We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”

Glenorchy Cafe - The GYC Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Quick Bites in Glenorchy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Café, All Day Restaurant Menu, Coffee, Bar, Chai, Tea's, Mulled wine, Full Bar, Brunch, Lunch, Pizzeria (evening), Take away, Gluten Free, Vegan, Vegetarian, Free Range Eggs, salads, scones, historic building, kid friendly, fire place, large outdoor deck, huge lawn, garden, kids play area, f
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

We went for lunch last weekend. It’s busy but plenty of table in the yard . We chose to eat outside . The food is beautiful and really fresh, big portion. The $10 pork sandwich is definitely a highlight. We take a brownie for our friend and he said that’s the taste from his grandma back home!(France)

Great spot! Highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank DuiduiZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 597 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

It's a rainy day so we go to the cafe with the family for coffee and cake. All of which is yummy. It's busy but by half 11 getting quieter. Two of us are still drinking our drinks.

The guy behind the counter comes and asks whether we are ordering anything else. Ouch that was sharp. No 'excuse me..' or 'I'm sorry bit..'. It's a good way to make us feel unwanted and rush us before we've finished.

Looking around most of the other tables had finished their drinks and were just sitting there.

I can't work out why this staff member was so direct, even blunt, but it had the desired impact - we left, and were quite upset at being made to feel so unwelcome. What a shame as the food and coffee was excellent.

Perhaps I missed something about cafe culture here or it was a bad day at the office for them? But, ouch, there are better ways of asking customers to leave before they've finished their drinks.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank matthewl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

Staff member made us feel very unwelcome here.
We ordered coffee and cakes for our group, 5 of us around mid morning.
Staff leaned over our table to ask pointedly and in our view prematurely, asking if we were going to make another drink order. Some of us had, in fact, still got drinks to finish. It made us feel we were being asked to finish up and leave and yet looking around the room there were others in similar “near finish” stage and empty seats!
Another staff member commenced wiping the table even before we got up.
Not great and I wasn’t impressed. We are extremely unlikely to come back.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank claireling2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

I love the food they serve here. Simple yet Creative, and to be succinct, the food is awesome! Great food in a great town!

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Flymehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

Looking for just a meal while there, We had the grilled chicken salad. It was gourmet quality. And all the staff were so cheerful, they contributed to the excellence of a very simple meal

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank bcburlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Cafe - The GYC Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Glenorchy Cafe - The GYC Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.