We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”
Review of Shiki Niseko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shiki Niseko
Certificate of Excellence
BALI
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We ( 4 pax ) really enjoyed our stay in the 2 bedroom apartment. Room nice and big.
It would be great if they had a dry room for all your gear on each level as well as the laundry.
Also feel that it could be cleaned on a daily basis for the amount you are paying per night, rather than every 2 or 3 days.
Location great and staff friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nessy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darren, General Manager at Shiki Niseko, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Nessy. We're looking into the points you raised.
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    28
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were one of the 1st to book at The Shiki. The 2 bdrm appartment was a great size for our family of 4 (2 teenagers) and by having 2 TVs everyone was happy. Only our children, whose room had no window were uncomfortably hot at night. Well appointed kitchen although I needed better instructions for the oven and rice maker so didn't use either. We expected more regular cleaning in a serviced appartment, what we got was adequate. Our appartment faced Anapuri and was on the 2nd floor, so not the best view(and we had been promised a great view) but very quiet.Great laundry facilities too.
The staff at reception were exceptionally helpful at all times. The lockers and locker area for storing skis was excellent too.
For the price we paid we would expect more regular servicing/bed making, the ability to maintain a room temperature in the internal bedroom, and milk in the fridge.
Otherise the location, staff and appartment were fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotPeanut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice spacious two roomed apartment. We had one of the smaller ones and it was ample for two. The kitchen is fully equipped so you don't necessarily have to eat out, and very good storage for ski and snowboarding gear. But the public areas are a waste of space, the servicing a bit mean (a light clean and two tea bags every couple of days really isn't on), and a bit too neat and tidy for a family. Despite the multiple glazing, it was noisy at night - especially the snow clearing. It was also ridiculously over-heated even on the lowest setting, but Japanese like that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank korokoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Shiki Niseko. We were a group of 6 and stayed on the pent house on the 6th floor for 4 nights.

Just wanted to bring to your attention about 2 things we would like to see improve:

1. The WiFi is terribly slow in the rooms and we had to come to the lobby to use the internet.
2. The house keeping service was poor - trash was not emptied on a regular basis and beds were not made.

Being called a "service apartment" we expected the above.

Apart from that, the front desk who were all excellent and very very helpful (ski rentals, booking a cab, etc) Over all it was very comfortable and an enjoyable stay.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muthu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Four of us stayed at Shiki Niseko for one week and it was brilliant. Apart from the warmed toilet seat, singing kettle and very comfortable bed, nice living area and fully equipped kitchen the location was also perfect. Shiki is new and slightly expensive but worth it. Its on the main road and stop 1 where the shuttle bus picks up skiers/snowboarders to take to the gondola. Because we were the first people to be picked up we always got a seat :) You can also hike up the road to the lifts if keen (takes about 15-20mins) Its also close to the two convenience stores and heaps of restaurants/bars. The rooms were cleaned every second day and the reception staff were super friendly. Free wifi and lockers for all the snow gear. The only thing missing was an onsite onsen, but the cake shop and grocer on ground level of Shiki made up for that. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Travelled with wife and 2 boys (aged 5 and 10).

We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was excellent. Had everything that was needed and the laundry on each floor was great.

Service was also excellent.

Location has pros and cons - next to inski which was handy for rental and so on and close to seicomart for groceries (but not a big range). But a fair walk to the ski lift - not a problem for adults - but tough for our young kids particularly at end of a hard day of skiing

Absence of spa/pool was really missed by my family - they love getting into the spa at the end of the day. We went to a pool elsewhere in the village but it was a bit of hike.

Was it good value - probably not given my comment on location and amenities.

Would we stay again - no - we would shoot for a more convenient location and one with a spa/onsen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert-J01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are a family of four adults and we had a 2bed/2bath apartment here for a week in January, 2013. Our stay was comfortable and convenient.
The Shiki is very well appointed with everything we needed, including wifi, as described in detail by other reviewers,. Everything was extremely clean and in good order. The rooms are large by Japanese standards. We appreciated things like good water pressure in the large showers, a coffee plunger, sharp cooking knives, two sets of blinds on the windows and the free laundry and washing powder. Our apartment, 220, facing SW, was very quiet.
Service was excellent, with the friendly polite staff always ready to help out. All of them spoke English. Our DVD player was replaced within 5 minutes when one of the switches got jammed. One of us did not like the very fat pillows, and thinner ones were provided without fuss.
We did have one problem: our apartment was too hot. There seemed to be no way to make it cooler. The second bedroom in particular got very stuffy at night and it had no external window. In the end we slept with the living room window open and the bathroom fan on to create some circulation. It was minus 12 outside, and we were still very warm.
The Shiki location is excellent. Other reviewers have mentioned a long uphill walk to ski lifts, but this is easily avoided. While it is true that most of the resort's lifts are at the top of a rather steep hill, there is one lift - the Ace Family Double chairlift - and a ticket office, an easy, level, 3-4 minute walk from the Shiki. We just started and ended our skiing there each day, quickly accessing the other lifts at the top. Not only that, you can rent skis from the Larry Adler shop only 50m from this lift. They provide free overnight storage at their shop, so you can do the walk in your comfy shoes. So good! We did not use the shuttle bus all week.
Also about location, being near two convenience stores makes it easy to to go out for supplies. These sell everything you need for breakfasts and snacks, but if you are fussy about good coffee and tea, bring some from home. There is also a crepery nearby that sells good bakery items. Many other restaurants are all easy to walk to.
We thought the Shiki was excellent value for the quality of accommodation we experienced. Hotel rooms can be a bit unsociable for a group, yet villas are mostly too far away from the village. Having an apartment was a great way for us to be together at night and still be close to the centre of town. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out the floorplans and request a room where all bedrooms have an external window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brekatosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutchan-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
122 reviews
Yama Shizen
#3 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
117 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Vale Niseko
#8 of 61 in Kutchan-cho
193 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#1 of 11 in Niseko-cho
1,413 reviews
Niseko Alpen Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiki Niseko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiki Niseko

Property: Shiki Niseko
Address: 190-4 Aza Yamada,, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 Specialty lodging in Kutchan-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiki Niseko 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
68 beautifully crafted studio, 1 & 2 bedroom turn-key apartments incorporating contemporary Japanese aesthetics, premium furnishings and fittings, enhanced with the luxuries of Asian hospitality and framing breathtaking views of Mount Yotei, the Niseko ski area and the surrounding national park. An extraordinary opportunity. Located at Central Hirafu Village. 7 minutes walk to Ace Family Chair lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Shiki Niseko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiki Niseko Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing