We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J Sekka Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J Sekka Suites
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 6 night in the studio suite - very comfortable room with all the necessities. And location is hard to beat - 5 min walk to the chair lift. Plus there is a great pizzeria just downstairs with very tasty pizzas and a Seico Mart grocery right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photo_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really loved the stay here. Bed was really comfortable, loved the view to the outside from the bed, the room was much bigger than the twin sharing rooms of most other hotels - it had a really nice and big bathroom, a washer and dryer and a small kitchenette complete with cutlery and utensils.

Location's good - you definitely won't starve even if there was heavy snow staying here. Good pizza's in the basement, wine cellar to keep you warm, there's a deli and a bar all under the same roof you sleep in. The area's very easy to walk around - restaurants dot the area, 24hr supermarket's nearby, grab a map and you'll figure you way to the ski slopes.

I initially spent quite a fair bit of time looking for a room with an attached bathroom just for me and the partner. It was rather difficult because many of the Niseko accommodations cater to groups and travelers who well, essentially don't mind sharing bathroom facilities. Am really glad to have been told of J Sekka. I honestly do not think I spent much more for the accommodation in J Sekka than for a place elsewhere. I'd definitely come back to here should I head up to Niseko again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a fantastic find. Right at the base of the mountain with only a 50 Mtr walk to the chair lifts, large clean rooms, great service and the best cocktail lounge (The Maki Lounge) we have ever visited. Hamilton, the bar manager mixes "the best G&T's". Highly recommended. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the studio suite,which was a decent size,clean with a lovely bathroom. Views werent great however but not that important.
The hotel had a lovely bar which was cosy with its open log fire and friendly staff!
The location was fantastic,less than a 5min walk to the family lift-from there you could work your way up!
The bath was lovely and deep and was perfect after a day of snowboarding!
It was quite noisy in the room,we could hear people going up and down stairs and one night some people were outside having a party and we could hear them!
There was a washer/dryer-which was perfect for us since we had been staying somewhere else for a few days before!

Overall we would come back to stay here again! We really enjoyed our time in Niesko and the snowboarding was amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilpinkmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

There were two things that really stood out - the location and the service.

The last time we were in Niseko, we stayed at a lodge that was down the hill and it was a real pain to trudge up with our snowboards every day. J Sekka, in contrast, really has the best location, especially if you regularly use the family ski lift. We would go up the mountain in the morning, come back after a few hours to store our gear in the lockers in the basement, go off for lunch at a nearby restaurant, walk that few meters back for our boards and head off for another round of boarding. It was all so convenient!

The service was great as well. Rina and Kayoko were the best! They were always friendly and eager to help, they booked all our restaurants for us and were very prompt in replying to all our emails when we were making arrangements for the hotel and transport.

We stayed in the deluxe one bedroom apartment and everything felt neat and new. The sheets were white and crisp. The bath tub was great after hours of snowboarding. The kitchen was well equipped. It wasn't as plush as say staying in a Four Seasons, but it was pretty darn good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights @ J-sekka and we love it. Due to the fact they are fully booked, we stayed 2 nights at the one bed room premium and 2 nights at studio deluxe but we didn't have to worry a thing, the staffs did everything for us. It's a great location to ski in and out and if you are tired from skiing, you can just go down to ground floor and get yourself a message. I love this place and we will come back again for sure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bl3ss3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location is the best thing about this place. Its just across the street from the Vale and the family pair lift, which gets you to the other lifts to go higher. The finishings are very nice and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The worst thing is the cleanliness - or the lack thereof. We stayed over 10 days and they came every 3 days to give us new towels and empty the trash. No cleaning the toilets or vacumming the floors. Now, with kids around, taking the trash out every 3 days is also pushing it. We had dust bunnies floating all over in no time and the grime on the bathroom sink we difficult to tolerate. Ok, they provided a vacumm cleaner but hey, i dont pay $500 a night to clean my own apartment, esp on my vacation! My friends stayed at the Vale and they cleaned the whole place every other day and their concierge was manned 24/7! For about $200 more a night, i'll take the Vale next time round...

Room Tip: DO NOT take the apartments with the spiral staircases if you have small kids cos its really very ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryLuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kutchan-cho hotels
0.2 mi away
Chalet Ivy
Chalet Ivy
#1 of 18 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yama Shizen
Yama Shizen
#3 of 18 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Always Niseko
Always Niseko
#10 of 18 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Niseko Park Hotel
Niseko Park Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen Ridge
Alpen Ridge
#4 of 61 in Kutchan-cho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Niseko Alpen Hotel
Niseko Alpen Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Sekka Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Sekka Suites

Property: J Sekka Suites
Address: 167-3 Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081 , Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 Specialty lodging in Kutchan-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J Sekka Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Rakuten and Agoda so you can book your J Sekka Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Sekka Suites Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing