We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely family experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Xalet

Hotel El Xalet
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Tarter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Xalet
Ranked #2 of 2 El Tarter B&B and Inns
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A lovely family experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We drove through the mountains and stayed at this hotel-what a delight-greeted by Vanessa and sharing no common language it didn't matter one bit. The welcome was warm, the room comfortable, and at dinner-time we met the family including the adorable Lucas. The food was rustic and plentiful and to be taken into the family was a real privilege. Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Spain in September. The hotel is charming, quite rustic and appeared to be family run. Rooms are quite small, and quite creaky but we felt that added to the character of the place. We enjoyed an evening meal downstairs which was vey tasty. Our hosts didn't speak great English, but with a mixture of our broken Spanish, their Catalan and a bit of French thrown in for good measure we got by. The resort was obviously very quiet in September, however we enjoyed 9-holes of golf at the top of the ski-lift, and then an incredible ride on the turbotron at the nearby Naturlandia outdoor park. Trust me, its incredible!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived in Andorra from Sitges in Spain which was warm, Andorra had just had the first snow and was -3 degrees.. El Xalet was a charming Chalet style building with warm friendly staff and cosy feel. The rooms were smallish but had a mountain view and were very warm and nicely decorated. There was no lift but we were helped up to our rooms with the bags. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel was just over the road from the ski lifts which would be great in the season.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags choose a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2006

stayed in exalet just before christmas, good quality accomodation in an excellent position. right next to the ski lift and close to local shops, bars etc. staff were very friendly and helpful and joined us in the bars and clubs to 4 in the morning most nights. only down side is that the food wasn't great but there's plenty of restuarants to choose from nearby.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank milny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Tarter
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Tarter
Hotel del Tarter
#1 of 4 in El Tarter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel
Nordic Hotel
#3 of 4 in El Tarter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Llop Gris
Hotel Llop Gris
#4 of 4 in El Tarter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Segle XX
Hotel Segle XX
#1 of 2 in Ransol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Xalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Xalet

Property: Hotel El Xalet
Address: 17 Placa de la Pleta, casa | Pleta de Sant Pere, El Tarter AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > El Tarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in El Tarter
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Xalet 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Xalet Hotel is a homely and typical mountain hotel with 2 stars, placed in "El Tarter", Andorra, within a pedestrian walkway, close to ski slopes of Grandvalira Ski Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing