We are thrilled we delivered in your case. Like so many before you the highlight is often a combination of experiencing the many activities which can be enjoyed from the lodge. The flight to Milford Sound is always a highlight. From all of us, particularly Chef Corey Hume and his brigade, Yumi and of course the staff you met and those behind the scenes, thank you; we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It's such a shame that this attractive building in such a stunning location should be so soulless.
The waiting staff are lovely and polite but the culture of how the place is run is shallow and empty. As a guest you feel like your a bit of an unfortunate but necessary inconvenience and lucky to be there at all. This privately owned family home/hotel was built in this place because of the owners passion for the scenery, fishing and other activities. But the management don't embrace their clients and encourage them to enjoy what this area has to offer. It's sad as all the ingredients are there.... It's has to come from the top down. Guests are not a boring commodity they are exciting people who are happy to spend 5 star money for an exciting and enchanting experience.
If you want people to return make them feel special, help them get into the spirit of what the owners saw when they built Blanket Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear SF, I was very disappointed to read your review about your recent stay with us. I particularly enjoyed meeting you both and the discussions we had as we seemed to have so much in common regarding where we all were from. I know I had to break away from you to welcome a party of arriving guests; sadly we were unable to reconvene. Interestingly the demographic of our guests includes, like yourselves, a large number of people on honeymoon. It is always a delicate balance in a small intimate lodge to gauge how much time couples want to spend alone. It would be fair to say for the nights you were with us, you lowered the average age of those in house. I most certainly recognize the investment you made to stay with us was significant. It is for this reason we go out of our way to engage with every guest to ensure we leave no stone unturned in terms of personal service. Our objective is to convert every wish, I know the weather foiled your plans to take the helicopter to Milford Sound which was upsetting.
Guilford is an awfully long way from Glenorchy, I sincerely hope if you return to New Zealand you give us a chance to show you our service culture is precisely what you were expecting; this stems from the owners passionate desire for everyone who stays at Blanket Bay to go away with only the fondest memories of New Zealand, this area, the lodge, the people and their personal experience which results in multiple return visits. If you found Blanket Bay soulless due to the management style, clearly we dropped the ball and the finger should be squarely pointed at me, please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orbost, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed five nights in the Mt Aspiring Suite .The room was large and well appointed. Bathroom was great including a steam shower. The huge private balcony was a great place to relax and take in the fabulous ever changing view of the lake and mountains.
Pre-dinner drinks each evening allowed us to chat to other guests and the very pleasant bar staff.
Food was a credit to the chef with a different five course meal each evening served by delightful and knowledgeable wait staff. A highlight was my 75th birthday dinner in the Wine Cave.
Activities highlight was a helicopter trip to Milford Sound with a landing on a glacier and on a West Coast beach.
This is a magnificent resort in incredible surroundings and the wonderful staff completed our enjoyment. It would be unfair to name any individuals as all played a part in making our stay a memorable one.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsdal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
What a lovely surprise to receive your review today. We were so pleased you chose Blanket Bay to celebrate your milestone birthday. It was wonderful to get you away to Milford Sound by helicopter and also to experience The Dart Rive Jet Boat adventure. As you say we are privileged to live and work in this beautiful region of New Zealand with so many amazing experiences to enjoy right from the property.
We very much look forward to you coming back to commemorate many more birthdays in the future. Thank you for your kind words. The Blanket Bay Team were thrilled to read your report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Thank you all the wonderful people who looked after us at our stay at Blanket Bay! Yes the lodge, our rooms, the food (OMG bring an extra stomach it's so delicious) and the unbelievable location are stunning. But it is the amazing people who make this experience unforgettable. Ruth you are a treasure ( Pumas World Cup 2015 ?!).
Blanket Bay is magical and (we warn you) addictive. We will see you in August again and we can't wait!

Room Tip: They are all fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veryveryveryfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It’s not often I have to take issue with a review, despite the fact we agree Ruth is a real treasure, whatever she might dream, The Pumas will not overcome the mighty All Blacks in 2015!
It was great fun having you with us, I have passed on your review to all the team. Chef Corey will be particularly pleased to see your comment about his cuisine.
We look forward to seeing you back in August, bring the winter woollies, we’ll have the fires roaring and the red wine breathing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for four nights in March and held our wedding ceremony at Earnslaw Peak. The team where unbelievable and nothing was too much trouble. I would put this venue as one of the best we have encountered in our travels around the world. Thank you to each and every staff member, management and especially Tom for welcoming us into his home. We will be back.

Room Tip: The whole experience makes the stay not just the room. The main building is amazing as are the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It is really special for us to look after small intimate marriages at the lodge. Yours was particularly fun as you chose to fly to The Earnslaw Burn for the ceremony; this has to be one of the most beautiful places in New Zealand, further more you arranged the most magical weather day for the big event. I have passed your review onto Tom who, like us, gets us enormous pleasure meeting guests and seeing them enjoying the lodge that he and his wife have lovingly created. We look forward to seeing you back every year to celebrate your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in mid Dec 2013. This was our 3rd lodge in NZ after Huka ( mind blowing ) and Matakauri ( also very good ). Glenorchy is heaven on earth and a must visit. The look and feel of the lodge is more American Ranch meets Ralph Lauren ( dark ) than the contemporary cleaner NZ style at other lodges - though overall its very nice and classy ! The Chalets with State rooms we stayed in were also excellent. The food was sensational to taste - but the portion sizes were laughably miniscule. You could eat a 5 course meal here and still be very hungry !!

My dissapointment with this lodge was the lack of management !! There was no one who came up to us and introduced himself as the lodge manager and we didn't meet him / her for our entire stay. Contrast this with HUKA and Matakauri where the lodge managers were always around and made us feel like family. Further - there wasn't any clear second in command and at times the only staff we'd find in the lodge would be tucked away in the kitchen - it felt like it was their low season and since there were only a couple of guest the manager and the staff had taken off !! Well - after paying so much one does not expect this.

All told we will be going back as Glenorchy as well as the lodge are just too spectacular ! Maybe our bad luck with the management !

Room Tip: Chalets with State Room are awesome !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARJUNP921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip J, General Manager at Blanket Bay, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Blanket Bay. First off let me say how disappointed I am you felt I and the management team let you down during your stay with us. I also apologise not personally being here when you stayed as I was indeed overseas at the time on annual leave.
I have investigated your concerns. December is an unusual month; typically it is busy at the start of the month, quiet in the middle as visitors return home for Christmas and very busy from about the 20th onwards when the resort fills up for the holiday season. 2013 was no exception. We would love to be full all the time but it was nice to know you stayed with us during a peaceful period.
During the two full days you were with us, I see from our daily diary notes our duty hosts did book for you the jet boat ride up the beautiful Dart River and a picnic at Lake Sylvan, horse riding on Wyuna Station and the helicopter ride into the beautiful Earnslaw Burn below the hanging glacier, (this is truly one of the prettiest places in New Zealand). This was a great choice on your part to do this surprise flight as part of the birthday celebration which was followed by reserving lunch for you at the ever popular Amisfield Winery.
I have also noted your comments regarding portion sizes and have passed your comments onto our chef. When you return we shall certainly be pleased prepare more fulsome dishes for you.
I can’t promise I will be here when you stay with us next but I can assure you my team and I are committed to ensuring we deliver a comprehensive friendly service to all our guests. If we dropped the ball during your stay in December I do hope you give us a chance to redeem ourselves soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
16.4 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
19.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
16.9 mi away
Azur
Azur
#16 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
18.3 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanket Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanket Bay

Property: Blanket Bay
Address: Rapid 4191 Glenorchy Queenstown Road | PO Box 35, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blanket Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning backcountry retreat sits on the lakeshore 45 minutes outside Queenstown in the Southern Alps New Zealand. Lofty beamed ceilings, rock fireplaces and vast picture windows frame the heroic stone and timber lodge housing the Great Room, Den, Game Room, Gym, spa and several indoor/outdoor dining venues.Thirteen rooms offer every conceivable amenity. Activities include an outdoor lap pool, bush walks, fly-fishing, jet boating, horse riding and scenic heli-flights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blanket Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanket Bay Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing