We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay in El Tarter!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Hostel Tarter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I cannot rate this hostel enough from the way it has been newly furnished to the friendliness and willingness to help of the owners. It really is a hidden gem and made our ski trip to El Tarter.Essentially we felt like we were in a large well appointed chalet, from the open plan eating and living area with fire to the cosy dorms, the hostel is only 5 mins walk from the lifts so an easy stroll link for snow activities. Mar and Marc have paid close attention to detail on everything from the wall stone style radiators, comfy bean bags to the deck chairs on the decking available for some much needed kicking back in the inter sun after a big session on the slopes. We hope to be back again! Thanks so much again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshRGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

It looks like the hostel was built by travellers - it has everything you can wish for . It's new , it's clean , it's quiet and cosy and there a fireplace in the living room , it's modern and well equiped ,the kitchen is ultra modern the place is well designed and price is reasonable - and the hosts are welcoming , smiling and helpful . I hope to re visit - but I'm not sure I will find a bed after these great reviews

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsh411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I intended to just pass through Andorra with a one day stopover and left almost 3 weeks later after finding this gem of a hostel. Mar and Marc are wonderful hosts. The hostel is absolutely immaculate and the facilities are top notch. I can't recommend this hostel highly enough! The hostel is the perfect gateway to explore the mountains by day and relax and unwind in the beanbags in front of the fireplace by night. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hostel is brand new and was spotlessly clean. It's owned by a super friendly couple: Mar and Marc. The kitchen facilities had everything one could want to prepare your meal. Within a few minutes walk of the hostel there's a supermarket with everything one could imagine in it (Mar correctly called it a "museum"). There's a Saeco coffee machine where you can get free coffee as you wish and every evening Marc gets the fireplace going creating a warm, cozy atmosphere. Both Mar and Marc are extremely helpful. They called and inquired on my behalf without me even having to ask. Mar's English is excellent, so you won't have any trouble communicating if that's the language you speak. And of course compared to the other accomodations in Andorra, this one is by far the cheapest.

I stayed in the hostel in May, which in Andorra is the off-season between the busy winter and summer seasons. The hostel was very peaceful and quiet. But if you like the outdoors any season is fine, because there's always something to do: cycling, hiking, skiing, white water kayaking, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lechia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As the tittle says, I think you get the most out of it when you do Sleep&Ride. The stone building used to be a Disco, now a fresh rebuilt hotel has a lovely fireplace at the common area. The owners, Mar&Mark are the most friendly hotel owners you´ll probably ever meet. New thick matress, great kitchen area. All and all, if I ever go back to Andorra that´s the place I´ll stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianoF1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Brand new hostel in a very old stone building, in the middle of the village of El Tarter. Probably the most friendly and cleanest hostel I ever stayed at! Great hospitality from everyone, and the staff really try to help you out.

It's a small building, but very well planned with everything you need. Great kitchen and a spacious lounge with an open fireplace, and table and seats for everyone, incl free wifi (viber or skype won't work though, and mobile calls are awfully expensive in Andorra!). Free coffee, snack machines and storage for your food. If you cook by yourselves, you better bring your stocks with you. The "supermarket" of El Tarter is very small, but yet with generous opening hours. There is also a big, not very cheap, store with spirits and local specialities about half a mile away. Otherwise you can take the bus or go by car to Canillo for groceries. Or just not bother and get a pizza from Dylan's down the street.

Nine? small but efficient rooms with bonk beds (very comfy ones!) with large storage lockers underneath. Rough ancient stone walls, thick and warm duvets and a skylight through which you can see the stars and the fresh snow wintertime. Shared washing room area down stairs with toilets and showers with nice warm water, all tiled and very clean.

Most important - we came here for skiing. MHT is just a few minutes walk away from the El Tarter lift and the huge Grandvalira skiing system, on the other side of the road. You won't cover all slopes in one skiiing day, and there are options for everyone. The slopes are very well maintained. When we got there, however, there was not very much snow (just about 80 slopes open...:) why a skiing trip is advised in January or rather February instead. More snow would mean great off pist experiences!! Mountain restaurants are nice, too. Avoid the Pas de la Casa area if you don't won't the slopes to be too crowded. PC is the biggest village around, with shops, restaurants and lots of beginners in the slopes.

In El Tarter, there are not very many bars or restaurants, and there is not much of a nightlife. After ski at l'Abarset bar by the foot of the slopes is recommended, and Dylan's have a small and nicely crowded restaurant (if you have no reservation, you can get a take away) and bar. You can also visit a few hotel restaurants around, where we chose the Hotel Del Tarter with a good range of local dishes (à la carte or set menus) and a home cooking atmosphere. Great hospitality, service and flexibility , and friendly staff. l'Abarset offers not only great after ski and cheap drinks, but also very nice and reasonably priced breakfasts, served by nice staff. For more restaurants or going out you can take the bus to Soldeu less than a mile away (do NOT walk - no street lights, no walking path and cars drive fast on the main road!), but make sure that you will get a cab back at night as last bus is at 8pm and there are not very many taxis operating in Andorra.

You get along with Catalan, Spanish or English in Andorra (in that order) but French is also spoken and in some touristic spots even Russian. Food and drinks are reasonably cheap. You can get to Andorra from Barcelona Airport with the Novatel buses, preferably you book in advance to be guaranteed a seat or try to get on at Terminal 1, the first stop, as the buses can be busy. Novatel buses takes about 3.5 hours and drop you of at El Tarter (MHT is 500m up the hill to the left), but you can also get there by car, mini shuttles or other buses to Andorra la Vella combined with a taxi to El Tarter. The country is small, so are the villages, but skiing is great and the locals are all very friendly!

We loved our stay there, and our stay at MHT in particular. As said a few times, great staff and great hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Tarter
0.2 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#2 of 4 in El Tarter
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Tarter
Hotel del Tarter
#1 of 4 in El Tarter
183 reviews
7.8 mi away
Exe Princep Hotel
Exe Princep Hotel
#11 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Segle XX
Hotel Segle XX
#1 of 2 in Ransol
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Hostel Tarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hostel Tarter

Address: Sant Pere del Tarter | In Front of Sant Pere Del Tarter Chapel, El Tarter AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > El Tarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in El Tarter
Price Range: $49 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of accommodation in Andorra. Some people would define it as a Hostel in Andorra, others as a lodge in Andorra, but the truth is that there's nothing quite the same and even less so in Andorra. If you're used to staying at youth hostels or lodges, here you'll be in a innovative and unique space, exceeding past experiences. If it's your first time, you'll regret not knowing about it before! If you're a mountain freak or if your passions are mountain sports, then Moutain Hostel Tarter is the new accommodation formula you need for your stay in Andorra. It's an easy, practical, comfortable, economical and sustainable way of doing so, where you'll meet and share experiences with fellow travelers and mountain sports lovers like you, both in winter and in summer. A new concept of accommodation situated in El Tarter, 200 meters away from Grandvalira - El Tarter ski resort's main access, where you'll also find the best snowpark of the Pyrenees and over 200km of ski slopes! Mountain Hostel Tarter is a unique establishment in Andorra, made for travelers by travelers and designed to offer what we usually look out for when we're traveling: a comfy and practical place to stay, in a warm and friendly atmosphere. All of this with the best quality/price you'll find, and in a renewed rustic and sustainable home. So forget about the accommodation and sleeping..! We're here for that! It's up to you to make the most out of your days in Andorra, practicing your favorite sport or hobby... By the way, which one is it? Ski, snowboard, telemark, randonee skiing, freestyle, freeride, mountain biking, downhill biking, trekking, Via Ferradas, etc... Enjoy it! SLEEP & RIDE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain Hostel Tarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing