We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modern hotel, very comfy, some improvements in staff and cleaning needed”
Review of The Vale Niseko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vale Niseko
Certificate of Excellence
madrid
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, modern hotel, very comfy, some improvements in staff and cleaning needed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Altogether I would 100% recommend this hotel/apartment complex. The location is FANTASTIC and the rooms are nicely decorated. We stayed in a "superior room", which was a medium size hotel room with mini kitchenette, the view was dreadful however. It was quite expensive per night, but was very convenient. The onsite onsen was great, there was a decent boot room and facilities. The only small complaint I would have is the cleaning, why can't the bins be emptied every day? Is this a difficult task??... The staff at the front desk although very nice are not that clued up on local features or in fact the mountains which was a bit frustrating.

Room Tip: Non-superior rooms are in the basement! The apartments on the top floor are better located
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madridaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    53
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
85
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment at The Vale in Niseko for 6 nights in Feb 2013. We couldn't rate the place more highly. Staff were very friendly and helpful, room was modern and well equipped, and a perfect size. The Onsen was sensational after a sore day of skiing, both indoor and outdoor plus the sauna. Mandarines and lollies at reception were a nice touch, and the position for ski in, ski out was perfect. We were close to all great restaurants in the Hirafu Village, as well as the mini-supermarket and ski hire. The hotel organised a great Japanese Drumming band for Chinese New Year, which was fun for all. 5 stars - you wont be dissapointed. By the way, the powder snow was ridiculous!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

First of all, there's a lot of shutter bus in the vale. It is very convenient to go anywhere nearby to have meal or even like me, I went to Hanazono for snow mobiling =) In addition, the family ace lift is just next to it, it's as convenience as alpen ridge hotel too. Vale had an underground floor for u to store ur ski equipment, you can go up straight to the family lift.

The bonus is the Onsen of hotel, not every hotel have a hot spring and the Vale had it! which make us very convenient to soak ourselves in the comfortable outdoor and also indoor hot spring after tiring ski! the room is clean up every 2 days. the staff is very friendly, they speak good english. they also provide u international adapter and shoe spikes for free. the staff can help you to book any restaurant and almost solve any of ur doubt or problems.

I had a wonderful stay at the Vale for 6nights. It locate in the middle of Hirafu, so you can go upper restaurant or lower part of restaurant by foot and very near. The seiko mart is just outside of the Vale, if you wanna grab anything you can walk out, take just a minute =) I was satisfied in the whole trip, wonderful <3

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxanneLee1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at the Vale. I've stayed in Niseko before and this was the best place as it is close to the lift and It is great to have friendly staff who can speek English. The reception staff were also very good at recommending and booking dinner reservations. They also were able to book a day of Cat Skiing for me through "NAC". After 3 days of sunshine it was great to have run after run of fresh untracked powder to ski on when Niseko had breifly turned into hard pack. I have no problems recommending people stay at the Vale and I would certainly like to stay there again, however I'd book through NISADE as we had always booked through Travel Plan and were very disappointed with their service. Jeremy

Room Tip: Tell the reception staff what you would like and they'd set you right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Ski in/out, right next to feeder lift. Very modern, good restaurant and bar. Good boot and ski room. Rooms good, plenty storage although some lack of shelves, hooks, draws but if you live out of your bag like most people it doesn't matter. Close to many shops, supermarket, cafes, Niseko has endless great places to eat.

Pretty expensive. The Superior Rooms are on a ground floor with window direct onto the car park, not very private. Try to book a 2 or 3 bedroom apt with friends on the upper floors.

Note this is a building of managed apartments, not a hotel. Switching rooms is not possible, the apartment ownwer has already been paid from your fees. Examine closely which room you are booking, if you care about privacy, view etc. Best views are probably of Mt Yotei to the south, a perfect conical volcano, although all views from upper floors would be ok, Niseko is very scenic.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lowest 2 floors, they look out direct onto car parks and have poor privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What can I say - awesome place to stay and awesome holiday. On arrival we were greeted by 2 cheerful and pleasant reception staff (wi wi and this very pleasant girl from Malaysia). They were wonderful and friendly throughout our stay here. Our room was very clean and self-contained with its own washing machine, dryer, cooking stuff, microwave and everything else you need to feel at home. Our room was cleaned every 2 days and we were very pleased that the water here is potable. This place is truly ski in ski out and the ski lockers are at the basement- just walk out and the Ace Family lift is there. Loved the onsen, especially the outdoor one- after a hard day of boarding on beautiful powder, what better way to relax than to soak in hot natural spring water with snow flakes landing on your face ? This place was also about 100m from the popular minimart and very short distance from all the popular restaurants in Hirafu. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevlee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable and the rooms/apartments are extremely well equipped with all the accoutrements of home should one get a Martha Stewart moment.There is the added advantage of the Vale bar and Grill on site.My one criticism is there are no real public rooms as one would find in European hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calatrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutchan-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Yama Shizen
#3 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#1 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Niseko Onsen
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
AYA Niseko
#14 of 60 in Kutchan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vale Niseko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vale Niseko

Property: The Vale Niseko
Address: 166-9 Yamada, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0081, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 Specialty lodging in Kutchan-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vale Niseko 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vale Niseko is nestled in the heart of Hirafu Village in a prime ski-in, ski-out location. Spacious and luxurious interiors complement fantastic onsite features, including a family-friendly restaurant, natural onsen, heated swimming pool and ski shop. This award-winning hotel is comprised of of 49 apartments with a mix of resort rooms and one, two, and three bedroom apartments - eight of which boast private onsens. A three bedroom Penthouse on the top floor includes a onsen on the heated deck, which offers uninterrupted views of stunning Mt Yotei. The Vale Niseko has become synonymous with luxury in the town of Hirafu, and its exceptional service standards and unbeatable location ensure guests will want for nothing during their visit to powder heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your The Vale Niseko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Niseko Hotel Kutchan-Cho
The Vale Niseko Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing