We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Highlight of Bali Tour
32

Book in advance
from
$57.70
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Penglipuran
from $57.70
More Info
from $48.44
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
222
193
41
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
222
193
41
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 461 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2018

It is true that Bali is not usually known for its cleanliness, and some would call it a dirty place especially in the touristy areas. Although I have to add that during the last few years I have travelled to Bali I have noticed they have cleaned up.
Come to surprise to find this village named Penglipuran in Bagli, north of Gianyar and around an hour drive from Ubud. It's claimed to be the World's third cleanest village after Giethoorn in the Netherlands and Mawlynnong in India.
I would say it is now a must visit place while in Bali.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank tatangclan668
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

A very pretty village with great looking buildings. The houses are all line up on a slope with shops inside the houses. The village is well preserved with its culture and houses. Nowadays, with a modern touch. Worth the visit! There is a bamboo forest next to the village.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Chan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

Been here several time, but I never get bored, I like to interact with locals here, asked them about their daily life here, their family history, local custom here and walking to the Bamboe Forest at back of the village, a hiding place lol, and end up with shopping here, somehow need an effort to haggle the price but don't take so long, the vendor will give you quickly if you and friends bought two, three pieces. Some vendor selling coffee and snack so we can have a seat and short chit chat with local. I like it, this the way we could explore Balinese culture. FYI, all vendors are local residence and they open their stall in the compound.

Well, as I am noticed there are 99 doors left and right in total along the street village and each door has a compound house, it could consist 3-5 houses inside or more. Owh I am also notice in few houses they still have the stand-alone old kitchen separately from the houses, this kitchen has been for ages, interesting that some residents still keep it that way. For sure you need more time here and better not in a hurry to explore this village.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Josephine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 21, 2018

Our small tour group spent a couple of hours at this interesting planned community. House compounds are attached along a main street that is closed to motor vehicles. Cars and motorbikes must use side streets to get to their owners' homes. Villagers are largely self sufficient, working in nearby rice fields, orchards, and vegetable gardens. Tourism is also part of the economy: some houses have clothing and souvenir shops, small cafes etc. Villagers were very friendly, showing us their kitchens, new babies, and asking where we were from. Family compounds have small temples and ancestral shrines; the community has a large impressive temple.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DMGAmes_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

Good and clean area. Lovely and cozy. Friendly local Balinese people. Situated at Bangli regency , around 90 minutes from airport Ngurah Rai.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank yuniezw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews