We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel l'Armateur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel l'Armateur
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Moissac
Certificate of Excellence
Moissac, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The room was large & very comfortable as was the bed & bathroom.
We didn't think we would be able to eat in the beautiful restaurant as there were no vegetarian dishes on the menu but the owners arranged for a delicious meal. The wine (Gaillac) was also exceptional. Very friendly & helpful owners.
The hotel is well situated & beautifully renovated.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
53
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

You have to stay here to appreciate what the owners have put into this hotel. We could not fault it.We had a beautiful room over looking the garden,a large very comfortable bed, a very well stocked bathroom, even with bathrobes, a subtle touch was complementary tea and coffee making facility in the room,there was space everywhere, even in the hallways. the car parking was good and secure.We only wished we hadn't booked to stay on a Sunday, as the restaurant is not open, and we would of liked to have sampled their evening meal, never mind we will make sure we book a week day the next time.

Room Tip: Judging by the whole look of the hotel, I would think all the rooms were good,we had one overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Lovely people welcome you and take great care to see you have everything you need. They speak English. The rooms are big and really spotlessly clean and everything is contemporary. The photo's don't do this place justice-just book in, you will not be disappointed. There is also secure car parking in the back (access is on another road, clearly marked). You'll love this place-and the breakfast is excellent! Fabulous little town that is very enjoyable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Agree with other comments re welcome. We arrived by cycle before the check in time, hoping only to leave our luggage, but were given immediate access to the room. The rear of the property is a large walled area including sunny lawn, pool and parking. We had only booked a streetside room, and worried about noise from the very busy road, but the double glazing was very effective. Room spacious with large and comfortable bed, but surprised that no chairs provided - just one stool.
Restaurant good, and clearly popular with local non-residents. Breakfast depends on your taste - coffee from machine, whereas I prefer in pot.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathematica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for just one night, but very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very bright, white, contemporary, and very large for European standard. The bathroom was large, and very nice. The only complaint is that the hand-held shower nozzle did not have a holder above your head, which means you have to hold it in your hand and shower with your other hand. Not a big deal, but easily remedied!

Wonderful parking, easy access. The breakfast was especially good for France. Breads, yogurt, hard or soft-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, dried fruit, and a wonderful espresso maker.

The owners were very welcoming, and the nice woman (embarrassed I don't know her name!) spoke excellent English.

Oh, make sure you get the code for the door of the hotel if you will be out past 10. We forgot to get it, and had to stand outside and hope someone would be nice enough to let us in!

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I can only reinforce the positive review by Witney 162.
We were made to feel welcome from the minute we parked our car, even though we arrived a day earlier than expected!
The standard of our room and bathroom was excellent, spacious, and spotlessly clean.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food and service were both very good.
We would definitely stay at L'Armateur again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelnaudary, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I found L'Armateur on booking.com and as it was my third visit to Moissac within a few months, I decided to try it as other hotels had not reached the standard to make me want to come back. This one did.

From the street, this hotel is very deceptive. It does not stand out from the other buildings and you could miss it altogether, but don't let that fool you. As soon as you enter, there is evidence that a lot of tender loving care has gone into the whole enterprise. It could be classed as a designer hotel. It is immaculate, newly refurbished and is run by the most welcoming of hoteliers I have ever experienced in France. I truly felt welcome, even being more impressed by the owner remembering my name during the dinner service.

My room was 'street side' but you can overlook the rear garden for an additional fee. It was spotless. I have never seen a hotel room where there was such a professional finish, from the electronic blinds, to the hanging bathrobes in the white tiled bathroom. Air conditioning and a wall mounted plasma tv with satellite channels finished it off nicely. There is the sound of passing cars outside, but the double glazing eradicated most of the noise, allowing a lovely night's sleep.

I chose to eat out on the rear patio, which has a small swimming pool next to it. The setting sun made such a lovely atmosphere and the food was delicious. I also tried a local that went down well. The evening's entertainment was provided by a remote robot lawn mower that all of the guests could not stop watching!

There were occasions when local diners had to be turned away, reinforcing the popularity of the restaurant (which is closed on a Sunday evening). It is slightly more expensive than its local peers, but in my opinion well worth it.

Were there any down sides? Well if the shower holder being a little low is all you could throw an observation at, you must be in one of the best establishments on offer in Moissac!

My business concluded earlier than expected in the town and I had reluctantly to cut my visit here to just two nights. That was the only down side to my stay in this very professionally run and absolutely charming yet modern hotel.

Merci Madame!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear garden are quieter than the front, but it's not a show stopper as dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Witney162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moissac
0.2 mi away
Le Moulin de Moissac
Le Moulin de Moissac
#1 of 8 in Moissac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Chapon Fin
Hotel le Chapon Fin
#4 of 8 in Moissac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.6 mi away
Logis des Cretes de Pignols
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Luxembourg Hotel
Le Luxembourg Hotel
#6 of 8 in Moissac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#1 of 2 in Lauzerte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
14.4 mi away
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Armateur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Armateur

Property: Hotel l'Armateur
Address: 22 rue du Pont, 82200 Moissac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Moissac
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Moissac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Armateur 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel l'Armateur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing