We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop and refresh”
Review of The Lodge Glenorchy - CLOSED

The Lodge Glenorchy
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Under new Management since June 2013 you will find us in the heart of the town. Just five min. to the Lake and all major places of interest in Glenorchy. A perfect stop on you adventures around Glenorchy for all occasions. We do Breakfast, Lunch and Dinners, have Free Internet, Bottle Store and Take-Away options on our Menu.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We did a self drive to glenorchy to visit the sights, must do, and then had lunch here. Views are great, food is cooked on site, fresh, good variety staff were helpful in providing information about the local area.

1  Thank Rocky2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

We're glad we could be of help to you! Our staff know the local area really well and are always happy to give you suggestions of places to go and things to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 111 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had early evening meal here on a Saturday night . The bar itself was reasonably lively and the part with tables for eating was clean and bright if perhaps a bit dated. Waitress was fine , menu reasonable amount of choice, and meals arrived in reasonable time. The wine we chose was also ok. Glenorchy is a small place and we reviewed all the other eating options (2 others I think) this looked the best and I think we made the right choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

We're glad you came and joined us for the evening, Carol. We have a good evening menu and are always happy to have people come in for a meal, especially on a Saturday night. Do come back and see us again the next time you're in NZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

While staying here for 3 days - we ate in the cafe and bar several times.

Bar: the menu is fairly standard / traditional - though the food is quite good.. we were happy with the various meals we had, and service was reasonably prompt. The menu could arguably be updated / broadened a bit .. but what we had was good.

Cafe: We had several paninis, pies, cakes and sandwiches, coffees and ice cream... and thought the food was pretty good - I liked the apple pie and bacon/egg pie in particular.

I think the place is under new ( ish) management who seem to be making an effort to refurb the place ( new hotel rooms ) - and from what I hear .. will be updating the bar / cafe area in the future.

we would come back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DN164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We try to have a menu that appeals as broadly as we can...between cabinet food and a good menu. Glad to you had a chance to try out so many things during your visit. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Took a late afternoon drive to Glenorchy from Queenstown and stopped at the lodge for supper and a beer. It must have been the first day on the job for our server, and he had also had challenges with the language. The first food delivered to our table was all wrong and had to be re-made. So naturally it took twice as long to eat as expected. Fortunately we weren't pressed for time!

Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Thanks for your patience, Allen! It does happen, from time to time, when someone's new on the job that they're still learning as they go. (We were all probably like that, too, once upon a time...). Really appreciate your patience and hopefully the next time you come back up for a visit it'll be smoother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Have been here before and noticed that things looked different so must be new owners. Food much the same. Pies sandwiches rolls pennines chips etc. Had a coke being such a hot day. Staff seem to do their job but that's about all. The tables inside and out did make the place feel better but staff have a big responsibility too. Maybe next time.

Thank Voodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham D, General Manager at The Lodge Glenorchy, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Sorry to hear that you must have caught us on an off day, as generally our staff are very bright and cheerful. Since you don't live too far away, do come back up and see us again. I suspect you'll see many more smiles by our staff in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lodge Glenorchy also viewed

Glenorchy, Otago Region
 
Glenorchy, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing