We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation for family and friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chalets at Country Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chalets at Country Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Great accommodation for family and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked a 4 bedroom chalet but got upgraded to the 5 bedroom chalet. The house is very well funished with very well equipped kitchen. The hot water of the onsen wasnt working tho.
The kettle was not working as well but was quickly replaced by the staff in the morning.
We drove on our own, the closest supermarket is MaxValu and it is located aound 20 min away by car.
The chalet was extremely clean, beds are very comfortable. Staffs are friendly. Had a wonderful stay and definitely will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laucecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Chalets at Country Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed January 2014. We had a 3 bedroom chalet and it was extremely comfortable. Once we worked out how the shuttles worked - never a problem for getting to town for dinner or skiing. Had a great holiday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Chalets at Country Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Country Resort and look forward to your next visit to Niseko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancelin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We loved our 10 days at Chalets at Country Resort, our Chalet, (226 Nagatoro) was spotlessly clean and very well appointed (love the bathroom),
Also impressed with the personalised service, only one small hicup with our lift passes.
The only downside for us, was the shuttle bus closure between 11 and 1. travelling with our kids 10 & 15, would of been good to have more flexability.
Overall though it was a very comfortable and friendly experience.
The Japanese definatly know how to make you feel welcomed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Chalets at Country Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for the feedback Julie and we certainly look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

First trip of 2014 and we had a fabulous time staying at the Chalet at Country Resort. The 8 of us stayed at the Shakotan house for 3 nights and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The houses looked modern and very well-maintained. Kitchen was adequately-equipped for us to stay in and cook simple meals. It snowed non-stop while we were there and there were staff clearing the roads every morning bright and early. The resort is located only a 5 min away drive from the Hirafu village, couldn't have asked for a better location.

Will definitely return here the next time we visit Hokkaido!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vpwwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Chalets at Country Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks vpwwang and we look forward to your next trip out to Hokkaido!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

From the accommodation to the service to the setting, it was outstanding. We secured a 3 bedroom chalet that was just magnificent. It was very comfortable and had all the modern conveniences, was warm and extremely liveable. The chalets a located a very short drive from the centre of the village in a valley setting. Absolutely beautiful. Getting to the ski area and the village is all taken care of by the chalets. They have regular shuttles all day and into the night and it is just a 5 min drive. After a day's skiing it is just the ticket to sit down and enjoy the ride home.

Before arriving we asked for assistance with the coach transfers from Sapporo, lift passes and ski hire. All done and organised by the management of the Chalets - magnificent. Add to this whole experience a staff that were friendly, welcoming and nothing was too much to ask.

This is without question the best holiday experience I have had and it was the staff, service and setting that made it so. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a great snow experience with no fuss. Thanks to the management for making this such a pleasant stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: All chalets are individually designed. They are top quality so there are no particular choices. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Chalets at Country Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you with us, and certainly look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week in one of the 2 bedroom chalets, and had no complaints. Staff was helpful and accessible. Rooms spacious and clean. Our kitchen had the essential amenities to cook meals and all appliances around the chalet looked new and easy to use. The shuttle to gondola is convenient and always picked you up from your chalet; the ride is only 6 minutes. The quiet and cozy home is well worth being away from the slopes. Will def stay again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nishi381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Chalets at Country Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks nishi381 and we look forward to hearing from you about your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is my second time at the Chalets, after being there 4 years ago. I decided to return to the Chalet as it is located in a quiet valley, away from the town's activities and traffic. Although a little out of the way from town, it's just a 5-min drive out and for those without own transportation, the chalet provides shuttle bus service. It's also easy to drive to the supermarket Max-Valu at Kutchan, to stock up on food supplies.

This time round, I had a bigger group of 8 and we booked the Bird Nest. Check-in was once again efficient, and the lady at the reception (I can't remember her name but she's Japanese) was very kind to lead us in her car while we drove over to the chalet, and patiently explained on the usage of all the electrical appliances.

Bird Nest is very spacious with 5 bedroms and is very well equipped. This time round, the stay was much more comfortable than 4 years ago as the bathrooms and their toilet seats were heated very nicely, which was really important especially during this cold season. :)

More importantly, at the Chalet, there are cable channels in English which was a plus point and really important especially for non-Japanese like me, to keep my family members and I entertained if we just decide to relax indoors. Just one channel missing which is the ESPN/English league soccer channel! Perhaps the chalet can consider adding that in..

One other consideration is to upgrade the current washer-cum-dryer especially in the bigger chalet as the current capacity is not big enough, and it took us a long time to dry the jeans using the dryer.

Overall, another very good stay and wished we had spent more days at Niseko and the Chalets.

Thank you all at the Chalets, Happy New Year and see you soon!

cheers

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart C, Manager at The Chalets at Country Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for the review Halo2 and we appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutchan-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 18 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
The Orchards Niseko
#7 of 61 in Kutchan-cho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Niseko Onsen
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#2 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 61 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
The Vale Niseko
#8 of 61 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalets at Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalets at Country Resort

Property: The Chalets at Country Resort
Address: 30-149 Kabayama, Abuta-gun, Kutchan-cho 044-0078, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Kutchan-cho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 Specialty lodging in Kutchan-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chalets at Country Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalets at Country Resort boasts a collection of luxurious, well-appointed two, three, four and five bedroom chalets. Beautifully situated beside the Shiribetsu River on the outskirts of Hirafu Village, the resort serves as an ideal getaway for exciting snow sports during the winter and outdoor activities for summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Rakuten and Travelocity so you can book your The Chalets at Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chalets At Country Hotel Kutchan-Cho
The Chalets At Country Resort Japan/Hokkaido - Kutchan-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing