We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most delicious shabu - shabu, sukiyaki and SAKE!”
Review of A-Bu-Cha 2nd

A-Bu-Cha 2nd
Ranked #10 of 316 Restaurants in Kutchan-cho
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Abuch 2 is one of the most popular restaurants in Hirafu. The menu contains fresh Hokkaido produce and created as Modern Japanese dishes. Also more than 300 special drinks are served at the bar area. Abucha 2 has 100 seats and small separate Japanese-style dining area that are suitable for families with children.
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

We went to Abucha2 on 23 Dec. Our hosts had made the reservation more than a month in advance. A sign at the door informed us that the restaurant was fully booked till February 2017! It was the most delicious wagyu beef shabu -shabu and sukiyaki I had ever tasted. The staff were friendly and very helpful with everything. Their sweet sake was out of this world!!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank EuniceL608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 220 of 550 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

Ate here on our recent trip to Hirafu. Although we were walk ins we were lucky enough to get a table for 9 (4 adults & 5 young kids) in fairly short order - only had to wait about 10-15 min. Loved the huge square table, it meant there was lots of table space for our kids to colour in their colouring books or play cards while waiting for the food to come out. The adults split the beef hotpot for four and it was delicious, it was also larger than we had anticipated which was a pleasant surprise and it meant there was plenty for seconds! Also got a few teriyaki chicken dishes for the kids, which they also enjoyed. Only thing that might be off putting to some is the noise. The staff are constantly yelling as part of the ordering process so it's pretty noisy - not really a quiet romantic spot but rather a fun noisy place to have some really good Japanese cuisine. All and all a good meal.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank JPR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

Came with a large group, so props for accommodating us. Found the food to be so-so relative to other izakayas in town. Not sure why this place is that much harder to get a reservation at.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank peripateticFoodieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

We came here for dinner searching for some sort of hot pot (or "nabe" in Japanese) after a cold day out. It is a cosy restaurant, with a bar on the side, and has seating suitable for small and large groups. The waiters collectively yell at people who are leaving which I believe is a Japanese custom and was funny to see.

Upon arriving we were told that all tables were reserved so we would have to wait around an hour. But they somehow found a table for us after only 5 minutes of waiting and one of the waitresses helped us order by pointing out some recommendations.

We ordered sides of edamame and a deep fried chicken Caesar salad (which was tasty and something I haven't seen before) then a salmon hotpot which had vegetables (including Hokkaido's famous potatoes), Hokkaido butter, miso soup and udon. The hot pot was very good, all the ingredients were really fresh and really warmed us up. The prices are mid range, depending on what you order, but I think it's worth it for the quality of ingredients they serve! I would recommend this restaurant if you are looking for some warm, local food and an authentic experience!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Lily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

The beef is superb and the service is great. If you are feeling depressed over the icy cold winter, come over. The chorus of welcoming loud and boisterous chants will lift your spirits. Of course don't forget about the same spirits they have!!!

Date of visit: December 2016
4  Thank Ankh_de_Sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A-Bu-Cha 2nd also viewed

Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 

Been to A-Bu-Cha 2nd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing