We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madness at this hotel!”
Review of Hotel La Forge

Hotel La Forge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Forge
Ranked #15 of 15 Malmedy B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Madness at this hotel!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Upon arrival I paid by credit card, both of the owner couple were present as I paid. They seemed to have an argument about paying by card, I think the wife would had wanted payment in cash. At 11 in the evening my friend was sleeping and I was still awake as I heard someone opening the door with keys. The wife stormed in screaming that we have not paid and should leave in five minutes. She wanted cash, I think she was out of drinking money, she seemed to be drunk or in drugs. Thankfully I found the receipt from credit card payment, showed it to her and she left without saying anything. After that I blocked the door. She tried to throw other people out the same night as well. The hotel restaurant was not open at all and the husband didn't seem to bother about doings of his crazy wife. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juhani_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    7
    20
See reviews for
2
8
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Booked and stayed in this hotel as part of a 6 strong motorbike group on a 4 day trip to the nurburgring track , had to pay for the whole stay on arrival , secure parking was a garage with No lock on it !!! ,
Hotel bar / restaurant was shut most of the time , breakfast was never available , so had to eat in a bakers just up from the hotel. The town has lots of cafes and restaurants , so no problem there.
Seems a funny setup at this hotel , as we wanted to spend money , but had to go elsewhere for food and drink ,.
Would not recommend this hotel , as they see guests as a inconvenience .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank merdalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malmedy hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I have to concur with the last reviewer who had the same unbelievable experience as me. I too have stayed in this Hotel before, about 4 years ago when it was under different ownership and on the strength of having had a good stay, decided to book again for a trip with a friend to the Spa Francorchamps race circuit over the first weekend of July 2011.
I booked a twin room via Booking.com and even contacted the hotel directly 5 days before travelling regarding motorcycle parking. All seemed well as I received a positive and quick response.
Upon arrival we found the hotel closed, a few people outside scratching their heads and a scribbled message (which I couldn’t understand) taped to the window. We managed to gain entrance via a rear door and after 5 minutes of frantic bell ringing a man appeared who in one breath told us to find another hotel as his wife was ill, and in the next breath that his wife was drunk. The place was a mess. Un-cleared glasses in the bar from the night before, papers strewn across the reception desk and all the while, as I stood there in disbelief, more bookings spewing out of the fax machine.
This man, who showed absolutely no concern for the situation, couldn’t get us out of the door fast enough.
Luckily, and with no help from Mr. Hotel La Forge, we found accommodation in an apartment owned by the St Gereon Hotel which was nearby and I would join the previous reviewer in recommending this helpful and friendly establishment. The apartment was clean, comfortable, spacious, well equipped and serviced on each of our three days stay.
As for the La Forge, I would advise the owners to sell to someone who takes their business seriously and knows the meaning of customer service.
My final bit of advice – avoid – avoid – avoid!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GlenVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel the previous year, and found it ok, so much so we planned to return again for our visit to Spa and the Nurburgring. We reserved 3 rooms for 3 nights and paid the deposit by bank transfer. On arrival, all doors to hotel and restaurant were locked and flower shop next door told us "there are problems!". They told us the police had previously been called by guests as the hotel had been taking deposits and not honouring bookings. After waiting for someone to enter the side door we managed to get in, and said we have reservations. The hotel informed us that no rooms were ready for us. We asked for our deposit back, luckily we had copies of the exchange of e-mails when booking. They gave us our deposit back in cash.
We managed to find alternative accommodation in an apartment owned by the Hotel St Gereon just down the road, which I do recommend.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Redleader02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We arrived unbooked, looked at a room and liked it. We were offered a rate of €70 B&B, less than the list price, so stayed two nights. It is a bit unfortunate that at the time the building next door was being rebuilt so the outside ambience was diminished. However the room was quiet. The countryside roundabout is stunning for walking, we got a map from the tourist office which showed all the marked footpaths.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidanddeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmedy
2.0 mi away
Val D'Arimont Hotel
Val D'Arimont Hotel
#1 of 11 in Malmedy
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Albert 1er
3.2 mi away
Hotel de la Source
Hotel de la Source
#1 of 5 in Francorchamps
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Floreal Malmedy
Floreal Malmedy
#3 of 15 in Malmedy
13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Bernister
Le Bernister
#2 of 15 in Malmedy
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suite & City Apartments
Suite & City Apartments
#4 of 12 in Malmedy
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Forge

Property: Hotel La Forge
Address: Rue Devant les Religieuses 31 | Rue de la Warchenne, Malmedy 4960, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Malmedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Malmedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Forge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing