We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location”
Review of Alpen Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpen Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Location”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Vale 2 years ago and opted for Alpen Ridge this year. As previous reviews - you can't beat the location, the apartments are spacious and comfortable with everything you need, the ski lockers are very large (a lot more convenient than the ones in the Vale). The lack of coffee shop or restaurant did not bother us at the slightest - it is self catering apartment after all and this is what we prefer - fix own breakfast and snack and explore the nearby restaurants in the evening. The only negative comment made by Navigator22 I agree with is the lack of black out curtains/blinds in the bedroom. The bright light woke me up every morning well before 6 am! Hopefully this will be resolved in the next season:). We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kambodja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiJapanTravel, Manager at Alpen Ridge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review of your stay in Alpen Ridge and were glad you enjoyed the facilities and ski in/ski out location. We will certainly pass on your feedback regarding the blackout curtains in the bedroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This apartment-style accommodation was just perfect. It is a true ski in/ski out resort ideally located at the base of Hirafu next to a ski lift. Location could not have been more perfect for everything! Short walk to all restaurants and ski lessons/rental on first floor of complex.
Apartments themselves were very modern and nicely fitted out. Fully furnished including all appliances - handy if want to cook meals at home and also get washing done after a day of skiing. We had a room with slope view which we highly recommended - just beautiful.

Room Tip: Slope view room was great even from 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grif98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiJapanTravel, Manager at Alpen Ridge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your stay in Alpen Ridge. We're glad you liked the convenience and the facilities that the property offers and hope we welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If traveling to Niskeo with a family, this is the closest thing to perfect. The property is well managed, and though they're rented condos, staff comes in to tidy up the units everyday! The convenience of ski-in/out, ski shop+rentals+ski school in the basement, and a snack shack just outside out the door are perfect. And the prices are MUCH more reasonable than the Vale.

This was our second stay at Alpen Ridge. Last year we came without our son, but this year, he was old enough for the ski school. If you have kids, getting them suited up and to the mountain can be an ordeal, especially if they should ever say "I need to potty" just as you reach the lifts. We booked directly through Ski Japan who manages the property as they are the largest tour operator in Niseko. They arranged for our transport from the airport and back and even helped with hotel reservations in Sapporo where we stayed a night. It was also a nice touch that they upgraded us to a bigger unit. We only had access to one bedroom as was our original request, but the larger living, dining and kitchen areas were extremely helpful.

Our only gripe was the fact that the ski shop told us we could just pick up our rentals a day early, but they didn't tell they would charge us for it. Rather than correcting their mistake, they insisted on charging us an extra day which ended up costing a total of almost USD100! This is after we rented for 5 days, one week of ski classes, and 2 private lessons from them. Cehap and unprofessional. If they don't resolve out complaint, I will not use the shop again.

We will however probably rent at Alpen Ridge next year. That is, if we don't just end up buying a unit for ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiJapanTravel, Manager at Alpen Ridge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Alpen Ridge and were happy with the services provided. Regarding the ski rental, it is not a problem to collect the rental gear from 4pm the day before your rental starts, however collecting it before this time does incur additional charges.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What I like about the place - 1.Excellent location for ski in ski out. Right at the Ace Family Lift. 2. Good storage facilities for ski gear at basement. 3. Good wi fi in apt 4. Clean and cosy apt that is well equipped. So by right I should have rated this a 4-5 on 5. However there are significant issues with this place that bothers me to warrant an Average rating despite its strong location.

What I don't like about this place - 1. The building has no charms. A simple plain building that could have been in any city in the world. 2. Except for good storage for ski stuff, there are zero guests amenities in public area. Eg. there is no cafe or a lounge for you to chill out and socialise with friends. Even a simple breakfast or coffee requires one to gear up in full winter regalia and hike out in the cold. It is going to kill them to have a small cafe or sandwich corner for those of us who like a hot drink indoor and chat or maybe a simple warm breakfast? 3. There is no onsen. There is no even a water cooler. In short this place encourage you to either STAY OUT in the cold or stay INSIDE the apt. No cosy common area to hang out with friends and fellow travellers - forget the reception area, that is as spartan as it can get. 4. No secured storage area. Our check out time was 10am. Our pick up was at 1620hrs. So we went out to kill some time from 10-4. However it was incredulous that we were told there was NO secured private storage space for our luggage. Our stuff were left lying in the public lobby for 6 hours. This is the first time I have encountered something as ridiculous as this. While the front desk assured us it was safe, I wonder who is willing to stand up and take responsibilities is something went missing. Please note - reception is not always manned! 5. We were also told there is no place to freshen up before our long trip to the airport. So here we were, checked out, 6 hours to kill, went on our last ski runs, and no simple facilities to shower or freshen up before we depart. Another first for me! 6. The place was not manned by locals but non japanese part timers. With it, what was sorely missing was the typically unbeatable and charming Japanese hospitality we have been accustomed to (being a regular visitor to Japan). We come to Japan to experience Japanese hospitality, if we wanted a different experience we would have travelled to that other country. As such the staff knowledge of the place were perfunctory and functional but not insightful. You get the feeling you are getting the bare necessity and nothing more. On one occasion, we were trying to get a public bus to Kutchan, and the front desk staff merely told us to read the standard brochure. Well, in it was a seriously tiny fine print that said, a certain bus was no longer operational, and that were not highlighted to us as a result we lost 45 min waiting in vain. 7. Front desk staff absentee. On our last day - our pickup time was 1620hours. We were back by 1600 hrs to repack our stuff, and guess what? There were no one at the reception, and since we checked out earlier at 10, we had no keys to get into the building. Despite ringing the intercom for assistance for the longest time - no assistance were forthcoming. We finally got in when a skijapan staff fortituously happened to drive by dropping someone off at the ski shop. Or else I wonder how long we will be kept out in the cold waiting for the front desk staff to return to his/her station. Such lapses of services and oversight in guests basic security and amenities were disappointing especiallly given the price level of this place. 8. And did I mention, there is no black out curtain/blinds in the bedroom. Given we were in a snow bound area - one would have thought there is a simple basic necessity as it gets really bright and glaring. Sleeping in - is not really an option then.

So would I recommend someone to stay here ? - well, it is a tough call. I guess for a first timer, or someone new to Japan, maybe. But for repeat visits and someone more famillar with Japan or wants to experience more of the real Japanese culture - probably not. On a repeat visit, I would go for a place with more charms and better service.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the ski slope and on high floor. There are 7 stories. So the higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiJapanTravel, Manager at Alpen Ridge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Alpen Ridge apartments. We always strive to provide our guests with a memorable experience and a high level of service. Understanding all of our varied customers expectations assists us in delivering, to the best of our ability, the services and amenities our guests are looking for.

Alpen Ridge is an apartment complex focused on quality accommodation and the convenience of ski in – ski out access to the ski slopes. While it may not present the features and public services of a hotel, Alpen Ridge is designed to provide an exclusive environment and privacy for its guests, with easy access to many wonderful services nearby and in the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

If real "ski in-ski out" matters then Alpen Ridge has got to be the best spot to stay in serviced apartments at Niseko. These apartments are now about 5-6 years old but still close to cutting edge modern après-ski Japanese style. The Ski Japan people manage the block and do a great job. Apartments are big, self contained, heaps of amenity, own drying room, and fitted with all the modern appliances needed. We have stayed here 4 years running now in 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Walk out the door, snap on the skis and hop on the family run lift. Ski to the end of the run, skis off and walk back in at the end of the day, brilliant. Big communal drying locker room at grd floor, its own ski shop as well as ski hire, school and fittings from NBS, all under your unit. The Ski Japan people at reception will book restaurants and give you the heads up on any requirements and are always helpful. We are regulars to Niseko and can not see us trying any where else.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in give great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a 10 day stay in 301 Alpen Ridge. As other reviewers have said the position is just excellent. Above the NBS ski school and ski hire with ski in ski out convenience and storage lockers ..it is hard to better. Any issues with skis..sorted on site..no walking with ski stuff along icy roads...
Ski Japan staff on site were excellent when it came to booking or advice.
The apartment itself is modern, very well equipped, good beds and great bathrooms and with direct line of sight on to the nursery slopes....look out the windows and see the conditions and the lifts working or not.
Having the Vale next door is also useful..great onsen and bar and grill.
Alpen Ridge is right in the middle of Hirafu..everything is with in easy walking distance, the supermarket, bottle shop and many bars and restaurants.
Yes it is a bit expensive but for the convenience - especially if the weather turns bad or you want to go for a second late afternoon/evening ski session..its hard to beat.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms over looking the Family Chair lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in apartment 202. Great location, overlooking Ace family Chair and up and down the slopes. Lovely to lay in bed very early in the morning and look at the snow falling before proper sunrise. The lockers downstairs are large. It is great to just walk out the front and ski onto the lift. The ski rental in the building makes it all easy too. We hired our gear late afternoon ready for the next 7 days of skiing. Very helpful, friendly staff. The apartment has a great service of fresh towels daily, and a full service after 4 nights. There is another cupboard in the apartment for drying your snow gear. Washing machine, dryer, kitchenette with microwave and oven combined. The knives and forks are in a little drawer above the chopsticks. You had to look for them. We bought all our provisions from the little supermarket 5 mins walk away. As so many Australians in the area skiing they even had vegemite... We booked through Skijapan and found the transfers etc excellent. Yes this apartment was expensive but it is well worth the convenience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutchan-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
122 reviews
Shiki Niseko
#1 of 61 in Kutchan-cho
117 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Vale Niseko
#8 of 61 in Kutchan-cho
193 reviews
Niseko Onsen
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#1 of 11 in Niseko-cho
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Ridge

Property: Alpen Ridge
Address: 193-7 Aza Yamada | Niseko, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Specialty lodging in Kutchan-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpen Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpen Ridge offers guests the opportunity to watch your loved ones learn to ski, or return from their mountain adventures, right from your own balcony. The ski in ski out location of Alpen Ridge offers guests the very best in Western style luxury accommodation with access to the slopes right outside your door. The apartments are within two minutes of the heart of the village, close to the supermarket, bars, restaurants and onsens that make any visit to Niseko unique in the skiing world.Luxury in design, developed with care free living in mind and thoughtfully appointed with all modern appliances. For extra convenience, Alpen Ridge incorporates a Ski School, Ski Rental service, personal ski lockers, staffed reception desk and onsite management team aim to ensure your time in Niseko is enjoyed both on the slopes and off, relaxing in this truly unique property.A selection of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartments and 3,4, 6 & 7 bedroom Penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpen Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpen Ridge Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing