We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
89
10
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
89
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each evening fine food the bus two occasions beautiful location breakfast and dinner room was large stayed nights every guest saas fee great hotel winter holiday family run hotel christine alpine group hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 101 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2019

Basic hotel-restaurant. I had the impression that the hotel part was less important than the restaurant part. There wasn't even a proper reception area. Location is very good, in the centre of the village but quiet.
Our room was large enough, bathroom was rather small but functional. The room furniture, though, is in URGENT need of replacement. The beds are very low to the ground and the mattresses are worn out.
We had taken half board because, in this season, there are not many dining opportunities. The food was okay both at breakfast and at dinner.
Price of our package was somewhat overpriced view the uncomfortable beds.
The owners as well as the staff were extremely friendly and service was impeccable.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amboseli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

I stayed 12 nights for a winter holiday at the Hotel Mattmarkblick. First with a group when we had a room to ourselves for breakfast and dinner, then just me and I was seated in the general dining area. All meals very plentiful, varied and prepared with love. All staff is very attentive and ready to make suggestions about drinks or things to do. Herr Zubriggen, the owner, inquired every day about your plans and how they went. There was also traditional live music (Thursday night), an opportunity to watch a movie about the local animals and a complimentary drink on the house, and a guided snowshoe tour for guests. The rooms were functional and clean and accessible by elevator. The location is very good, the bus stop about 100 yards away, also post office and a small supermarket. Hotel has ski storage and play area for kids. Good WiFi. So no matter, how you travel and with whom the hospitality of the Hotel is exceptional? Ant time again!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank ukusa2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here on two occasions for a winter holiday. Really very good all-round, a traditional hotel, bedrooms comfortable and very clean, with either mountain or valley views. They've a good chef, food is traditional, well presented and enjoyable. We stayed half board the choice was fine. It's noticeable people visit the hotel to take dinner - always an excellent sign. Breakfast is a continental buffet. The owners, Rolf / Christine manage the hotel very effectively, are friendly and super helpful, likewise the staff who are attentive and work really hard during the evening dinner to give very good, professional service. The hotel delivers a personal service far better than the big name brands 4* properties.
In terms of negatives....nothing really, English language TV (other than rolling news) would be nice but that's about it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank rengley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

the room was large enough, the staff was very friendly, the meals are excellent!
Herr Zurbriggen makes a point of having a personal contact with every guest each evening and gives walking tips.The hotel is situated in a very beautiful location.
We really enjoyed this vacation.

Room tip: book an attik-zimmer with balcony
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Devloo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We a group of 13 experienced touring skiiers spend an evening and a night on this very nice hotel in Saas-Almagell. Very freindly service from the host and all his people. We had a fantastic dinner with three meals. Rooms where modern and very clean. I will come back - thank you.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Falholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews