We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munizo has it right”
Review of Farr Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farr Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Bettyhill B&B and Inns
ORKNEY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Munizo has it right”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Drove up to the Inn.
The entrance into the car park was an obstacle course of water filled pot holes.
The outside of the Inn is not preposessing.
Dirty windows & generally run down appearance.
We entered the Inn through the side entrance & rang a brass bell for attention.
The entrance stank of fish & the Public Bar just stank.
Someone appeared and charged up to our room with my wife & myself a short distance behind. The stair carpetting was pretty grotty.
He opened the bedroom.door and waved vaguely at the bathroom and left us to it.
Our car was visible from our window and we watched as a small boy, about twelve years old, drive a 4x4 vehicle too close to it for comfort.
The bedclothes smelt OK, but several exposed dowels in the double bed framework didn't really appeal. The shower cabinet didn't meet the wall in the bathroom and looked a bit unsafe. The decor was tired and a bit Sixties.
We debated whether to stay for the night at least, but on reflection chickened out.
My wife and I have stayed in various B&B's and Hotels the length and breadth of Scotland and the accommodation offered was the first we have refused to stay in.
My wife handed back the room key and told someone behind the Bar that we wouldn't be staying. He was puzzled , but didn't seem too bothered that we weren't staying.
My wife is an ex Bar Manager and wasn't too impressed by either the drinks gantry or the condition of the bar itself.
I might recommend this Inn to an enemy, but certainly not to a friend.
We find some of the reviews on this site regarding the FBI a bit hard to believe.
My tip would be to stay in Thurso .......... not in Bettyhill and certainly not in the Farr Bay Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ORKNEYBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

For the past 18 months the Farr Bay Inn has been run by a couple from Essex bringing a touch of east London to northern Scotland but for me it didn't work! The food was bland (evening meal and breakfasts) including sausages which seemed to come from a supermarket 'value' range and toast made from thin sliced 'cotton wool' white bread. Not the fare expected in Scottish establishments and compared poorly with other B & Bs on by touring holiday.
The Farr Bay menu in general reflected the convenience foods of southern Britain, rather than the seafaring and farming Highlands, renowned for its local produce, home cooked. The TVs in the rooms couldn't receive programmes and seeing cats sitting on dining tables was a complete turn-off, so on my second, and last, evening I dined elsewhere.
The current Farr Bay Inn website is inaccurate, misleading and out-of-date, referring to the previous owners, and should be closed down or updated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windyman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This is a difficult one, the proprietor's were lovely, the location was superb, the hotel needs work, but as a base for visiting the wonderful surroundings it will do. Can I recommend it, yes, but with the proviso that its not a Travelodge or Holiday Inn Express, but then you won't find them in locations like this!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Level Contributor
255 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The FBI is since one year under new ownership. The location is fantastic, just close to a great beach, in front the tourist info with a fantastic cafe.
Karan itself is a wonderful host, she just simply loves her new job! She cooked for me something special and it was very good.

The rooms need a redo - but I am sure, with the time this will be happening too. We would go back anytime one we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquamarina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Had a great stay at the Farr Bay Inn. The hosts are very friendly and nothing was too much for them. They were both most accommodating and friendly and the room and en-suite were spotless. They have obviously both put in lots of efffort in getting this hotel up and running, and it shows. I have been to Bettyhill many times before but from now I wouldn't stay anywhere else but at the FBI! Nowhere's perfect, of course, and if I had to suggest an improvement I would perhaps have liked a more exciting menu choice. However, that is just a very little niggle from an otherwise excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoredieGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

The people (host) is very friendly and the bar and food are okay. The room and badroom are in a bad condition. But they just started this B&B in 2009. The price / quality is not good at this moment. 37,50 GBP/prs/night is too much. The surroudings are great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertDinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

don't believe the website, a building site, uninterested staff, some bloke in boiler suit showed us the room, laundry cleaning products and builders supplies in corridors and stairs, we walked straight out

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MUNIZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bettyhill
0.7 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
20.3 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farr Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farr Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farr Bay Inn

Property: Farr Bay Inn
Address: Clachan, Bettyhill KW14 7SZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Bettyhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bettyhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the dunes of Farr Bay close to the beautiful village of Bettyhill on Scotlands North Coast, the Farr Bay Inn offeres a superb location for a relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. With a welcoming atmosphere, log fire, lovely rooms & a well stocked bar. The Farr Bay inn (or F.B.I as its known locally) is popular amongst locals and holiday-makers alike. Built in 1819 and now a listed building, the F.B.I was formerly the home of the local minister until the Church of Scotland relocated to the village centre. It was established as an Inn in 1983. At the Farr Bay Inn, all our rooms have been recently renovated and are each characterful, cosy, spacious and light. Our rooms are fully en-suite and are equipped with Flatscreen TV & DVD players, Tea, Coffee & Hot Chocolate making facilities, Hair-dryers, a wardrobe, extra blankets and Hot Water bottles. An extra bed is available on request in our super king room and one of our twin rooms. Our Family room is equipped with a double bed and a double sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Farr Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farr Bay Hotel Bettyhill
Farr Bay Inn Bettyhill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing