We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”
Review of Yo

Yo
Ranked #119 of 329 Restaurants in Kutchan-cho
Price range: $54 - $90
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With a long standing booking (booked months in advance) for a large group we found this restaurant very disappointing.
Our group was split up into separate rooms even though there would have been room for all of us in one room. They served fish to the vegetarians (which they were informed were coming) and were very rude when it was pointed out to them that that’s not vegetarian food. The fish was replaced with one piece of tofu to share between 4 people.

The non vegetarians could share 2 prawns per table of 5 people. It was like they’d run out of ingredients and tried to pass off the minimal offering as fine dining with a hefty price tag. They also ran out of beer after one round of drinks. The staff were slow to serve and practically shooed us out after our meal.

I know the ski season is hectic and it’s quite intense for the food & beverage industry, but I e always only ever experienced fantastic service and food everywhere else in Niseko.

In short, the food we had was quite nice, but seriously overpriced and pretentious. We enjoyed much better food and service at several of the less expensive restaurants nearby. The high price tag does not guarantee a better meal.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 357CTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

We love this place. Beautiful original local decor. Amazingly polite and friendly staff. Shabu Shabu or sukiyaki is perfect. One feels extremely welcomed. Make a booking folks as its very popular.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Flashmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018 via mobile

On a stormy winter night, we savoured traditional Japanese cooking with a choice of barbeque, sukiyaki or shabu-shabu set menu. The choice of sukiyaki was perfect for the cold evening. Meal started with unbelievable sashimi — sweetest scallops, best maguro and salmon. The main dish of sukiyaki was delicious to the last broth. Finally the desset of green ice cream and mochi completed the meal.

The shuttle service to and from Yo is such a convenience.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Seeseej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018

This is a set-course menu restaurant offering a choice of BBQ, Nabe (hotpot), and/or Sukiyaki. For any of the choices, a "premium" upgrade is available.

We all ordered the BBQ set. Half of us regular, half premium. We found that some of the beef included in the regular set was a lot better than the premium which wasn't very premium at all. There was no marbling whatsoever, and it was tough. You'd expect it to at least be tender if it's not fatty.

Perhaps it's more of a Nabe place?

One more thing, I'm allergic to shrimps, which were included in some of the courses. Normally most restaurants would swap in other kinds of meat/protein, not here. They give you one more mushroom. You read that right, one mushroom. I feel that I've robbed, so in the next course with shrimp, I told them to give me the shrimp anyway and then gave it to my friend instead.

The service was very slow, and rather difficult to get the staff's attention despite us being the only table in the restaurant. Overall I found that this restaurant offers bad value for your money, even without my shrimp experience.

The setting was nice enough, cozy and warm, decorated as traditional eatery.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CCM87TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

If you decide to go here, call ahead and arrange to be picked up. They have free pick up in Hirafu. Even if you are not staying in Hirafu, arrange for them to pick you up in town somewhere. This restaurant is down, away from all the shops, but the street is icy and there are not really sidewalks with the snow, so you are sharing the road with cars and vans. We walked down this road with a toddler...it was a welcome site to finally get to the restaurant.

The restaurant has a very traditional ambience, tailored to Westerners (holes in the floor for your legs). It is a course menu, so ideal if you have a group of adults to enjoy a leisurely evening. You choose the main and the rest of the courses are chosen by the chef. The prices are for fine dining, although the food is shabu shabu, BBQ or sukiyaki, so not necessarily fine dining food. There are other options in town if you want to try these foods without the courses, ambience and price. Fine dining style, each cup of tea is charged separately.

Not a great restaurant for a family, although the rooms are small and only have a couple tables in each room, so there is privacy, it did not end up being a relaxing meal for us with a toddler.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shalyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo also viewed

Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 

Been to Yo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing