We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Saas Almagell!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mattmarkblick
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saas-Almagell
Morges, Switzerland
1 review
“Best place in Saas Almagell!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

After 3 years, we came back to Saas Almagell and we couldn't choose a better hotel. The hotel is very well situated just in the center of the town and at 150 m of the ski lift. The room was spacious and very clean.
The breakfast was fantastic, the dinner outstanding.
My thanks are going to Rolf &Christine for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abearinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We recently went to Saas-Almagell for a family skiing holiday for my wifes birthday.

There were 5 of us travelling, two adults, and 3 children aged 12,9 & 7.
I chose Hotel Mattmarkblick because of its rating on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.

From the moment we arrived Christine & Rolf (The owners) made us feel welcome.

We stayed in the family room, which is basically two rooms, connected with a dividing door.

The rooms were clean, and a good size, with modern bathrooms.

Each night you are served a four course meal, including fondue, raclette, and local meats. The food was exceptional, and the portions filled us up.

The hotel is traditionally Swiss, and Rolf & Christine have been running it for 28 years. They are fantastic hosts, Christine makes sure that your holiday runs smoothly, whilst Rolf makes you feel welcomed and part of his extended family.

Saas Almagell is well situated for three resorts - Saas Fee, Saas Grund and Saas Almagell.
We found the skiing at Saas Grund particularly good for our family, and it included some picturesque blue and red runs.

Hotel Mattmarkblick is a fabulous hotel, not showy or pretentious. It offers good value, good food, and clean rooms.

Literally the only thing missing for our family was an onsite Sauna!

We would recommend it highly for a family holiday.

Room Tip: If you are a family group as Rolf and Christine for the connecting family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathewandAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel is a real find! The ambiance is excellent, the double room with balcony was very comfortable and the host and his staff are very attentive yet relaxed. Of particular note during our five-night stay was the quality of the food: this was probably the best half-board package we have ever enjoyed during numerous sojourns in Switzerland. After a miserable Scottish summer we were very lucky with the September weather - wall to wall sunshine during our entire stay, and so we enjoyed several long walks in this beautiful valley. If you are reasonably fit you must try the Erlebnisweg from Almagelleralp to Furggstalden! This was our third visit to Saas-Almagell, and our first to Hotel Mattmarkblick. We shall return!

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a balcony looking up to the Mattmark dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stopped at MattMarkblick at the beginning of July with Alpine Overland. Hotel, food, rooms and staff, particularly Rolph and Christine, were absolutely fantastic with us all. Walking in the area is superb, the Saas Fee valley is beautiful, although we did wall to wall sunshine. Thank you to Rolph and Christine and also to all three of our leaders who organised some brilliant walks. We hope to return.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony has to be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waddingtona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

What a great hotel, we were on a walking holiday in a group of 40. The hoteliers Rolf and Christine Zubriggan take so much care to see you have a great holiday we didnt want to leave. Food excellent. Rooms excellent. Staff again excellent. If you decide to stay at the Mattmarkblick you can be assured of a fantastic time. Switzerland is so clean and tidy and the Swiss are so proud of their country.
Go and taste some of the wonderful scenery , views and atmosphere. I'm sure you will have a great time as we did.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiclesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overlander
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Traditional Swiss hotel in pretty village of Saas Almagell, handy for Saas Fee, fantastic walking. Warm welcome, amazing staff, attentive owners, good food and first class hospitality. Thumbs up from Alpine Overlanders!

Room Tip: Double rooms with balconies preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overlanderbarlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saas-Almagell
0.1 mi away
Wellness and Vitalhotel Pirmin Zurbriggen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kristall Saphir Superior
Hotel Kristall Saphir Superior
#5 of 10 in Saas-Almagell
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#3 of 10 in Saas-Almagell
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#8 of 10 in Saas-Almagell
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portjengrat
Hotel Portjengrat
#1 of 7 in Saas-Almagell
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mattmarkblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mattmarkblick

Property: Hotel Mattmarkblick
Address: Talstrasse 129, Saas-Almagell 3905, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Almagell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saas-Almagell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mattmarkblick 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mattmarkblick is situated in the centre of Saas-Almagell. Our family-friendly Skiing and Hiking Hotel is ideal for guests who appreciate a homely feel, modern rooms and an excellent cuisine. They value in particular the hotel's central location, the rustic restaurant, the large sun terrace, the weekly entertainment evenings in the main village square and the guided walks with the hotel owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mattmarkblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing