We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't...Never...”
Review of Hotel Victor Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Victor Hugo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clamart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Please don't...Never...”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've stayed 4 days. Outside temperature was 10°C but central heating was not working for 3 days. At the end of third day receptionist was almost fighting with me due to I asked for central heating. He told me that "it is not his problem". I still could not believe this. please do not stay in this hotel. The hotel has 3 floors and no elevator. You have to carry your luggage via narrow stairs with difficulty. Breakfast was given in a small cave that you can not move so we never had breakfast in the hotel. The room was not clean. The towels were yellow instead of white. It was totally disappointment. Please find another place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cagatay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    12
    13
    18
See reviews for
5
31
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel won the award, in my book, as the worst hotel I have ever been to in my life! And, I have traveled extensively for both pleasure and business. The hotel was DISGUSTING. From the carpet to the walls to everywhere my eyes had the misfortune of looking. In addition, we were a couple placed in a room that should have been for 1 person (pour soul). The two twin beds thrown into the room made the room impossibly small and unbearable. The bathroom door only opened a quarter way (if that) before it hit the bed and on the other side of the bed, you had to walk sideways down the length of the bed between it and the wall. Two people could NOT walk in the room at the same time. They are smart - PAY UP FRONT because if you have the opportunity to see the room first, you will flee. BTW, the location is in a miserable little town with wretched people 20 minutes outside of Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clamart hotels

Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The staff as have been mentioned before are very friendly, and I'm sure that even if I tried, I would find no fault with them.

However, I would rate this hotel a zero if I could.

Technically, sure, it has 2 stars (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotel_rating) and it does fulfill the criteria which are:

- Breakfast buffet
- Reading light next to the bed
- Bath essence or shower gel
- Bath towels
- Linen shelves
- Offer of sanitary products (e.g. toothbrush, toothpaste, shaving kit)
- Credit Cards

I would say this.

1. Walking up the stairs made me pray no one would be walking on them during the night.
2. The peeling paintwork in the room seemed to be 'standard' throughout the hotel.
3. The almighty stench of rose toilet spray throughout the hotel room is overpowering.
4. The bath itself is half size. What is the point in a bath if I can't lie inside it.
5. The shower head has no hook to be hung on
6. The bath shower, has no shower curtain
7. The toilet brush is brown-ish.

Oh, and no significant cafe's in the local area. Heading out for a bite? Go to central paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in this particular hotel last week on a 5 day trip to Paris. We booked last minute via laterooms.com as a back up plan to previous arrangements. I was a bit worried as it was the cheapest option in and around Paris, but it was honestly fine for putting your head down for a few hours each night. The room was clean and the bed really comfy, good storage, nice tv, fresh towels, kettle and a very hot and powerful shower (the shower had no curtain, but the shower was so amazing it was not worth complaining about). Hotel Victor Hugo is also very accessible from Paris city centre approx. 5 miles and is served by Clamart station on the Transilien Paris – Montparnasse suburban rail line. The train station is a short walk from the hotel with a market, supermarket, pharmacy and good restaurants all in the neighbourhood. Friendly staff also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candystevo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The best part of staying here was the staff. They were very friendly. I don't have anything else positive to say about the hotel. The room we stayed in had cheap decor. You walk into the bathroom and there is mild all over the bathtub. There was a huge hole in the side of the bathtub and hair on the floor. The best part was trying to shower, it wasn't even a shower, you had to hold the detachable shower head to wash yourself and there was no where to attach it too! While you were taking a "shower" you had to make sure not to get any water on the floor becAuse there was no shower curtain either!
I am not a very picky person when it comes to places I stay, but there could of been a lot of very little things thought could of made my experience here a lot better. All this room needed was some TLC and it would of been great! But as for coming back to this hotel, that will not Be happening.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steiermark, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very nice hotel with excellent and friendly young staff. Little bit far away from center of Paris but public transportation is compensating this lack. Very cleaned hotel rooms with WiFi which is working on first floor rooms (not only in hotel lobby like is mentioned in hotel offer). Good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dejan821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Can't really rate the hotel in terms of a place to stay as we decided against staying here. We booked this hotel for 2 nights after searching on Easy To Book, 'Paris' hotels. We only wanted somewhere cheap to stay as we'd barely be in the hotel apart from to sleep. To our horror, we got in a taxi and ended up 45 minutes outside of the city centre! This was not made clear and is a complete joke that they can advertise as a 'Paris' hotel - it's in Clamart, miles away from anywhere. So, ultimately we had to pay off one night and booked another hotel in central Paris.
A bad start to what turned out to be an excellent trip. Do not stay here if you want to see Paris!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
6 Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clamart
Hotel Du Trosy
#2 of 5 in Clamart
83 reviews
Trocadero
Hotel Victor Hugo Paris Kleber
ibis budget Chatillon
#1 of 2 in Chatillon
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Paris Chatillon
#2 of 2 in Chatillon
96 reviews
La Breche du Bois
#1 of 5 in Clamart
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Hugo

Property: Hotel Victor Hugo
Address: 166 avenue Victor Hugo, 92140 Clamart, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Clamart
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clamart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Hugo 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victor Hugo welcomes you in Clamart. It situated in an ideal location, allowing you to easily get to Paris, located 10 minutes by car or train. Peaceful, its 31 rooms all feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi and tea / coffee. Every morning you can start the day with a delicious breakfast, which is served buffet style in the dining room, decorated in earthy tones. We speak your language ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing