We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mattmarkblick
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saas-Almagell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I Enjoyed my time at the Mattmarkblick. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Service is of the highest quality. All staff and the owners go the extra mile, with making everyone feel just that little bit special.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elsbeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter in February 2013. It was excellent. Rolf and Christine are wonderful hosts, they are very informative of the area and keep you up to date as to where to ski each day. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are excellent . Must try the icecream deserts. Well equiped for skiing and access to slopes and township.
I hope one day to come back and enjoy the hospitality again. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Ellen - Canberra, Australia

Room Tip: All excellent as lift to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed yet another fantastic 3 day ski trip. What really makes it for us is that Rolf and Christine Zurbriggen and staff make you feel so welcome, we enjoyed Rolf's friendly after dinner chat and informed weather reports and the genuine ambiance that all the staff help create. The hotel combines the cosy traditional feel in the bar/dining area with lovely wood carvings on the walls with modern comfy bedrooms that are spotless with great showers. The four course evening meal each night included in the price is consistently excellent and included a fondue evening (cooked in bouillon not oil) and a raclette evening which was fun and delicious. Food at breakfast great too and perfect for me a wheat free eater (rye bread).We had a hire car and skied in Saas Almagell, Saas Fee and Saas Grund with a Saas valley 3 day ski pass which the hotel can get you 10% discount. Rolf organised an enjoyable curling game at the ice rink down the lane for guests, with flasks of gluhwein and all for no charge. Very rare to travel and feel like you have arrived in a home from home - highly recommended for those seeking the real Swiss experience. Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALB154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Big room, lovely view, fully kitted out. This place has a real feeling of abundance that reflects the generous nature of the hosts - big breakfasts, big dinners. It was a lovely place to come home to after a day walking. Sagas Fee is a gentle walk - better than catching the bus. The free local pass is amazing value - up and down cable cars. We splurged on lunch at the local Michelin restaurant at The Fletschorn and it was glorious, relaxed and Marten the host was just lovely. A great area for a holiday and not nearly as touristy as expected. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Arrived somewhat frazzled (problems with the car earlier in the day), so a pleasant surprise to be offered a leisurely welcome drink and a friendly casual chat with the owner/manager, especially as I just turned up without having booked beforehand.
The room was good and clean and even though overlooking the main road, certainly quiet enough for a restful night's sleep. Good breakfast, but even better was the evening meal in the hotel's restaurant. I highly recommend the beef steak - cooked to perfection and extremely enjoyable, especially after a long day in the mountains. The price is also a bonus - relatively inexpensive, in keeping with the hotel in general.
There may be cheaper places to stay in Saas Almagell, but the Mattmarkblick is still good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Family run hotel. Patrons very friendly and helpful and speak English. Room size generous and had large balcony. We ate in the hotel for 3 nights and found service and quality good. There are other eating places in the village. Public transport links to Saas Almagel very reliable and frequent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 899Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed there for three nights. We highly recommend it. The owners are so nice and very helpful. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saas-Almagell
0.1 mi away
Wellness and Vitalhotel Pirmin Zurbriggen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 10 in Saas-Almagell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kristall Saphir Superior
Hotel Kristall Saphir Superior
#5 of 10 in Saas-Almagell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mattmarkblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mattmarkblick

Property: Hotel Mattmarkblick
Address: Talstrasse 129, Saas-Almagell 3905, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Almagell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saas-Almagell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mattmarkblick 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mattmarkblick is situated in the centre of Saas-Almagell. Our family-friendly Skiing and Hiking Hotel is ideal for guests who appreciate a homely feel, modern rooms and an excellent cuisine. They value in particular the hotel's central location, the rustic restaurant, the large sun terrace, the weekly entertainment evenings in the main village square and the guided walks with the hotel owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mattmarkblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing