We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Glenorchy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Glenorchy B&B and Inns
Bonnet Bay
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Glenorchy”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Perched perfectly atop a hill, breathtaking views, lovely grounds, cute pets - don't feed Rosie - you might make her sick!
Lovely rooms, comfy and spotless.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacaBonnetBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relax111, Owner at Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
:))) Thank you - just to make sure everyone understands - Rosie is our cat, not the host :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2011

As others have already reported this B&B delivers the goods. You need look no further than the B&B's own web site to get an accurate impression of the unit and services on offer: a tasteful, tidy and clean unit with creature comforts, a lovely outlook, and generous breakfasts. I'll try not to repeat the other reviews, I'll just cover some specifics from our own experiences.

We based ourselves at Precipice Creek for seven nights with the intention of doing several day-hikes and relaxing in comfort when not walking. Vladka and Richard were marvelous hosts, a great source of expert knowledge, helping us select hikes to match each day's conditions. Their local knowledge was complemented by the unit's thoughtfully stocked shelves and handy wireless Internet access.

The B&B's location made for relatively short drives to start of each hike. This provided us with a lot of flexibility in hike start and end times. On one very memorable day we got up especially early and had the extremely popular Routeburn Track to ourselves for the first part of the morning.

When we had some down-time the unit was a great place to gaze at the view, unwind, and plan new adventures. Although we were pretty focused on hiking, Vladka helped organize a very memorable horse ride along the lake shore as the final activity of our stay.

We hope to return to Precipice Creek to do some of the hikes we missed.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank digitaltrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2011

If you want to escape people and enjoy the stunning South Island fiordland scenery of mountains, lakes and sky by yourselves, and away from other houses, then this is bliss.
Built 2 years ago as a separate unit to their new house by a nature warden and his delightful multi talented wife, the large living room and bedroom open onto its own deck with garden with the mountains beyond. The Kitchen was waiting permission this year, so we used the b-b-q outside. Vladka produces great breakfasts with her freshly baked breads and goodies, coupled with imaginative ideas for trips/walks for the day ahead.
A car is needed, Glenorchy is 6 Kms away, and do stay for at least 2 nights, preferably more.

Room Tip: Only one room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferraby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2011

An absolutely gorgeous personal space in an elevated setting, topped of by a stunning panoramic vista of local rivers, lakes and of course the mountains. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, or an adventure packed couple of days, Precipice Creek is a truly memorable place with something for everyone. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The B&B was great, in a perfect location, and the views are just stunning. It felt like home, and with an artistic touch.

We thought the photo on their website was great, but when we got there we found that the place was even more beautiful (sorry, Vladka, we know how proud you are of your photos!)

We truly enjoyed our stay. The house is warm and welcoming, and they’re helpful hosts, with a lot of local knowledge of the history, and recommendations for good walks to take, and so passionate about nature and the place itself. We definitely want to come back and stay longer.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anna_zmijewska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We had a lovely 2 night stay. The unit was very new, clean and spacious (with living area, bedroom and a nice bathroom). Absolutely stunning view (when there aren't too many clouds covering it) - an idealic setting to enjoy breakfast or a glass of wine either from within the unit (full floor-to-roof windows in the bedroom and living area to make the most of it) or sitting on the veranda. The breakfast food was fantastic also. Great location for a short, scenic drive to one of the best hiking regions around.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

My husband and I vacationed two weeks in NZ and this was easily our favorite place for a nice relaxing time. The room, food, views are all as advertised on the website, which is what attracted me in the first place. Very comfortable rooms with stunning landscapes just beyond the windows - photographer's paradise. Richard was there while we were visiting as Vladka was out of town - he was very accommodating - and they had 3 of the cutest little dogs! I had hoped to meet Vladka as she was so helpful and friendly in our email correspondence, but I guess that'll have to happen the next time we visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E27SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
19.8 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
228 reviews
19.9 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 6 in Glenorchy
281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
61 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast

Property: Precipice Creek Station Bed & Breakfast
Address: 48 Nereus Way | Rees Valley, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high on an ancient lake terrace nestled between high mountains and Lake Wakatipu, with spectacular views of the Humboldt Range, Mt Earnslaw and Rees Valley, Precipice Creek Station B&B provides a unique, private and relaxing retreat. The environment around our stunning place is encompassed by natural beauty and steeped in the history of this land. Recently opened high quality one-bedroom unit with heat pump, wireless Internet access, SKY TV and wicked homemade breakfasts :)Wide range activities base - guided walks on famous Routeburn Track and other beautiful tracks in Mt Aspiring National Park, horse riding, helicopter rides, photo tours and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing