We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun food and cooking”
Review of Kabuki 1

Kabuki 1
Ranked #81 of 227 Restaurants in Kutchan-cho
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun food and cooking”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Kabuki 1 is nextdoor to the sister restaurant Kabuki 2. Kabuki 1 has sit down on the floor tables (with sunken footwells) with your own hotplate. Food is ordered as sets of ingredients that you cook up at the table yourself. The ‘make yourself’ Okonomiyaki is great fun to make, with instructions for each dish type. Meals are quick to order and to make.
It's cheap and good quality. You won't be disappointed.
If you don't want to cook yourself......go next door and they will do it all for you.

Helpful?
Thank stephens066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Owner at Kabuki 1, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, Stephens066! I am happy to see you enjoyed your time at Kabuki 1! I appreciate you taking the time to review us, and I hope that you will join us again soon! We are expanding and renovating Kabuki to be able to serve you better during your next visit. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    36
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun experience and good food”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a very small restaurant and booking is recommended. You cook your own food and experience a fun and relaxing atmosphere. The food was very tasty and we'll visit them again on our next visit to Grand Hirafu, Niseko.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Owner at Kabuki 1, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
MelG1234, thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your visit to Kabuki. During your next stay in Niseko I hope you join us again to experience our newly renovated restaurant. We’ll have the same great service, same great food with an improved environment. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
-Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cook yourself some fairly bland food!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We visited this restraunt mainly because it was really close to our accommodation. When we walked past another tourist talked it up. I hope she was talking about Kabuki 2 because Kabuki 1 was pretty average.

This was our worst meal in Japan. Yeah you can sit on the floor but thats about as authentic as it gets. We tried the Okonomiyaki, the Yakisoba and Teppanyaki.

Not being huge Japanese food experts I thought all three of these were really bland. The okonomiyaki was a boring potato dish. We had better Yakisobe at the airport. The teppanyaki was also just a plain old stack.

If you enjoy the gimmick of cooking for yourself you'll love this place. If you prefer tasty food then look elsewhere.

Service was good. Just plain food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Pones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Owner at Kabuki 1, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, Chris_Pones. I am very sad to hear that your experience at Kabuki 1 was not up to standard. We do our best to provide excellent service to our guests, and hope that you will give us a chance to better impress you next time around. If you are not in the mood for DIY style, we offer Kabuki 2 next door, a ‘banquet style’ restaurant where our chefs will prepare authentic teppanyaki for you. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DIY Tepanyaki”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Loved this place, it had quite good food that you cooked yourself. The meals (teppanyaki) weren't huge, and a couple we were with were still a little hungry after ordering two of these. My girlfriend and I had 1 teppanyaki and one onokomiyaki and this filled us up, so would suggest trying to go this way, or you may have space for dessert somewhere else afterwards.

Overall would recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrettG_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Owner at Kabuki 1, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, BrettG_BNE. I am glad you enjoyed your ‘DIY’ Teppanyaki experience! I hope that you join us again during your next stay in Niseko. We have expanded our restaurant to be able to accommodate more guests and provide them with an even better dining environment. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“over priced”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

over priced, although you can get discount if you finish eating before 7pm. we had okonomiyaki and teppan yaki , they were yummy but were too small serve.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ritchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Owner at Kabuki 1, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, Ritchan. I am sorry that you found our food overpriced, we do the best we can to provide the best quality food for the price you pay, in a way that we still may adequately accommodate those under our employ in the short season we have. I hope you will return again on your next trip to Niseko, and thank you again for your review.
Sincerely,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuki 1 also viewed

Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 

Been to Kabuki 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing