We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place and friendly staff”
Review of Balam Bali Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balam Bali Villa
Ranked #1 of 7 Mengwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in Balam Bali for 5 nights in March 2012. No problems with booking the room/deposit and arranging the airport pick up.
The place itself is lovely, located in the middle of the rice fields, close to the village if you want to explore local life... Perfect for peaceful holiday without shops, bars and all that. The food was absolutely delicious, fusion Balinese cuisine with an occasional French twist. Pool nice and clean.The staff very friendly and genuine. We did a day tour to Mount Batur and a few temples on the way and Ubud of course, (not regrets about not staying in town),and a short trek along the Ayung river. There is plenty to do around and all can be arranged with the staff.
We would go back to the same place again!
M&T

Room Tip: most of the rooms are around the pool, if you want to have more privacy choose the Pirate House room...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gosiaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Balam Bali Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 349 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

We had a wonderful memorable stay at Balam Bali Villa and highly recommend a stay at this unique and special villa located in the rice fields of Bali.

Upon arrival via a domestic flight at the Bali airport we looked high and low for our prearranged driver before attempting to place a number of calls to the villa for which there was no answer. We were then in the process of finding another mode of transport to the Villa when the Balam driver showed up. We were quite relieved to see him…… he really did not offer up an explanation for his late arrival.

Balam villa offers airport pick up service and the full use of a vehicle and driver for the day. We believe we paid approximately $35 for airport pick up and $55 for the 8 hr. day use of the car and driver which is very reasonable.

We had booked the Sian room and it is everything it is described to be. A large room located next to the bar with an oversize washroom. The room was air-conditioned and the king bed comfortable. When we checked in we were told that we would be the only guests at the villa for our four night stay. In a way this was unique and nice, having the run of the villa to ourselves. Apparently it is very rare to have the villa with so few guests.

Wireless internet is available throughout the property at no cost which is nice to have and not be gouged for with a daily fee like the big hotels tend to do.

We did have an issue with the hot water during our stay. We would have hot water to start a shower and then it would turn to cold within a minute. We could not get the staff to understand as they kept checking it and telling us it was ok. After a couple of days of cold showers we emailed David and it was then arranged for us to use the shower in the room next door which used an on demand electrically heated water supply. Whereas all the other rooms including the Sian had been changed to on demand gas heated water.

Apparently with the gas heaters if the water pressure drops slightly it stops heating the water. The manager would later explain that due to power surges that had blown out all the electric heaters they had switched to gas, but now had this new problem with water pressure and may have to switch back to electric to solve it.

Being the only guests in the Villa we would have a quick peak at the rest of the rooms which were vacant. All of the rooms are unique and nice on their own. One could not go wrong booking any of the rooms. Although due to the positioning of all the rooms around the pool, when the villa is fully booked it must get a little crazy and privacy would be at a minimum.

The staffs at the resort were always helpful and pleasant to have around. One day after returning from shopping and the purchase of a painting and frame, the staff would provide the tools and then help us dismantle the frame so we could get it in our luggage and then provided us with a cylinder to wrap the painting in for safe transfer. All over and above their duties and all very much appreciated. Thanks guys!

Breakfast and the occasional dinner were on the 2nd floor terrace overlooking the rice fields and is a wonderful and unique experience. The sunsets from there are amazing!

The pool gets sun during the day and it is a wonderful quiet spot to sit and relax and fine tune ones tan or catch up on some reading.

The villa looks out over fields of rice. It is interesting to watch the local farmers work the fields. There is also a canal the runs through the back of the field behind the villa which has been a local swimming and bathing hole for the local men for many years. They would show up throughout the day and evening. One afternoon they signalled us to come down and join them for a swim and skinny dip and it was a wonderful local experience.

Each afternoon we would wander out front of the villa for a walk along the road. Here we would find the most wonderful friendly locals who would love to stop and talk and practice their English. Immediately they would make us feel like we were part of the village with their friendly approachable manner, and we enjoyed another unique local Indonesian Bali experience.

With the help of the staff we arranged day tours and shopping. The staffs was always flexible to our needs allowing us to start a day tour by leaving at 5:30 AM for Tanah Lot in order to miss the crowds and then returning to the villa for breakfast, before going on the rest of the tour. We had not requested, but staff was up at 5:30 AM and had coffee ready for us before we left. Again thanks guys!

Do not miss going to Jatiluwih rice terraces. They are the most beautiful terraces in all of Bali and not to be missed. Again an early morning start had us arriving before the busloads of tourists that show up daily.

Experiencing a stay at Balam Bali Villa while in Bali is not to be missed. Our only regret is that we did not plan to stay longer.

Our thanks to each and every staff member who made our stay special and memorable, some day we hope to be able to return and enjoy the experience all over again!

Room Tip: Take some time to mingle with the local villagers
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy.karla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We loved Balam Bali Villa from start to finish. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and set among rice paddies stretching in every direction. The staff was most welcoming and friendly and throughout our stay they really ensured that we enjoyed the villa and our time there. We were in the Batur room in the wooden house (pirate house) on the second floor. It had great views and fresh breezes throughout the day. Although each room is special, we thought ours was the best. Finally, the food was amazing. Fresh bread and delicious coffee in the mornings. Different choices of Indonesian and continental dishes for lunch. And a set dinner menu with homemade desserts! We have stayed at a lot of hotels in Java and Bali and rate this one among the best for price, cleanliness, style, food quality, and friendliness of staff.

Room Tip: Each one is unique and they all looked great
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TTateBogor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in the Agung room. The location from the breakfastterrace was nice and we also liked the swimming pool.Our first impression was good but soon we noticed a lot of inconveniences. After staying for 4 weeks in 8 different places in Bali and Lombok this place wasn't worth the price at all! The room had a nice terrace and looked authentic but dusty. There was no minibar , so we had to go downstairs to put our drinks in the fridge near the restaurant. There was no waterboiler to make coffee or tea. There wasn't a rack to put on our wet swimmingsuits or towels. Sometimes the airco stopped. The worst of all : we hadn't any waterpressure, so we couln't take a decent shower in two days, although we mentioned this problem, they answered this was already a problem for some time....Because of the isolated location of the villa ( and some annoying dogs!), we were nearly forced to have dinner in the villa. The price of the menu ( 11 $ for one main menu and one dessert!)t was far too expensive, compared to luxuoury resorts elsewhere on the island!Even the portions were small and often there was something missing in the menu. Although we got some interesting tips about Ubud from manager Adi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RVMBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Perfect place to stay in Bali. Nice rooms by the pool, excellent french balinese cuisine. We enjoyed the place as a family. Nice walk in the rice fields with manager and really helpful team...

Room Tip: Ask for room near the pool
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familleVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The whole experience was fabulous. Myself, my husband, sister & her husband all stayed in the Pirate house. We had the whole complex to our selves as we vusited in the off season. we availed ouselves of the transport provided at a reasonable cost each day to tour around. We had not intented to eat there each night but the meals were so good why travel to Ubud to eat. A huge storm brought down power lines on our last night which caused a blackout to the pirate house. we were offered the use of other rooms at the facility for the night should we desire.
Anyone booking here should realise it is in the rice-fields (that was the charm for us).
The Staff were all great and made us feel like friends. Would love to visit again.
Thankyou all for the great experience.

Room Tip: Thr pirate house is a little away from the pool. The other rooms surround the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We (4 adults) spent 4 nights here & had the most amazing stay. The food was to die for. We have breakfast over looking the rice fields & diners over looking the pool. The pool was very relaxing at the end of the day. The staff were most attentive. The views amazing. We went on a few tours with Oki as our driver & he was terrific.
We stayed in the Pirate House which was so comfortable & sitting on the balcony looking out over the rice fields was wonderful. I had a Bali massage which was so relaxing at the end of a long day of walking around Ubub.
If in Bali & looking for a great place to stay please look at BALAM BALI VILLAS !!!!!!

Room Tip: I would surgest that if u have difficultes with stairs that u don't stay in the Pirate House tho...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pies1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mengwi
5.3 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
264 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
10.9 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
768 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puri Taman Sari
Puri Taman Sari
#6 of 13 in Tabanan
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balam Bali Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balam Bali Villa

Address: Jalan Teleng 100, Banjar Cengkok | Baha Village, Mengwi, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Mengwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mengwi
Price Range: $33 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balam Bali Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is nestled amid the rice paddies, near the temple of Taman Ayun, at 25 minutes drive from Ubud. You will discover here a 17th century pirate lair perched atop a hill with two family rooms. It was restored with connoisseur passion. The more contemporary marble villa alongside has also been enhanced with an exceptional collection of objets d'art.Balam Bali Villa embraces seven rooms and includes a convivial bar, a pool, authentic cooking, and a panoramic terrace view. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple. Our guest house organises several excursions to discover the inland (volcanoes, amazing rice fields, temples, lakes, and local villages). WIFI internet available and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Balam Bali Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balam Bali Villa Hotel Mengwi
Balam Bali Villa Mengwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing