We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Saas Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mattmarkblick
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saas-Almagell
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Saas Jewel”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I would like to thank the owners, Christine & Rolf for a wonderful stay. Hotel Mattmarkblick has fulfilled all our requirements. It has a homely feeling. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The dinners were very tasty. There is a ski bus stop is in front of the hotel. Otherwise it is a short walk to the chair lift. There perfect place if you really want to relax, but also good nightlife. Will definitely recommend Hotel Mattmarkblick to all my friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger - you have to ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Katja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Recent stay at the hotel Mattmarkblick in Saas Almagell has brought so desired and long-expected relaxation. Stunning view the valley and mountains, cordial and attentive hosts - Rolf and Christine, delicious food, perfect service, warm atmosfere and a lot of possibilities for skiing - what else could you wish? There is no way to forget this place after beeing there once, meeting Rolf and Christine and all their collaborators (best wishes to Veronika!), seeing the wonderful films about the nature of this region, playing (sorry, I'm not able to remember the right name) let me say "curling Almagell style" (thanks to Rolf for organizing such nice evenings and good wine), having chance to leave all problems behind, so that on coming back to a big city to ask oneself: what am I doing here? Thus, if you want to have real rest and great skiing, to enjoy life, nature and company, the hotel Mattmarkblick is the right choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataly_Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The rare nowadays not crowded skiing resort Saas is the last and highest village in valley Almagell, neighbouring to Zermatt to the East. The unity of comfortable accomodations with traditional country farming form the unic interfluence filling with the nature. The Hotel Mattmarkblick is situated at the central squire and opposite the bus station with connect with the nearest skiing resorts Saas-Grund and Saas-Fee.
Whilst the rooms have sandart improvements, the cuisine is notable for traditional local cookong and is the real performance for each evening.
I'd make special mention of hospitality of the hotel's owners Christine & Rolf Zurbriggen.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 548guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

As a tour operator I took a touring group from South Africa to Hotel Mattmarkblick for the first time on 22nd of September 2013. There these two friendly people, Rolf and Christine welcomed us warmly - they even invited the group for welcome drinks on the fine terrace! We stayed for two nights, and we experienced their hospitality uninterruptedly. Rolf joined the group the next day during our visit to Hohsaas, He himself showed us where to catch the post bus and the cable car. And what a splendid experience Hohsaas was! Eighteen Alp-mountain tips (each higher than 4000 metre!) to be seen in one picture! All cable car rides were totally free (as well as the bus) - you can add that up; It will normally be hundreds of Swiss Franks! Rolf took the most beautiful photos of the group up there, and we got copies and a CD during the excellent dinner - a lovely fondue (on the house!)
I will definitely go back to this "gemuetliche" Hotel and its terrific hosts.
Hotel Mattmarktblick is highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

In the summer of 2013, my wife spent a month touring around Europe and we are happy to report that the Mattmarkblick was our favorite hotel. The owners, Rolf and Cristina, were exceptionally helpful from the moment we arrived. They showed us how to navigate the Saas Valley, recommended day trips and evening had a film night during which we could view alpine wildlife up close. We had assumed that Saas Fee would be more enticing, but it turns out that Saas Almagell has just as many trails and sights for the summer traveler. We took the bus to Lake Mattmark above the village as well as to all areas that are reached by cable car. The hotel is located about 50 yards from the bus that goes to Saas Grund/Saas Fee. Staying at hotel includes a free summer bus/cable car pass (but not a Metro pass for the cog railway). We loved the food and the people who work at the Mattmarkblick. We tried a couple of places in Saas Fee but we realized that the best food (by far) was right at our hotel. The breakfasts (included in the price) are excellent and include croissants, boiled eggs, many kinds of toast, cheese, yogurt and much more. Dinners include, of course, many types of fondue and raclette, but there is also a sumptuous salad bar. Making the food even more attractive was the staff of waitpersons. They are polite and efficient, friendly and always eager to see the hotel guests, even in the morning. We had a spectacular view of the sun rising over alpine summits. What a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecraige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I Enjoyed my time at the Mattmarkblick. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Service is of the highest quality. All staff and the owners go the extra mile, with making everyone feel just that little bit special.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elsbeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter in February 2013. It was excellent. Rolf and Christine are wonderful hosts, they are very informative of the area and keep you up to date as to where to ski each day. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are excellent . Must try the icecream deserts. Well equiped for skiing and access to slopes and township.
I hope one day to come back and enjoy the hospitality again. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Ellen - Canberra, Australia

Room Tip: All excellent as lift to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saas-Almagell
0.1 mi away
Wellness and Vitalhotel Pirmin Zurbriggen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 10 in Saas-Almagell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kristall Saphir Superior
Hotel Kristall Saphir Superior
#5 of 10 in Saas-Almagell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mattmarkblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mattmarkblick

Property: Hotel Mattmarkblick
Address: Talstrasse 129, Saas-Almagell 3905, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Almagell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saas-Almagell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mattmarkblick 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mattmarkblick is situated in the centre of Saas-Almagell. Our family-friendly Skiing and Hiking Hotel is ideal for guests who appreciate a homely feel, modern rooms and an excellent cuisine. They value in particular the hotel's central location, the rustic restaurant, the large sun terrace, the weekly entertainment evenings in the main village square and the guided walks with the hotel owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mattmarkblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing