We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:15 PM
Explore Yoichi & Shakotan Blue
4

Book in advance
from
$75.31
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Nikka Whisky Yoichi Distillery
from $75.31
More Info
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveler rating
675
523
89
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
675
523
89
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews distillery station restaurant japan process products entrance sampling facility samples complex brand fan note jr yen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2019

Nikka distillery has a branch in Yoichi area. This is about 6 min walk from the Yoichi station and very convenient with public transportation. The upside of this distillery is that you can visit with a guided tour (Japanese only and with pre appointment) or a self guided tour at any time of the day. The tour is user friendly and the hospitality is generous. Here you taste a few of their classic whisky without any obligations.

And there video is explaining the wonderful process of whisky making in a fantastic way. Absolutely worth visiting when you are in the neighbourhood. Cheers!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 7, 2019

Great to wander and easy to get to. I walked it on my own and I loved the museum and special bar for paid tastings. The free tasting area and shop can get crowded with the tour buses but manageable.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank wanderingwenwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

One of the places you should see is the Nikka Whisky in Yoichi. About an hour and half drive from Sapporo and approx 2-1/2 hrs by train or bus.

Very interesting and educational. The place itself is quite something and what you get to see is even more entertaining. Ni entrance fees. And there’s free tasting for each adult.

A must when in Sapporo.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 4, 2019

Guided tours are only in Japanese, but they provide non Japanese visitors with a leaflet in English setting out a map diagram of the important buildings. Entrance is free.

The distillery is probably a victim of its own success. The shop no longer stocks older bottles of whiskey, and when we asked the sales people (more than one), they could not tell how many years the whiskey on display in the shop had aged. When we asked if they had anything more than 8 years old, they replied in the negative. We bought two bottles that were supposedly only on sale at the premises and not elsewhere (according to a notice). Tried one of the bottles, found it disappointing. Hope the other one is better.....

The tasting bar was very popular because they offered free tasting of two types of whiskey and one of apple wine.

The car park was full when we arrived, but there is paid car parking (100 yen for an hour) right opposite the distillery.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Fit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 1, 2019

This was the first place we visited after touching down in Hokkaido. It was about 100 min drive from the airport. The compound was much bigger than we have imagined.

There is free tasting in the building beside the gift store. There is also a paid tasting in the compound. A few distillery only whiskey are for sale at the gift store. However they come in 500ml bottling.

There is a seafood eatery near the entrance of the distillery (not the parking area). Search for Kakizaki Shouten.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank LimKahChuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews