We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$31
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snezhanka Apartments TMF(Pamporovo)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Green Life Family Apartments(Pamporovo)(Great Value!)
$21
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Boriki Complex(Pamporovo)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amampuri Village(Pamporovo)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apart Hotel Kamelia(Pamporovo)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
8
11
4
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
11
4
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 31 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2011

First of all, I am always a little sceptical about peoples opinions of hotels and holidays as a lot of the time I find that the reviews can be a little on the harsh side. For this hotel the negative comments couldn't be more true.

Now, the cleanliness is overall very good, and the rooms are cleaned very well on a daily basis. There are facilities at the hotel, such as a late bar, bowling alley, shop, and spa area - none which are cheap but serve a purpose if you don't mind spending money at the hotel. Unfortunately that is where the positive points end.

The two main problems are the location, and standard of food. For a hotel that bills itself as a 4* establishment, the choice and quality of the food is a disgrace and found myself eating toast for the majority of the stay, as luke warm meat (no idea what most of it was) is not my idea of an appetising meal. To add to this, the water urn, and tea and coffee machines are switched off at dinner time, meaning you have to buy not so cheap drinks if you want to wash down the disgusting food quickly. And to add insult to injury the waiters rarely ask if you want a drink with your meal.

Now you are probably thinking, why don't you just eat somewhere else - well the hotel is in a very secluded location meaning that local taxi drivers will take advantage of foreign visitors and will cost you as much as 20 lev to get into town. If you barter you can get it as cheap as 10 lev, but it gets expensive if you want to keep going into town. It is not walkable.

The hotel mini bus will take you into town for a fee, and the reception staff will ask which tour operator you travel with before telling you the price. I guess they do this so they can charge you depending on which country you are from.

Most of the reception staff, apart from a couple were very unhelpful and I was afraid their faces may crack if they smiled. If you had to spend any length of time in the hotel due to bad snow conditions (which was the case for us) be prepared to spend to keep yourself fed, watered and entertained.

So to summarise, don't stay at this hotel. Although Pamporovo is very small there is a nice part down by the Hotel Mourgavets with a few bars and restraunts. The White Hart bar is especially good both for food and entertainment so my advice would be to stay in that area. That way you can avoid the rip off taxi drivers, and give yourself a choice of eating establishments if your hotel food is not up to scratch.

Hope this review at least saves some poor souls from experiencing the Belmont. From somebody who is somewhat of a sceptic on internet hotel reviews, be warned - most of these reviews are spot on!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny_beee_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

OK where to start.....

I'll not dwell too much on the negatives so here are the good parts;

Hotel bowling alley is good if a little expensive
The rooms are clean and made up daily
and I'm struggling to add anything else i really am.

Now for the negatives;

First off and worst of all is the food, this you would genuinely not even feed to dogs. None of the food served throughout our entire stay has been remotely warm or even edible this includes any unidentified meats that may be being served. If you like cold eggs you'll be in your element everything and i mean everything seems to be mostly made up of eggs. There is very little selection no fresh fruit and all drinks are extra and not very cheap e.g. £1.50 for a 250 ml bottle of coke. Fortunately there is a toaster which the majority of guest seemed to be using. As soon as meal times are over you cant even get water for free.This would not be a problem if you could get to the only supermarket in town easily but you cant, this brings me on to negative point 2 and 3;

The hotel is the furthest from town which would be o2 if the taxis didn't try to rip you off whenever possible. The trip into town is only 5 mins in a taxi and will cost you 20 lev roughly £10. On one occasion we met a few guys going into town who were getting into a mini bus we asked them if we could jump in with them which they were fine with. The hotel receptionist did not like this at all and told us we could not do that, i pointed out it was a mini bus with 7 free spaces in it and the guys who hired it didn't mind. At this she got quite irate and to avoid conflict we got into a separate taxi and paid full price. The worst thing about this is the mini bus was the hotels! great way to treat your guests. The taxi we took would not stop at the restaurant we wanted because it was too close to the police station!

As others have said the majority of the staff in the hotel are very unfriendly most will stare blankly at you if you say hello and the majority of the receptionists seemed very unwilling/unable to assist if you have a question about something.

The facilities in the hotel are ok the pool is clean but really cold, the Jacuzzi is connected to this so is also really cold and has maybe 2 working jets. Everything else bowling, club and spa are quite expensive but that is expected in a cough cough 4 star hotel. During our stay the conditions were not great for skiing snow boarding which obviously is no fault of the hotel but due to the poor conditions we took 2 rest days instead of 1 there is very little entertainment in the hotel (unless you are a local) and only 3 English channels on the TV. There is nothing to see or do in town either the main section of which you could walk from end to end in maybe 2-4 mins.

Drinks are massively expensive compared to the town which in some bars you can get 4 beers for the price of 1 in the hotel. In the town the entertainment was great and people seemed much friendlier. Once your in town negotiate a price for your taxi before you leave you shouldn't pay more then 15 lev if its really late and 10 if its during the day.

So to surmise if your coming to Pamporovo don't stay here its over priced, terrible food, bad location and most off the staff talk to you like your an inconvenience not a guest.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie_Diesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for a week with a group of friends. Now I am aware that the Bulgarian way is not to be over friendly or even to smile much but the reception staff at this hotel were the most rude, unfriendly and unhelpful staff I have ever met. Take for example a game of pool in the hotel lobby. €7 for half an hour - extremely expensive to begin with but nevertheless - we were in the middle of a game when the half an hour was up and the receptionist walked back and forward past glaring at us in a most unprofessional manner - there was noone else in the hotel!!!! demand on the ques was not high - what was the panic?? at 36mins she came over demanding the ques back even though the rest of the party were sitting drinking in the bar - get your priorities right, we went up the town after that. Also, the food is horrible.. the cuts of meat which you are given - well we didnt know what we were eating half the time!!! Everything is luke warm. However what really got to me was on the Suday night when we arrived there seemed to be a large party of Bulgarian guests in the hotel resturant where dinner was served - on this night the selection of food on offer was vast and varied - carbonara,breaded chicken,pizza slices,salads,beef.. however the next night when just the packages tourists were left it was back to the gruel. The spa in the hotel is nice, quite expensive but at least the staff are nice. It was such a pleasure to see someone smile!! The hotel is far away from the main resort maybe around 15mins by bus with a crazy driver. Snow in Bulgaria was great though and slopes are great for beginners.. look elsewhere for a hotel though! Orlovtz is right in centre and looks nice also heard good reports both Pomporova Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EilIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

I booked a package holiday via a third party agent and provided by Balkans Holiday. I am not going to review the package and the rep as this is about the hotel itself.

This hotel is reached at the end of a single-track road, some 800m from the main road. A road barrier is located just 50-75m from Hotel Belmont and it always opened after a press or two.

Hotel Belmont is a darkish pink colour... not in-your-face pink, so it is not too bad. Parking spaces seem very limited, especially at weekends and if it snowed a lot overnight, snow clearance by the hotel is slow.

As the hotel is so far away from the ski-lift stations, a free mini-bus service is provided for only a short period in the mornings and afternoons. At other times, you will have to find a taxi or use your ingenuity and eat at a restaurant that provides free pick up/drop off transport service (restaurant Belfry is a really good one for this). Taxi from the town centre is negotiable - haggle it down to 10-12 levs for two people.

Now the hotel itself, the receptionists are fairly curt but they do manage to break a smile on occasions. The lobby area is quite dark, and offset to this is a small and expensive poorly stocked shop - notice carefully that they are poorly stocked for drinks, which means if you did not get supplies from the town supermarkets, then you buy expensive drinks in the hotel.

The bar area is laid back open-plan and continue with the pink/black modernist theme. The waitresses are ok, but the waiters are curt and slightly aggressive if you point out they procured the wrong drinks. From memory, its around 3 levs for a 200ml bottle of coke. There were special offer 2-for-1 between 3-5pm on selected drinks.

The dining room is well set up with a buffet but there is nothing whatsoever to be excited about the food - for this season, they have brought the cheapest possible foodstuffs and the offerings lacked imagination. It will fill a hole but you will long for the town restaurants such as the Belfry which has free transport or the hotel's restaurant which is smaller but well presented with a large menu, from about 14 levs for a main course which is comparable to town restaurant prices.

Other facilities in the hotel include a bowling alley and gym (not free), free indoor swimming pool (a bit on the cool side), night bar that is open till 4am and spa thingygummy. Nothing to write home about, but great to have on-site due to its location.

The standard room is a functional two single bed with a CRT-type TV with some English channels. Decor is understated and satisfactory. Our room on the fourth floor faced to the rear and offered views of the woodlands and part of the hills, which are lovely. Rooms to the front is greeted by a view of another building opposite, there is a railed balcony but not wide enough to sit down.

The room looked clean on first appearance, but after knocking the bed sideways, previous guests' eating habits could be observed, bits of old rubbish, monies, etc. Not something you'd like to see, so not *that* clean after all.

Bathroom consisted of a shower, toilet and wash basin, wall to ceiling tiles with a heated towel rail and tiled floor and finished off to a good modern standard - I'd be happy if this was my home shower room. This bathroom was spotless.

Not enough coat hangers in the twin-door wardrobe cupboard and storage space is a bit tight for two people with skiing kits.

Mini-bar prices for soft drinks/chocolates matches the rest of the hotel but alcohol stuff is way overpriced. So be careful to check individual items on the mini-bar list.

I would class this as a three star, if not two and a half star hotel but it is decent enough for me and according to my brother, better than two other hotels in Pamporovo he stayed at before.

Wireless internet is provided free of charge throughout the hotel and offers decent speeds at quiet times and naturally become saturated in the evenings.

So to summarise, decent modern decor, mixed bag of staff - some great, some rude, spotty cleaning pattern, free wifi, very seccluded location, expensive drinks and crap food. I would come back again, but will be bringing my own drinks!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleSterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

This hotel is one of the worst I have ever visited in my entire life. The staff were dreadfully rude, the food was always cold, the reps useless and worst of all, the hotel cons its customers.

This 'Four Star Hotel' happily charged my 53 year old father over £400 when he lifted up a small barrier to enter the premesis. We pulled up by taxi and clicked the button to lift the gate as instructed but it would not open. So instead of crawling on his hands and knees in the snow to this '4 star hotel' as the others and I did, he lifted it up instead as most people would in this situation. There was no alternative path.

The local authorities later told him that he must pay this extortionate bill or be withheld in the country until he did. I think this is discusting.

Please be careful if you do choose to visit this hotel as the staff are only too happy to take your money. Kind regards x

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Legs234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews