We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum yum!!! Best meal we had in Niseko!!”
Review of Tuk tuk

Tuk tuk
Ranked #46 of 227 Restaurants in Kutchan-cho
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!!! Best meal we had in Niseko!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My Husband and I visited this little restaurant whilst staying in Niseko after recommendations from locals. The restaurant is quite small (only seats about 10 people) and fills up quickly. The restaurant opens at 6pm for dinner. It is best to arrive at 6pm or make a booking.

The owner is a lovely lady who does all the cooking herself. Yummy Thai food. We had a cucumber and peanut salad to start, Pad Thai and green curry for main and coconut ice-cream for dessert. Everything was delicous! Best meal we had in Niseko. Definitely recommend going to whilst visiting Niseko. Yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessAnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kutchan-cho, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple, Friendly and Devine!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Tuk Tuk is a awesome place only 2 seasons old, nestled away in a side street, Blink and your miss it.......but why would you want to do that.

Something for everyone.

Friendly Staff, Gorgeous food and Relaxed atmosphere.

Thanks Tomoko....cya soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This place was so good we had to go twice”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Love this little place! Freshest rice paper rolls I've ever eaten and mains, basil beef stirfry, green chicken curry and pork glass noodle salad all delish! We went as group of 7 (need to book as whole place seats max 15) and all had entree main and drinks and was around 3000 yen each. Also anyone going there MUST have a red moon cocktail too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mysayok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic, friendly and relaxing”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Tuk tuk is a little gem located very handily on Momiji Zaka very close to all the action in Hirafu. I loved the evening we spent in this cozy place as the food was great and the atmosphere was very laid back and friendly courtesy of the excellent Tomoko, who learnt to cook Thai food in Tokyo before she made her home in Niseko. This restaurant offers authentic Thai cuisine, which is a nice change, as well as all the other things you expect from a popular Niseko restaurant namely friendly, attentive staff, a great atmosphere and great value. Once you have had enough sushi, yakitori, shabu shabu, etc, this is a great place to change things up and to spice up your evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Warm, friendly, DELICIOUS”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Tuk tuk is a popular choice for not just the many skiers coming to Niseko for its famed powder snow for a holiday but also the locals who live in this beautiful part of Hokkaido year round. On the many occasions I have eaten here both in the summer and winter, I have never been disappointed with the food, service or atmosphere. Although tiny, the restaurant never feels cramped even when filled to capacity. The food is great as owner, chef and waitress Tomoko combines the best of Hokkaido's fresh ingredients with the many Thai sauces and spices that qualify the food according to the national flag hanging above the entrance. Authentic Thai beers are also available to accompany your meal. The prices too are very reasonable. With all mains coming in at below the 1,000yen mark Tuk Tuk offers great value for money. Dishes can be tailored to your preferred level of spiciness just by asking Tomoko. Due to its intimate lay out, conversation is free flowing and you will often leave with not only a full belly but also having made new friends.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuk tuk also viewed

Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 

Been to Tuk tuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing