We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Murgavets Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Pamporovo
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Having read several reviews of the hotel, our family were a bit daunted, however we were very happily suprised at the overall experience. The Hotel was good as was the rooms, the staff and the facilities. The food was good and always plenty of it. I do get fed up with people who expect a 5* hotel and pay minimum prices. Get a life. This is not a top French resort and it reflects in the prices. Its an affordable holiday with good skiing for intermediates. Ideal for a family. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: We were first placed in the front rooms, however car noise and barking dogs were annoying. Not a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralphi669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

After reading the tripadvisor reports was worried about this trip as booked it blind with crystal ski direct at a snow centre in UK.
Anyway was pleasantly surprised,staff friendly,accommodating and professional.
Room big,clean,warm,towels fluffy and nothing was a problem when asking for it.
I asked if could have a kettle in the room and one appeared the next day(if you don't ask you don't get).
The pool a good bonus,tried the massages excellent but very busy so did have to go to another hotel one day but no big deal.
Food always a good selection where ever we ate the food was served below the UK serving temperature so there is a microwave should you need it hotter.....it wasn't a problem.
Transport to and from the slopes efficient.
Skiing very good for beginners and novices.
All in all this was exceptional value for the price paid.
View from cafe at the top of hotel superb!

Room Tip: We stayed second floor no noise,corner room little balcony front of street good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovelyLady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in an appartment with two small kids who enjoyed their separate living space. The master bedroom is spacious with very comfy and large bed. Room is cleaned every day.Good view of the mountain from the room. Pool,sauna and fitness room are great. Food laks variety and sometimes quantity if the hotel is full, but the quality is ok. I would come back again for sure. One settback was the thefts that happened in several rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you're a group of youngsters that aren't expecting the ritz, come to this hotel!!! I went with 3 mates (all of us ages 18-20) between 12th and 19th January 2013 and we had more than enough to keep us occupied at the hotel!!

This hotel is right in the middle of where everything happens at night, and a 2 minute shuttle bus ride to the slopes.

In the hotel there's two lovely little bars (both really well priced) and we even had our own night club downstairs!! As well as that there's a really nice spa area with a great pool, sauna, steam room, gym and several massage rooms where you can go after a strenuous day on the slopes, and a crazy little casino downstairs which seemed to open all of the time (a perfect place to have your first beer of the night!)

I found before we went, all the reviews on here were written by snooty middle agers who just shouldn't have booked a package holiday in the first place!! If you're a group of guys or girls that just want a fun week, with guaranteed great snow (the resort is pretty high up), lots of cheap drinks, and to meet some new people.. COME HERE!!! Everyone is so friendly and I couldn't recommend it more.

Last couple of things:
-We all took £400 spending money (about 900 'Lev') and had more than enough for drinks, meals out, presents to take back.
-If you're in a downstairs room... BEWARE OF THE CATS IN THE CEILING!!! (they made our holiday!!)

Room Tip: Me and my friends were in rooms 105 & 106, two seconds from reception/entrance/bar/restaurant, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EdThomas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Overall is not so bad but deffenetly is not the best choice for the money in Pamporovo. The staff is not very friendly especially for Sharlopov hotel. The breakfast wasn't good - horrible milk and no fruits. The sauna is too small for this big hotel, the steaming bath wasn't working. The ski shuttle bus is not coming on time. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours. The heating system is not working all the time and if you turn it off during the day you can be in situation where your room cannot be warmed.
There is no space where you can put your ski equipment. And the lifts are too slow it's better to use the stairs.
Something good - the room was clean and there were plenty of towels.
This is not 4* hotel even in Bulgaria.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleonoraet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just come back - Early Jan 2013 - I thought I would write this to help others out. Pamps is a cash only resort (we were not informed this!) luckily there are cash machines around so we topped up early. The Hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful, no reservations here. Rooms clean and tidy. Some days the heating wasn't on early enough, and since the wife was not ski-ing when she stayed in the hotel this was a small issue, but the rooms were NOT cold. FOOD - This was probably the most disappointing part. The food wasn't bad just not to Eastern Euro tastes I would say, not a great variety. The plates were always cold, unless they had just been returned from the washing! so this is why the food would go cold quick, it was not cold when it hits your plate. Since we were half board we intended to stock up at breaky and fill up at night, as it turned out I spent 100Lev most days (5 of us) at the top of the mountain - EXCELLENT food enjoyed by all the family up there. This became our routine. One other thing to note if your taking a younger one, the buses to the Ski centre only run from 0830 to 1100, then start again at 1500 to 1630. My little 9 year old had had enough after a few hours sking, so once we had had our lunch at the top she wanted to get back to the lovely pool. Taxis were around 15lev. As mentioned, the pool was excellent, and warm, the jacuzzi was hot, just what you needed after a days ski-ing, the sauna was hot, but gets full after 1600, the steam room was never on! All in all, our first Ski-ing holiday was for the price very good - would definetly go back, just alter a few things knowing the above. O, yes, the 4 hour bus journey an't great, but you do stop at a McDonalds half way!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d1bbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went at the start of february with 2012, it was absolutely hurrendous. Food was disgusting, beds were uncomfy, shower rail broke, bed broke, heating broke, a cat fell through the ceiling in one of my friends rooms in the middle of the night! The skiing itself was great but would never stay here again, i do not reccomend it. I also lost so much weight do to hardly eating all weekd as there was no nice food!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamporovo hotels
0.0 mi away
Dafovska Hotel
Dafovska Hotel
#5 of 32 in Pamporovo
45 reviews
30.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Kamelia
Apart Hotel Kamelia
#3 of 32 in Pamporovo
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orlovetz Hotel
Orlovetz Hotel
#2 of 32 in Pamporovo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Snezhanka Apartments TMF
Snezhanka Apartments TMF
#1 of 32 in Pamporovo
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orpheus Hotel
Orpheus Hotel
#17 of 32 in Pamporovo
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stream Resort
The Stream Resort
#15 of 32 in Pamporovo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Murgavets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Murgavets Hotel

Address: Pamporovo Resort, Pamporovo 4870, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Smolyan Province > Pamporovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pamporovo
#7 Spa Hotel in Pamporovo
Price Range: $45 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Murgavets Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Murgavets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pamporovo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing