We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired service in a tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle
Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tired service in a tired hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am a great fan of Port La Nouvelle: it is a real family seaside resort with cheap restaurants, cafés and bags of entertainment throughout the summer months. Sure there is the cement works and the oil refinery at the town entrance ... but that just serves to keep away the jet-set and the show-off crowd. There is so much to see and do: the Isle Ste Lucie by bike, the long strand leading to La Franqui, the impromptu fish market straight from the fishermens' boats ... it's like going back 50 years in time.
Alas, the accommodation offered in the resort is also 50 years behind the times. We rented an 'apartment for 8' a couple of years ago and it turned out to be a dormitory with a kitchen, complete with pull-out bed. Very poor.
This time we went for the 'three star' hotel, La Méditerranée. It's like all the other seafront buildings: small concrete blocks piled up to two or three storeys. The room was small and looked out over a lane of garages and other similar blocks. We could hear the extractor fan from the kitchen whirring overhead. It was so loud that we had to change rooms ..; but we could still hear it. We could also hear the hairdryer next door, every time someone showered or flushed the toilet. What one might expect in a provincial hotel with one or no stars .. but not in a three star hotel.
What really riled us was exactly that: it's called a three star hotel so it should have three star attributes. This one doesn't.
OK, the price was two star but we were on a romantic weekend and this just didn't fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramba99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coteplage, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, we would like to thank you for your comment. First and foremost, we are glad that you appreciate the positive sides of our city, its beach, the many interesting sites around it, and the friendly and laid back clientele. We are very sorry that your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. Our rooms on the rear side, although providing the same level of comfort than the other rooms, i.e. LCD tv, air-con, en-suite bathroom, are indeed in need of refurbishment, and the first floor rear side rooms will be undergoing a much-needed revamping. However, the rooms on the seaside are spacious and have undergone some serious refurbishment last year already. We hope that, on the occasion of a future visit to Port la Nouvelle, you can enjoy our newly refurbished rooms, and have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    55
    28
    27
See reviews for
53
88
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a bit of a faded hotel right on the sea-front of a faded French resort and just next to a huge cement works (which isn't visible from the hotel). However, it is what it is and we felt we got what we paid for. I LOVED the fact it was opposite the beach and the surf was roaring. There's also a very long promenade which I also loved after being in the car for hours. We were there end of September so the whole area wasn't busy but for me the wide open spaces of the Med and the warm breeze was just wonderful. OK, the hotel could ideally do with a bit more energetic management but it's fine as is. We ate there and you know, it was all fine. We were tired and happy to be served by a friendly person. Food is pretty average but again, it was all fine.

Room Tip: We had a room opposite the beach, 2nd floor so it was a great position
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyKoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coteplage, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your comment and for your feedback. We are glad that you had a nice stay at our hotel and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed here with my son while on a cycling trip. Hotel was comfortable. Excellent breakfast. And they were very helpful in finding a corner for us to store our bikes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelward954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coteplage, Owner at Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, in particular our breakfast buffet, and that our staff was helpful in responding to your various requests. We hope to see you again in our region. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Stayed here for one night before flying home to the UK. Some areas are quite industrial, cement works and working port but beyond this is quite a typical small seaside town with a few tourist restaurants serving burgers and chips, some on beach kids entertainment etc. The hotel, part of the Logis chain offered us a double double en-suite room with balcony and sea-view plus air-con. Was 126 Euros including breakfast for the four of us. Hotel was literally over the road from the beach so great location with great beach and we all enjoyed our stay there. However the wind is punishing, whipping up the sand so that in ten minutes we were all freshly sandblasted, even with a beach tent! Needed a couple of the good ole British wind break here!!!

Hotel was ok, reasonable size rooms with ok standard and luxury of luxuries...a frdige in the room!! Fantastic, in went the wine and juice for the kids and the cheese that we had bought at the Pezenas market.

Had dinner in the restaurant that night and although tried to budget it ended up costing over 140.00 Euros, didn;t help that we had a bottle of Sancerre but wanted a dry white and the house wine was poor and the staff hadn't tried any of the others on the list. All the same food was ok and service was good. To finish the evening off the town puts on a nightly firework display which was nice. Hotel was fine but would suggest finding a more sheltered beach to really enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Fridge in the room and the balcony with sea view
  • Disliked — Blowing a gale....
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coteplage, Owner at Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We are glad that our hotel reached your expectations and that you had a nice stay in Port la Nouvelle. The beach, right in front of our hotel, stretches on more than 10 kilometers from North to South, and offers a wonderful experience. However, our region is indeed very windy, and this can be sometimes a bit of a problem on the sand beach. We regret that you were not fully informed by our staff about the wide range of wines available on our menu, with prices starting from 5 EUR for the house white wine up to 31 EUR for the Sancerre. We hope to see you again in our region, with a more agreeable weather so that you can fully enjoy the beach. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port La Nouvelle
7.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Du Casino Le Phoebus
6.9 mi away
Hotel Port Beach
Hotel Port Beach
#1 of 9 in Gruissan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#3 of 9 in Gruissan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rev'Hotel
Rev'Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Leucate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
15.5 mi away
hotel de la plage
hotel de la plage
#1 of 8 in Le Barcares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Club Maeva La Socanelle
Residence Club Maeva La Socanell...
#1 of 3 in Port La Nouvelle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle

Property: Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle
Address: Boulevard du Front de Mer | BP 92, 11210 Port La Nouvelle, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Port La Nouvelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port La Nouvelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mediterranee Port-La-Nouvelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing