We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't all too Impressed”
Review of Dafovska Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dafovska Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Pamporovo
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Myself and my younger sister stayed here for a sking holiday March 2012.
The rooms yes were ok, comfortable get what you pay for,
We were the only English people in the hotel at the time of staying, and felt like a complete burdon on the staff the whole time we were there. The food was not very good at all, at breakfast the most we could manage was toast, and our evening meal wasnt much better Mystery meat we called it because even the staff couldnt tell s what it was. The chips were good tho. I certainly wasnt impressed to find that you didnt even get a free glass off water with your evening meal.
Severe lack of facilities in the hotel, I certainly would not be returning to this hotel, Pamporovo Resort i would return to the resort was really nice. Chanov 2 Bar just down from the hotel was fantastic, we semed to spend every night eating and drinking down there cheap too.

Overall we had a fantastic sking holiday, it was just a shame about the hotel. Poor and rude staff, and lack of choice with food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 45 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor ratings and on the whole we weren't disappointed - you get what you pay for which is a small room, bed is comfortable enough, it is kept very clean and fine if you don't intend to spend too much time in it. We were, however, not impressed with the food, it is well below the standard provided elsewhere within the town(think school dinners in the same environment) and would highly recommend going B&B if you want to stay here.

Room Tip: For great views get a room at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrap001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Need I say anything more than the title suggests??

Myself and 3 friends stayed here between 18/02/2012 & 25/02/2012

OK, the hotel is basic with no frills, except a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and masseuse, but it was warm and functional.

For the amount of time spent in the hotel, who needs anything more than some food, a beer and a bed to sleep in? Dafovska has this plus more!

I'm also confused regarding the comments above about food - the food was great. OK, we had sausage and egg everyday for breakfast - and when I say egg I mean egg as many ways as you can think of: boiled, fried, scrambled, eggy bread..the lot! Accompanied with frankfurter/hot dog style sausage and a pepperoni type too, but this was merely through choice, as they also served cereals, porridge, bread/toast with cheese/sausage, pancakes, salad etc. We ate like Kings!

There was always plenty of breakfast to go around and we even covertly made ourselves sandwiches to take with us onto the piste. There are also two shops right near which sell other food.

We were half-board and the dinner was even better! There was always plenty of it and a massive array of choice. We had a 3 course meal every night, sometimes returning for a second helping on one or two of the courses. The food consisted of two types of soup to start, with either potato, cabbage, mixed veg, rice, meat loaf, chicken, turkey, pork, sausages(!) etc for the main meal or there was a vast choice of salads. All finished of with great cakes, jellies & blamange.

For the price we paid, we had a great stay in Pamporovo and at Dafovska - I couldn't recommend it enough. The only thing the town lacked was entertainment in the evening, but with a few bars and awesome friends, we made our own entertainment. I'm also sure that the bed sheets were not changed all week, but then I only change my sheets at home every week or so. So not really a complaint.

All in all, a great week was had by all. I wish I was still there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

we spent 1 week from 4th feb. It was are 2nd visit and still as good. Rooms overlook the mountain, but some rooms have no balcony we were on the 2nd floor. Are beds were two singles put together, my bed nice and cosy, husbands was a bit hard but he got use to it. Bathroom had bath and over bath shower with plenty of hot water and heated towel rail.
mini bar in fridge but was empty, but great for keeping drinks cold. we took a travel kettle and there was a plug socket next to each bed,but would be nice to have had bed side lamps.
Plenty of space for clothes and hooks by door to hang ski wear.
The hotel had no ski storage, but we left ours at the slopes at cost of 30 lev for the week.
Meals at the hotel were adequate always something to eat, there was a microwave to warm food if you felt it was to cool. Notice on previous review that food was not replenished, this was not the case when we were there, food was restocked and food was local dishes, we have stayed in several hotels in resort and found this hotels food better than others.
The bar area had limited seating but adequate for the number of guest and wifi is available in lobby bar free. The drinks were cheap a local draft pint 2.50 lev, vodka and lemonade 3.80 lev and a brandy local 2lev, but this was a nice blend.
The hotel is situated in the heart of the town within walking distance of local bars and restrurants. The local transport to the slopes has change since are last visit, the bus picks you up from outside the Snezhanka but you need to collect tickets from hotel reception to give to the bus driver, get two person one there and back.
The resort itself has changed since last visit with a few bars closed, ie BJs in the perilick hotel, the white hart and one of the local resturants not sure of the name but by the murgervets hotel. There is however two supermarkets to stock up on nibbles and have other basic provisions if self catering
The ski resort is great for beginners and families and with the new six man chair lift open gives intermediates more options and the ski conditions at present are excellent.
overall i would stay at this hotel again, as it is friendly, comfortable, great value for money and it is run by a lovelly family and group of staff who are more than happy to sit and chat if you want to.

Room Tip: go for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacksonMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Spent a week here from 21st Jan 2012. Great for a 3 star, clean, comfortable warm rooms. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful but dining room small and often busy as you must get down there to eat when breakfast and dinner opens as they do not replenish food. Choices are OK if you are amongst the first down if not there is often barely anything there. We ended up eating out for the last three nights but even for breakfast there were lean pickings.
Good hotel for the price but if you are fussy about food don't bother.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We are very pleased from our 7-days stay in the hotel. The rooms are warm, the staff is friendly. I think that this hotel offers the best balance service-price or in other way said here you received good service for best price. The food is delicious, every day we had 6 warm dishes, good choice of different meats- chiken, pork or typical serbian bbq. My son was very pleased with the soups. There is free bus to the ski runs. You can enjoy sauna, massage and steam bath. We've been staying in this hotel for third time and for sure we will return here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaskoPetkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I spent a week at the Dafovska 7th Jan-14th 2012. It was a skiing holiday with my brother, boyfriend and Dad. Upon entering the hotel we were pleased, better than we expected for a three star, nice clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff; first impressions were that it was a cosy hotel- somewhere we would be comfortable. However the only aspect of this hotel which let it down was our first morning we walked into the tiniest dining room I have ever seen in a hotel with a selection of about 6 warm items for breakfast. The dining room was that small and cramped that we didnt have anywhere to sit to eat our breakfast which we were very disappointed with, we had to wait for others to finish so that we could sit down!! The 6 warm choices continued through Breakfast and evening meals through the week as went half board! My advice would be go self-catering and you will be generally pleased with your stay.

Room Tip: We were in room number 102 if i remeber right! Right next to reception and next door to the lift! Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamporovo hotels
0 mi away
Orlovetz Hotel
Orlovetz Hotel
#2 of 33 in Pamporovo
176 reviews
0 mi away
Complex The Castle Pamporovo
Complex The Castle Pamporovo
#16 of 33 in Pamporovo
37 reviews
0 mi away
The Stream Resort
The Stream Resort
#17 of 33 in Pamporovo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Kamelia
Apart Hotel Kamelia
#4 of 33 in Pamporovo
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snezhanka Apartments TMF
Snezhanka Apartments TMF
#1 of 33 in Pamporovo
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Stenata
Apart Hotel Stenata
#9 of 33 in Pamporovo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dafovska Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dafovska Hotel

Address: Pamporovo Resort, Pamporovo 4870, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Smolyan Province > Pamporovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Pamporovo
Price Range: $33 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dafovska Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dafovska Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing