We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Glenorchy B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed with Vladka and Richard in January 2013 for the final 2 weeks of our 5 week honeymoon tour to Australia and New Zealand. We chose Precipice Creek due to the stunning location in Glenorchy, surrounded by snow capped mountains, which is just as stunning as it appears on the website. Vladka was an enthusiastic host, with an abundance of knowledge of the local area that helped us make the most of our stay, who looked after us like friends rather than guests. Richard works for the Department Of Conservation so was also able to offer some very useful advice and information. Nothing was too much trouble whether it was using their washing machine when we arrived (after having already spent 3 weeks travelling around Australia and New Zealand!) or using their hosepipe to clean the car after a day spent exploring the back country unsealed roads! The accommodation is very comfortably furnished and well presented which was kept spotlessly clean by Vladka throughout our 2 week stay with several changes of bedclothes and towels. Above all else it was the stunning location of Precipice Creek which ensured that we had a magical honeymoon in New Zealand which gave us memories that we will treasure for a lifetime.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KGW1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We recently stayed two nights with Vladka and Richard.
It was perfect from the first moment to the last second. Great welcome committee with the several dogs. The room is wonderful: you have a bedroom, a bathroom and even a living room, with a veranda. Everything is very clean, modern. A place you really feel at home.
Breakfast was awesome. It's a great starting point to explore the area around Glenorchy, say Paradise and Rees Valley, Glenorchy itself, the head of Lake Wakatipu, maybe do some walking (we liked the Lake Sylvan track).

We especially like to thank our hosts Vladka and Richard. They created a perfect place and they are the perfect hosts. It's way more than just having a room for a couple of nights :-) we'll be back.

And as promised: we will make a horse trek tour ...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSR3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

When looking at a suitable place to stay to celebrate my partners 50th birthday Precipice Creek was the obvious choice for me.The welcome we received was warm and friendly and from the moment we stepped inside felt right at home.The views were stunning,and the breakfast on both mornings was easily the best i have had anywhere!!.The hosts were informative and were always available if needed but also respected your privacy.The knock on the door and a bottle of wine,two wine glasses and awesome piece of cake with a candle was a lovely touch,greatly appreciated.Highly recommend this place.The assistance with organising horse trekking was brilliant and Vladka's local knowledge ensured we got a personalised experience you wouldn't get with other tours!!.We will definitely be back!! - Nigel Winter

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday & I was so happy we did. It was so luxurious & the breakfast was unbelievable! We woke up to open the curtains to stunning snow capped mountains & the horses who had just woken up too we're very amusing running around playing. Loved it, what else can I say but thank you vladka for a very memorable birthday :)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrecipiceCreek, Owner at Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Pam, thank you for your lovely review, very appreciate it & hope to see you again sometimes! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

What can I say, this year's three night stay was just as good as last year's...we only wish we could have stayed a week!

Vladka is a wonderful hostess who operates a first class establishment - no detail is overlooked.

The cottage is ideal for couples in every way...comfortable, warm, well equipped, private...and in beautiful surroundings. There's even free entertainment with all the pets - what more could a person want?

Oh, how I'd love to wake up to that view every morning!

Best of luck to Vladka and the community of Glenorchy as they fight the Routeburn Tunnel. Let's hope that Glenorchy remains the beautiful location that so many of us have come to love.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband & I loved Glenorchy so much 2 years ago, that we returned, this time for 9 nights. We could not have been happier with Precipice Creek - only wished we had stayed longer. We felt that this was our home, and every where we went for the remainder of our 3 wk vacation was, although wonderful by our previous standards, just no comparison ... Vladka & Richard were respectful of our privacy, yet available when we needed something, went out of their way to help, paid attention to details regarding our personal comfort, always with warm smiles and intelligent/engaging conversation, including vast knowledge of the local region. The food was the best quality you'll find in Glenorchy, and enough for both breakfast and a pack lunch, something a little different every day. The space was very clean, comfortable, private, with the softest robes & great quality linens...in an excellent location, with stunning views, and very sweet pets (I was not a dog person until Sparky cozied up with me). We hope to plan our next trip to NZ with an even longer stay here!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and i recently stayed for 2 nights at the Precipice Creek Station B and B to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.
The location is simply stunning, with a fantastic outlook over the surrounding mountain ranges.
The premises are very well equipped with all the mod cons, are well decorated with some of Vladkas amazing photography and are clean and warm.
The breakfasts are comparable to the best you will experience anywhere......
Owners Richard and Vladka are great hosts and very friendly as are the quartet of dogs lead by Jacques the Black Lab and there friendly cat Rosie.
Vladka also orgainsed us to go high country horse riding at the near by Wyuna Station which was fantastic.
We highly recommend a stay at the Precipice Creek Station......we will be back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenorchy hotels
3.3 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
79 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
68 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blanket Bay
Blanket Bay
#1 of 7 in Glenorchy
222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenorchy Motels
Glenorchy Motels
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast

Address: 48 Nereus Way | Rees Valley, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glenorchy
Price Range: $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high on an ancient lake terrace nestled between high mountains and Lake Wakatipu, with spectacular views of the Humboldt Range, Mt Earnslaw and Rees Valley, Precipice Creek Station B&B provides a unique, private and relaxing retreat. The environment around our stunning place is encompassed by natural beauty and steeped in the history of this land. Recently opened high quality one-bedroom unit with heat pump, wireless Internet access, SKY TV and wicked homemade breakfasts :)Wide range activities base - guided walks on famous Routeburn Track and other beautiful tracks in Mt Aspiring National Park, horse riding, helicopter rides, photo tours and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing