We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average service”
Review of Wabi Sabi

Wabi Sabi
Ranked #80 of 227 Restaurants in Kutchan-cho
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The term `Wabi Sabi`represents a world view centered on traditional Japanese beauty. Wabi represents rustic simplicity, and Sabi represents beauty. Our restaurant has a traditional Japanese rustic charm that we know you will enjoy! Wabi Sabi is an authentic Japanese restaurant located in Hirafu, Niseko. We offer a selection of carefully prepared Japanese foods, from locally sourced ingredients. Vegetarian options are available. Our staff are fluent in English, Japanese, and French, and are ready to assist you in choosing the best donburi (Japanese rice bowl dish) or other dishes. We offer happy hour from 5-6pm everyday, in which you get a free order of potato wedges with the order of an alcoholic drink. Daily food specials are also available, but with limited quantities. If you prefer to take your food home after a long day on the slopes we also offer take away as an option. We are open seasonally from December until the end of March.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very average service”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were excited to go to the restaurant as it was always full.
We ordered a jug of beer, which our waiter forgot to turn off and we watched it fill, then spill over the sides and onto the floor. My husband got up and turned the tap off after 10 seconds as the staff didn't notice it had happened. We let them know it had happened, they thanked us then gave us the beer, which was flat.
The waiter then came to serve us and when I ordered and entree and main he said, "oh i forgot to tell you, we don't have either go those."
5 Of us received our entrees, but 1 didn't. when we asked staff they said the would get it for us. It then when to a different table. Luckily the guys on that table had heard us and told the waiter that it was ours. The waiter then asked us if we still wanted an extra serve??? they really had no idea what was going on.
The food was nice, but unfortunately we all received out meals at different times. I had finished mine by the time the last persons came out.
This has the potential to be a nice place if the staff get there act together!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Manager at Wabi Sabi, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Customer



I am terribly sorry for the service you have received and I agree its totally unacceptable to be so unprofessional. Recently we have hired a few more staff in Wabi Sabi and around the 20th was their first few shifts. Thank you very much for turning off the beer tap, that is much appreciated.



We have retrained the staff to make sure their customer service is too a much hirer standard that is to expected in any restaurant. Usually the Wabi Sabi servers, are more than excellent and will bend over backwards to make sure you have the perfect evening with us. We are very sorry again for such a bad experience, and hope you will come back and visit us time again so we can give you our usual excellent service.



Sincerely



Amik Wabi Sabi Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise of the season”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

As a foreigner living in Japan I mostly rely on TripAdvisor to find decent places for a meal.
With recent awesome reviews but a lot of 1-2 point reviews I was really curious what went on with this place.
Expecting just the average food Japanese people cook for themselves I was overwhelmed by
- the quality of the food. Way more than what you could expect from a place as small as Wabisabi.
- the service. The very friendly european (I guess dutch german or eastern europe) guy told me most of the staff was working as help-exchangers (in other places called: ski-bums). Still the service was friendly, fast and willing to help me with every question/"problem" I had.
- the professionality. I wouldn't expect a "ski-bum" to explain me the difference between a Shiraz and a Pinot-Noir. If they tell you to try a bottle of "Wine X": Try it. I did everything but regret it, neither did the people on the table next to me.

Reading older reviews I can only recommend 2 things:
1. Dear tripadvisor. Get your facts straight. 3 year old comments should not be valued as high as the most recent ones.
2. Gyoza, Yakisoba and a bottle of wine from that european waiter and your stay here will be a total upgrade to your stay at Wabisabi.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Manager at Wabi Sabi, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Customer



We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening at Wabi Sabi! Thank you for you excellent review, the most of the chefs in Wabi Sabi are Japanese and are very good at cooking authentic Japanese cuisine. We welcome you back to Wabi Sabi anytime and hope we can satisfy you again.



Sincerely



Amik Wabi Sabi Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

So good! Limited menu but what they do they do well. Hearty home style Japanese cooking just the thing after a cold day on the slopes. Warm and welcoming. Gyoza dumplings - yum! Great value for money - so good just booked a second night tomorrow and we usually like to try different places each night we are travelling. Will certainly recommend :-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stormj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Manager at Wabi Sabi, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Customer



Thank you for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed your time at Wabi Sabi! Our staff are excellent and really know how to give very good customer service and Wabi Sabi a good name. We hope you return again to Wabi Sabi and try out all of our tasty dishes :)



Sincerely



Amik Wabi Sabi Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Good Place, Good Service!!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were 5 people without booking around 6:15pm arrived Wabi Sabi, and was full booking at time, then the waitress very kind to gave a table to us and told us we needed to return the table before 7pm!

We were ordered 4 Oyako Don, 1 Katsu Don, Edamame and 2 Gyoza, the Gyoza and Katsu Don was very yummy and they serve the food so quick while I took the order around 10 mins.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Manager at Wabi Sabi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Customer,

In the future you must book to avoid disappointment, this way you can have 2 hours seating time which is more than enough, during this time of year we are very busy and cannot accommodate for all walk ins. I am very glad you enjoyed your meal, we have some excellent chefs who have been cooking some beautiful dishes. The food is usually very quick to prepare as it doesn't take very long to cook, we hope to see you again in the future and are thankful for your review.

Sincerely

Amik Wabi Sabi Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice location but few misses”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Soba noodles were decent. As was the bento. But most other items were either cold or missed the mark. The meal also took quite a while to arrive.

Helpful?
Thank nishi381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepsteep, Manager at Wabi Sabi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear customer. Thank you for your review and advising us on what needs to change. We will improve the quickness and temperature of our meals, if you ever have a problem with us, just let one of our staff members know and we will replace any dish that has missed the mark or is cold. Sorry for your bad experience and I hope we will get a chance to show you our good service and food next time, usually everything is very good in Wabi Sabi but you must have caught us on a bad evening, we will be much more vigilant in the future.

Sincerely

Amik Wabi Sabi Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wabi Sabi also viewed

Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
Kutchan-cho, Abuta-gun
 

Been to Wabi Sabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing