We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time”

Abbaye Saint Pierre
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Moissac
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Abbotsham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have always wondered how these old churches and abbeys were build, bearing in mind having no scaffolding/construction machines etc.. Saint Pierre abbey however is even more mind blowing bearing in mind it was started in 1100 AD.
Firstly the church entrance is incredible in both size and architecture with the church inside magnificent not only as a place to worship but to reflect on how little we humans have progressed in the last 1000 years.
The tourist office at the side of the Abbey is available to answer questions and conduct tours of both church and abbey.
The Cloisters give the impression that nothing has changed and we expected the monks to appear at any moment.
Certainly take the time to visit Moissac and also make a point of seeing the placque by the bridge confirming that the residents of Moissac sheltered 500 jewish children during the war with no one telling.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    70
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
211 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Historic |Gem”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Remarkable architecture in the middle of a lovely town that is well worth a stop over. The tourist information next to the front of the Abbey is very helpful and this has the access to the cloisters, also a brilliant visit. Allow about 2 hours to see all of this.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelTrax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontenay le Comte
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We visited the church and the cloister today after our first visit several years ago. Like many others after seeing Rick's Stein's programmes and his book . We stopped at Moissac and were so pleased to see the beauty and sanctity of these places.
Few people were there which was good as we had time to linger and as we were allowed to take photographs we spent a long time absorbing the atmosphere.

My photographic interest was with the capitals but also the fascinating walls and floors which offered rich picking for something unusual.

The entrance to the cloister is through the Tourist Office and behind that is a car park with I parking space for handicapped people. The alternative was a very steep double staircase which was impossible for either of us.
There were steps to negotiate but there was a handrail. To receive a reduction I had to produce proof which I didn't have with me, so make sure you have yours with you.
It was obvious that I was of reduced mobility but I still didn't receive the reduced price.
A wheelchair was available, again, written proof required.

Virtually next door was the restaurant, 'L'Auberge de la Cloitre' where we had the menu of the day.
Asparagus soup with morelle mushrooms, yum, followed by beef and 7 tiny vegetables.

My husband started with smoked salmon salad followed by chicken a la crème and basil, with the same tiny vegetables. I had the cheese platter and my husband a pear and almond tart.

All the ingredients were of the best and beautifully cooked and served. With two glasses of rose wine the bill was 33 euros.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank valinvendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

As photographers, we loved visiting this Abbey. It was very attractive with the shadows from the colonnade.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley_Peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing history and absolute silence”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I absolutely loved this visit, it is calm, cool and the atmosphere is awesome.

When you have the history of the Abbey and Cloisters one has to be amazed, young children seemed to be equally interested

Plenty of restaurants nearby

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbaye Saint Pierre also viewed

Moissac, Tarn-et-Garonne
Montauban, Tarn-et-Garonne
 
Gramont, Tarn-et-Garonne
 

Been to Abbaye Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing