We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blanket Bay
Nearby Hotels
$61
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$350
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakauri Lodge(Queenstown)
$1,265
$1,232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coronet View Accommodation(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$149
$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reavers Lodge(Queenstown)
$62
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azur(Queenstown)
$1,109
$848
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$107
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$135
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
199
17
7
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
17
7
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilford soundluxury lodgegames roomnew zealandsteam roomthe main lodgeour honeymoonhelicopter rideother guestscocktail hourfront lawnbefore dinnergreat roomwalk in closetdart riversouthern alpslake wakatipu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 229 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Blanket Bay is probably the most highly-touted very high-end luxury resort in New Zealand. Suites cost over $1,600US per night (rooms slightly less) For that you get a large living area, large sleeping area, sumptuous bathroom, outdoor seating area, spectacular views of Lake Wakitupu and the Southern Alps, burnished wood paneling, a built-in music system that plays five channels of Muzak, and an ELECTRIC fireplace. (Every other place we stayed in NZ had wood-burning fireplaces in the rooms).You also get extraordinarily ordinary food (ignore the framed and claimed awards, - they don't reflect the actual meals we were served which were far and away the least impressive we had anywhere in NZ) and a corporate service attitude more suited to a golf resort than an intimate (11 accommodations) wilderness retreat. The activities are relatively limited, unless you want to spend $2,500US for the helicopter tour that was offered us during the check-in orientation. The Dart River jet boat trip at approximately $250 per couple was very enjoyable, but still pricey. The highlight of the visit to Blanket Bay was the private charter flight we took from Blanket Bay to our next stop, Grasmere in the Central Highlands. The vistas of the Southern Alps were spectacular, and we were leaving Blanket Bay.

If you want great mountain views, save yourself 20+ hours of travel and tons of money and go to Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and if you want to have a great experience in NZ, by all means go there, but stay somewhere other than Blanket Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Harrydog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

Blanket Bay is absolute perfection. Our suite was amazing, the staff was just as attentive as we wanted- present when needed but not overbearing, the food was fantastic. My husband and I had our wedding in their Great Room overlooking the lake; Judy and the rest of the staff did so much for us in the details (at no cost). Blanket Bay is truly one of the best places in the world.

One note: Blanket Bay is a 40 minute drive from Queenstown. So this is not the place for you if you plan on spending a lot of time in town. The purpose of our trip with the lodge, not to explore the resort town, so it fit our needs exactly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

My wife and I stayed there in late 2002. Upon arrival, the view from the lodge's "great room" was stunning. Our room was large with lots of nice touches. The walk-out patio was a perfect place to have coffee and take in the view of the lake and mountains. We ate all breakfast and dinners at the lodge and the food was excellent. One night, they asked us if we'd like to dine in the wine cellar which was very romantic. Prior to dinner, they offer a free happy hour. The service at all levels was professional and smart. The lodge is located a few minutes outside of Glenorchy which is a small town at the head of the Dart river. If you do go, be sure to take one of the jet boats up the Dart river; you'll see recognizable terrain from the Lord Of The Rings trilogy (and the boat picks you up from in front of the Blanket Bay lodge).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkingbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

I've often wondered if there would be a property that could meet or exceed my high expectations. After spending two weeks in New Zealand and being disappointed with other luxury lodges, the perfection of Blanket Bay was a welcome surprise. The staff, accommodations, grounds, amenities, service, food, activites, etc... were all fabulous. Our suite in the main lodge was incredible. The furnishings, stone fireplace, expansive balcony and amazing views (even from the bathtub) created such a relaxing haven that it was often difficult to leave our room. The public spaces were equally as impressive and we enjoyed many of the activities offered on the property.
It is true that Blanket Bay is expensive, but after experiencing what was provided for the nightly rate, it was a great value as compared to other lodges in the area. I can't say enough wonderful things about this property and would recommend it without reservation to anyone who is considering a trip to the Queenstown/Glenorchy area.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 5*fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

we went to blanket bay as part of our honeymoon last year. we have stayed in more than a few high end places in our lives, both for work and leisure, just as a matter of reference. but blanket bay was truly amazing - not luxurious in the way that it's a high end wooden cottage more than a super modern hotel. but it's wonderfully authentic, with amazing views and a very isolated location. we got to know the staff quite well in our 3 days there - they arranged activities for us in queenstown, or if you don't want to go back into the city you can sky dive and land on the blanket bay lawn! i imagine the winter activities would be wonderful too though the snow may make the drive out to blanket bay from queenstown a little hairy.

in the early evening, before dinner, there's a wonderful cocktail hour that allows you to meet and chat with the other guests if you so choose. at night, when it got a bit colder outside, they gave us warm blankets in order to allow to us to dine outside under the setting sun.

incidentally, during our trip, we heard some people saying that they didn't think blanket bay lived up to its reputation. i would have to disagree wholeheartedly. it's expensive, but worth it if you like this kind of atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walkaboutnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews