We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ink and brush drawing in Niseko” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Niseko Cultural School & Momiji Gallery - CLOSED

Niseko Cultural School & Momiji Gallery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take the opportunity to experience a taste of traditional Japan and immerse yourself in the rich Japanese culture. Ever wanted to have a traditional Japanese tea ceremony and be dressed in kimono? Try Japanese calligraphy or Japanese ink and brush painting (suibokuga)? Small classes up to 6 people (no minimum number) to enrich your holiday in Niseko. Perfect on your own or with friends. English speaking native Japanese teachers. 4 mins walk from Hirafu Seiko Mart. Everything included.
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“ink and brush drawing in Niseko”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

While in Niseko I took and afternoon off skiing and did a class at the Momiji gallery. The class took us through the different techniques of brush and ink painting. While language was limited the instructor was able to demonstrate the techniques well. The small class size was an added advantage with the instructor able to give us plenty of 1:1 time. I came away with a great piece of art and a thirst for more. Cannot wait till next trip to book more.
Sally

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calligraphy class is excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I took an afternoon calligraphy class while in Niseko, taking a break from skiing after a fall. The class went for two hours and was very relaxing. The teacher was fantastic and patient with my big brush strokes! At the end of the class we chose a symbol to put on special cardboard to take home as a souvenir, and enjoyed lovely green tea. The Momiji Gallery owner, Margot, is very passionate about Japanese culture and her gallery is a fabulous mix of contemporary artists and interesting historical pieces, some of which are for sale. A must do if you want a break from the slopes!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cultural activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I did ALL the activities on offer....Tea Ceremony and Kimono Dressing, Calligraphy and Brush and Ink Painting. Just terrific. The owner of the Momiji gallery is passionate about all things Japanese and she has succeeded in finding friendly and talented local people who present activities which are gentle,engaging and instructional. Classes are small, personal and hands on. You could feel the agitation and anxiety dissolve as people relaxed and had a go. Language not a problem, you got the idea, the brush stroke, the movement.
I bought some ink and brushes home (get them at the gallery:cheap) and am enjoying these practices since returning to Australia.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Calligraphy class was exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My sister and I took one of the Calligraphy classes at Momiji, and I gotta say it was an incredibly rewarding experience. The instructor was very friendly and helpful, she provided clear demonstrations on how to write particular Kanji and gave us ample time to practise. She even made us some tea while we were honing our brush stroke technique! Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good for the soul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Do yourself a favour and go to the Niseko Cultural school . I participated in the TEA CEREMONY and KIMONO DRESSING - such pleasure!
A friend took part in the BRUSH and INK PAINTING- he came out beaming with his achievements!
It is also extremely enticing to open the wallet in the Momiji Gallery on entry!

Nicole Kerger
Torquay,
Australia

Helpful?
Thank NicoleKerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niseko Cultural School & Momiji Gallery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing