We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Snezhanka Apartments TMF(Pamporovo)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$37
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apart Hotel Stenata(Pamporovo)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Dafovska Hotel(Pamporovo)(Great Value!)
$29
$28
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Life Family Apartments(Pamporovo)(Great Value!)
$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apart Hotel Kamelia(Pamporovo)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amampuri Village(Pamporovo)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
8
11
4
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
11
4
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 31 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2011

hotel is lovely all the facilities as lovely the spa, swimming pool, bars yes the bowling is expensive and there is noonein there but after a days skiing who wants to go bowling. the food is ok breakfast is lovely evening meal is not great but its ediable andtheresort is cheap enough to eat out some nights. The location is fine there isa bus provided to and from the slopes and a taxi or bus to go to the town on a night is cheap enough. we did walk on day but it is a little too far. Altogetherwould stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HODGSONPEACOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Now... where to start.

I never write hotel reviews usually, however just I want to let you know about this hotel to pre-warn you if you are going here.

I'll start with the positives of this "4* hotel".

1) The rooms are of an ample size and fitted 2 fully grown men easily. They were cleaned daily and they even folded up clothes that were on the floor - My friends clothes, not mine! ... honest...
2) They had some decent amenities - Spa, Swimming Pool, Gym, Bowling Alley, Shop, Night Club.
That is where it ends...

The bowling was 12 Lv per person, per game. Which worked out to be £6 per person per game. When I went down there, there was no one else in the bowling alley and they wouldn't give us any sort of deal to satisfy the customer.

There was a night bar attached to the basement and would stay open until 4am. As this was the case, i wouldn't recommend t his hotel for any families as even though I was staying on the 4th floor, i could still hear the bass from the speakers from the club in the basement... The drinks were more expensive in the basement bar than the upstairs bar, even though it was the same establishment - that makes no sense to me... The bar was decorated like Peter Stringfellows living room... red faux leather block sofas and checky black and red plastic floor tiles - some of these tiles were missing. Classy!

This brings me onto the matter of food (hence the title of this review). It didn't matter what meal they were cooking, breakfast or dinner, there was always some sort of Egg and feta cheese on offer. One evening there was something which looked like deep fried fish, only to be opened and discover it to be deep fried red pepper !!! A lot of the other guests ate toast for breakfast and dinner.

The staff were boardering on rude and would not do anything for their guests. Not once were we offered a drink with our dinner - you had to take your own or order one as they closed the tea, coffee and water machine, thus making you buy drinks.

On checking out my friend and I were charged for drinks from the mini bar. These were actually taken out by the previous guests to us and the signatures from the bill were nothing like ours. When we explained that the receipt was printed a day before we touched down in Bulgaria, they still did not believe us.

The next thing I want to talk about is the location of the hotel. Whilst it was very picturesque, with it being in the woods, It was easily too far to walk into 'town'. And a taxi would cost upwards of 15 Lv.

To summarise, this is not a decent hotel, in not a decent location in a not very decent resort.

I hope you find this useful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy_Gentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

First of all, I am always a little sceptical about peoples opinions of hotels and holidays as a lot of the time I find that the reviews can be a little on the harsh side. For this hotel the negative comments couldn't be more true.

Now, the cleanliness is overall very good, and the rooms are cleaned very well on a daily basis. There are facilities at the hotel, such as a late bar, bowling alley, shop, and spa area - none which are cheap but serve a purpose if you don't mind spending money at the hotel. Unfortunately that is where the positive points end.

The two main problems are the location, and standard of food. For a hotel that bills itself as a 4* establishment, the choice and quality of the food is a disgrace and found myself eating toast for the majority of the stay, as luke warm meat (no idea what most of it was) is not my idea of an appetising meal. To add to this, the water urn, and tea and coffee machines are switched off at dinner time, meaning you have to buy not so cheap drinks if you want to wash down the disgusting food quickly. And to add insult to injury the waiters rarely ask if you want a drink with your meal.

Now you are probably thinking, why don't you just eat somewhere else - well the hotel is in a very secluded location meaning that local taxi drivers will take advantage of foreign visitors and will cost you as much as 20 lev to get into town. If you barter you can get it as cheap as 10 lev, but it gets expensive if you want to keep going into town. It is not walkable.

The hotel mini bus will take you into town for a fee, and the reception staff will ask which tour operator you travel with before telling you the price. I guess they do this so they can charge you depending on which country you are from.

Most of the reception staff, apart from a couple were very unhelpful and I was afraid their faces may crack if they smiled. If you had to spend any length of time in the hotel due to bad snow conditions (which was the case for us) be prepared to spend to keep yourself fed, watered and entertained.

So to summarise, don't stay at this hotel. Although Pamporovo is very small there is a nice part down by the Hotel Mourgavets with a few bars and restraunts. The White Hart bar is especially good both for food and entertainment so my advice would be to stay in that area. That way you can avoid the rip off taxi drivers, and give yourself a choice of eating establishments if your hotel food is not up to scratch.

Hope this review at least saves some poor souls from experiencing the Belmont. From somebody who is somewhat of a sceptic on internet hotel reviews, be warned - most of these reviews are spot on!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny_beee_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

OK where to start.....

I'll not dwell too much on the negatives so here are the good parts;

Hotel bowling alley is good if a little expensive
The rooms are clean and made up daily
and I'm struggling to add anything else i really am.

Now for the negatives;

First off and worst of all is the food, this you would genuinely not even feed to dogs. None of the food served throughout our entire stay has been remotely warm or even edible this includes any unidentified meats that may be being served. If you like cold eggs you'll be in your element everything and i mean everything seems to be mostly made up of eggs. There is very little selection no fresh fruit and all drinks are extra and not very cheap e.g. £1.50 for a 250 ml bottle of coke. Fortunately there is a toaster which the majority of guest seemed to be using. As soon as meal times are over you cant even get water for free.This would not be a problem if you could get to the only supermarket in town easily but you cant, this brings me on to negative point 2 and 3;

The hotel is the furthest from town which would be o2 if the taxis didn't try to rip you off whenever possible. The trip into town is only 5 mins in a taxi and will cost you 20 lev roughly £10. On one occasion we met a few guys going into town who were getting into a mini bus we asked them if we could jump in with them which they were fine with. The hotel receptionist did not like this at all and told us we could not do that, i pointed out it was a mini bus with 7 free spaces in it and the guys who hired it didn't mind. At this she got quite irate and to avoid conflict we got into a separate taxi and paid full price. The worst thing about this is the mini bus was the hotels! great way to treat your guests. The taxi we took would not stop at the restaurant we wanted because it was too close to the police station!

As others have said the majority of the staff in the hotel are very unfriendly most will stare blankly at you if you say hello and the majority of the receptionists seemed very unwilling/unable to assist if you have a question about something.

The facilities in the hotel are ok the pool is clean but really cold, the Jacuzzi is connected to this so is also really cold and has maybe 2 working jets. Everything else bowling, club and spa are quite expensive but that is expected in a cough cough 4 star hotel. During our stay the conditions were not great for skiing snow boarding which obviously is no fault of the hotel but due to the poor conditions we took 2 rest days instead of 1 there is very little entertainment in the hotel (unless you are a local) and only 3 English channels on the TV. There is nothing to see or do in town either the main section of which you could walk from end to end in maybe 2-4 mins.

Drinks are massively expensive compared to the town which in some bars you can get 4 beers for the price of 1 in the hotel. In the town the entertainment was great and people seemed much friendlier. Once your in town negotiate a price for your taxi before you leave you shouldn't pay more then 15 lev if its really late and 10 if its during the day.

So to surmise if your coming to Pamporovo don't stay here its over priced, terrible food, bad location and most off the staff talk to you like your an inconvenience not a guest.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie_Diesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for a week with a group of friends. Now I am aware that the Bulgarian way is not to be over friendly or even to smile much but the reception staff at this hotel were the most rude, unfriendly and unhelpful staff I have ever met. Take for example a game of pool in the hotel lobby. €7 for half an hour - extremely expensive to begin with but nevertheless - we were in the middle of a game when the half an hour was up and the receptionist walked back and forward past glaring at us in a most unprofessional manner - there was noone else in the hotel!!!! demand on the ques was not high - what was the panic?? at 36mins she came over demanding the ques back even though the rest of the party were sitting drinking in the bar - get your priorities right, we went up the town after that. Also, the food is horrible.. the cuts of meat which you are given - well we didnt know what we were eating half the time!!! Everything is luke warm. However what really got to me was on the Suday night when we arrived there seemed to be a large party of Bulgarian guests in the hotel resturant where dinner was served - on this night the selection of food on offer was vast and varied - carbonara,breaded chicken,pizza slices,salads,beef.. however the next night when just the packages tourists were left it was back to the gruel. The spa in the hotel is nice, quite expensive but at least the staff are nice. It was such a pleasure to see someone smile!! The hotel is far away from the main resort maybe around 15mins by bus with a crazy driver. Snow in Bulgaria was great though and slopes are great for beginners.. look elsewhere for a hotel though! Orlovtz is right in centre and looks nice also heard good reports both Pomporova Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EilIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews