We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yama Shizen ticks all the boxes for us”
Review of Yama Shizen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yama Shizen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed three times at the Yama Shizen for ski holidays and have just booked for a fourth time. Why? When you arrive it is what it says it is and more. The hotel is ideally situated close to lifts, cafes, entertainment and shops. The rooms are immaculately presented having all that we need in the way of utiliites including items for in-room catering and utilites to wash and dry ski gear in an adjacent personal service room. Most important of all for us though is the high level of service from all staff there from the administrative people who were always ready to assist with advice and logistical help, to the almost invisble services staff who saw to the clearning and restocking (towels etc) of the rooms without intrusion. We are frequent travellers who enjoy having things go smoothly. This is a hotel I always enjoy going back to because I know that they are consitent in the high qulaity of services provided, and the accomodation is excellent. For us, the Yama Shizen ticks all the boxes for a predictable quality holiday experience. Craig Baird

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Guest Relations Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always great to hear from our repeat guest. We are happy we are always able to make your holiday an enjoyable one. I am going to pass on your feedback to all our staff which I am sure will make them happy to hear your positive comments.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review Yama Shizen and I do hope that I can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Simon Foster
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked online via the HT Holidays website for a stay of 8 days from 01.03.2013. Upon early arrival* we were shuttled from the Hirafu Welcome Centre by HT Holidays friendly and prompt staff. The accommodation was exactly as described online and met our expectations. The studio size was more than adequate for the two of us with ample storage inside the room as well as outside the room in a locked storage cupboard and there was plenty of room for our gear in the lockers downstairs (locker for boots etc / lock ups for boards). The kitchenette was resourceful enough to get a meal started for downtime during the day and for a quick feed at night. Location wise; we were about a 5 to 10 min walk from the Gondola which was just far enough to get the blood pumping prior to our first turns of the day and a short walk downhill to the bus stop for Kutchan and the other resort shuttles. We would stay again and have already recommended to our friends. Thanks to HT Holidays for making this an awesome trip... *We arrived 2 hours earlier than expected and HT Holidays staff were ready to meet up with us after a quick call on the way in from the Airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeePat_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Guest Relations Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Yama Shizen. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was as expected.

I will pass on your positive feedback to all our staff and we look forward to seeing you again next winter.

Kind regards,

Simon Foster
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Modern, light and very comfortable apartments that are 5 minutes away from the ski lifts. I stayed with kids and we had a great time. Everything is within walking distance and Niseko is a wonderful place to ski and eat. Relaxed, small and beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullerGriffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Guest Relations Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Yama Shizen.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Niseko next winter.

Kind regards,

Simon Foster
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked our accommodation through Deep Power Tours. We are saying in a "b" room. It is just a room with a king size bed, TV, small sofa, fridge, microwave. It is a very comfortable room, but definitely small for 2 people with a lot of snowboard/ski gear. A washer and dryer is nice, but is shared with another room. I would rate this accommodation a 5/5, but their needs to be a shuttle service to the gondola. It is a very long walk up a hill to get there. Definitely wears you out before you've even started your day. NOTE! If you want breakfast you need to book it 3 days in advance and they will deliver it to your room - about 12AUD equivalent per person.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grezyerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Guest Relations Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay in Yama Shizen and giving us such a high rating. We do have 2 breakfast options at Yama Shizen - breakfast delivered to your room or Yama Shizen also has a buffet breakfast each morning from 7:30 am to 10:00 am in the ground floor restaurant, Yama Dining. The cost is 1500 JPY per person. Apologies about the unavailability of the Yama Dining breakfast during your stay - we are pleased to announce that this will be available without prior booking all of next winter.

An alternative to the walking path to the Gondola and the HT Ski Valet (where you can leave you boards / skis & boots at night at no charge) is the free village shuttle bus which has a stop on the main street, about a 80 meter flat walk from Yama Shizen. Yes the 1 bedroom apartments ("a" side) are substantially larger than the studio rooms ("b" side).

I hope we see you again in Niseko.

Matt Dening
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here last season as part of the Qantas Ski Club. We had over 40 people in our group and this was the perfect location for us.
I shared with 6 in our apartment and I had the self contained room with kitchenett. I can not fault a thing with this place. While it can be on the more pricy side, it is worth it as everything is provided and close by. Free wifi, ski valet, dry room the list goes on.
The location is perfect being close to evething in the upper village.
The staff at HT are amazing and there is not much I could fault with this entire complex.
I would stay here again in the future for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Guest Relations Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am happy we were able to make your holiday an enjoyable one for your second stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to review Yama Shizen and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Niseko next winter.

Kind regards,

Simon Foster
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

7 of us stayed in a 3BR unit. Kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms were great, standard japanese sizing. Large fridge was useful for group home cooked meals. Location was excellent, within a short walk to most everything in upper hirafu village and the main intersection, though the walk back uphill after a late dinner in the lower village when it's snowing can be painful. The Ski Valet is amazing! Can store our ski/boarding equipment right by the Hirafu gondola, allowing us to wear normal shoes for lunch in the village and to go straight to onsens as long as it was before 5pm when it closes. Staff were friendly and helpful, although housekeeping didn't really do much besides give us extra towels during our weeklong stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Guest Relations Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay in Yama Shizen. Our Ski Valet at the gondola does assist guests like yourselves in not having to carry your skis and boots to the ski lifts which we believe makes staying with us that little bit more trouble free especially for parents that seems to have to carry all children`s gear.

For bookings over 7 nights we offer a mid stay clean (full apartment clean) for our Eco servicing plan however we have a daily cleaning plan called Serviced which you can choose which is more expensive but includes daily cleaning. I would recommend this in the future if you want daily cleaning.

Thank you again for taking the time to review Yama Shizen and we look forward to welcoming you back to Niseko next winter.

Kind regards,

Simon Foster
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at Yama shizen niseko for 8nights over the new year period 2012/2013. Beautiful three bedroom apartment. Very spacious and all the facilities you needed. Great location to town. A little walk to the Hirafu gondola (5-10 min) but as Yama shizen is part of Hokkaido tracks you have the ski valet at the gondola where u can leave your skis and boots every night. Only downfall is they must be in by 5pm as that is when the valet closes so if u want to night ski u can't use it. However we only did that once otherwise the valet was a blessing. Yama shizen has the only ATM in the village in the office. Restaurant looks lovely but didn't eat there for dinner. Had a great buffet breakfast there on two mornings. Would definitely choose to stay there again. Tip for niseko. Book restaurants before you come.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaolzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Guest Relations Manager at Yama Shizen, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at Yama Shizen. We are glad you used our free heated Ski Valet service run out of the gondola. We are exploring extending our opening hours to cater for those that ski late in the evening however nothing has been confirmed yet however I will pass your feedback on regarding this.

We are also glad you tried out our new buffet breakfast in Yama Dining (ground floor of Yama Shizen West). We do also recommend you book all restaurants prior to arriving as often restaurants book out months in advance during peak times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niseko next winter.

Kind regards,

Simon Foster
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutchan-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
125 reviews
Always Niseko
#10 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
42 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shiki Niseko
#3 of 65 in Kutchan-cho
117 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Niseko Northern Resort An'nupuri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yama Shizen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yama Shizen

Address: 185-6 Yamada, Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun 044-0081, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Kutchan-cho
Price Range: $119 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yama Shizen 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yama Shizen has 39 apartments, ranging in size from Studio Rooms to 3 bedroom Penthouses. It is ideally located in upper Hirafu Village, with excellent access to the slopes, shopping, hot springs, and all the best restaurants. Designer interiors, contemporary architecture and the latest in alpine materials, Yama Shizen offers superior levels of quality, comfort and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yama Shizen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokkaido Tracks Holidays Niseko Hotel Kutchan-Cho
Yama Shizen Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing