We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place for lobster”

Auberge de la Vieille Eglise
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Tregastel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Good atmosphere and warm welcome. Service a bit sloppy. Food excellent, especially the lobster. Good choice of wines. If in the area, don't miss it.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 611manfred45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

We visited this restaurant because we heard the seafood was good and weren't disappointed. The gorgeous maitre d' didn't speak much English and we are dismal with French but she explained everything on the menu and in the seafood tank, we all nodded and smiled a lot and we and ended up with a wonderful fresh langoustine and lobster meal.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank MargaretP697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is first-class without being pretentious. Very good value for money, friendly and efficient service.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BrianClapson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch yesterday, a Saturday, 6 adults. Were seated in a lovely, understated elegant decor by the hostess, a lovely lady who proved to be also of great help as an area guide. The food was excellent, local specialties, seafood based mostly but also foiegras and for the vegetarians among us, she created something on the spot. She searched and gave us the time of the tides as well as directions to a park in the area that she recommended.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank portita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had the 39€ menu. The 20cc of comlimentary roast pepper 'gaspacho' and the small savoury pastries were the highlight of the meal. It was downhill thereafter. Oysters and a scallop pastry for starters; oysters you cant mess up and the pastry in a pepper sauce was ok. Main dish of lamb rack was not special. A lobster costing +5€ adder was doused in an inappropriately-rich cream sauce that did nothing for the taste of the lobster, prompting the question 'why did they do that?'. I was so bemused by the fusion of 'roast pineapple with rum and raisin ice that I ordered it to see how they made the flavours match. They did not match and fuse at all. The wine was ok. Does the chef have tastebuds?

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkGM1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge de la Vieille Eglise also viewed

Perros-Guirec, Cotes-d'Armor
Perros-Guirec, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Perros-Guirec, Cotes-d'Armor
Perros-Guirec, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Perros-Guirec, Cotes-d'Armor
Perros-Guirec, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to Auberge de la Vieille Eglise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing